We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Brisas Santa Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brisas Santa Lucia
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at Brisas from October 27th - November 3rd with a group of four. We found overall that the week that we were there reflected excellent value for our money.

Our checkin and overall service while staying at the hotel was excellent. The first night, our room key did not work and someone was sent to our room with us to ensure that this issue was corrected straight away. Luis at the front desk was very helpful during our stay and began to know us as our room numbers - great sense of humour! Wait staff were only too happy to oblige to our requests during our stay, and we found the majority of staff at the hotel to be very friendly and efficient. The entertainment was fantastic and continued throughout the day on the resort which we appreciated - it was nice to see the entertainers mingling a lot with hotel guests.

The food here was really great by Cuba's standards - it is important to remember that one does not go to Cuba to eat the food. The buffet always had great options including pizza, pasta, and fruit. The snack bar had hamburgers and hotdogs for the members of our group who were picky eaters. We really enjoyed the Cuban themed food night, as well as the Italian a la carte.

The resort was very clean and well-placed. The boardwalk to the beach was a nice addition, as was the proximity of the beach to the block of rooms where we were staying (2). We had a great view from our room overlooking the beach and block 3.

The excursions sponsored by Nolitours were inexpensive and promised a lot of variety. Our group went for the Lobster Dinner and dance lessons with Anita Cha-Cha-Cha, as well as to Playa Bonita (snorkeling the world's 3rd largest coral reef, catamaran tour, and swimming on the world's most gorgeous beach!) with Juan-Carlo. Any more than that and we would have been too exhausted by week's end!

One issue that we ran into throughout the week however, was the beverage selection. We found that there were very few options for blended ice drinks (daiquiris), or more "specialty" drinks such as the mojito. We did manage to get these when leaving the resort to go to other bars, but it was the one area we felt could use greater improvement.

Overall, our experience was wonderful and we have started planning our next trip with our group of four to visit again. To Luis, Roly, Jackie, Maria, Norakis, Jorge, Cupido, and Arrabella - can't wait to see all of you again next year! You made our stay very special.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Samamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was our first time going to this resort. We are not picky eaters but would not recommend the BBQ a la cate. Didn't go to the Italian,Seafood or the Cuban ones. The buffet was enough for us. They had good food and at least it was hot. Only thing we did find is that you more or less get the same thing for lunch as you do for supper but I am not complaining it was good. Anyone that complains a lot about the food should stay home and eat.
Our room was great. Not the best view but hey you aren't in it that long. We did sit on the patio though and if we looked to the right or left we saw different views. lol. We were looking at the side of the reseption. I think they need new curtains. No bugs in the room. I saw a little spider once and killed it and a crab but didn't find it later so it must have found its way out. Hint: I take a small spray can of WD 40 and spray around the door frames and you will not get the crawly bugs in they don't like it. Especially ants. It also allowed the sliding doors to slide better. We do this at home also.
As for the resort itself everything was very close. It is very well kept. But in saying that they seemed to work on the grounds a lot more often as it got closer to us leaving as the busy season is coming up.
One of the draw backs was that the annimation team did nothing during the day. I think there was 1 game of bingo one day. They told us there wasn't enough people to do anything. A lot of people where complaining. They didn't entertain around the pool at all. The people themselves where getting vollyball games going in the pool. They were practising on the stage but told us they were practising for their xmas shows.
We did book the Lobster dinner on the beach but it got cancelled twice because of rain even though the sunwing group went. That disappointed us. Typical Airtransat.
It was an enjoyable trip but not sure if we would go back I am sorry to say. It was a very long day travelling to get there.
I will say one thing though the staff are tremendous. Sexy Lady you take the cake at the swim-up bar also Nukie. I felt sorry for the bartender at the beach bar as he had to keep running for beer as the taps froze or something. He brought it back in a big coke bottle but didn't really taste the same as if it came right from the tap. He was really upset about it but not his fault.
Our maid also gave me a gift. I have never had a maid give a gift and was very surprised about it. She was excellent. Never wanted for a thing and room was cleaned in the morning usually and if not oh well no biggy.
Well that is my review. Never know might go back at some point but maybe when it is a little busier but not too much as it was nice not to have a lot of people wanting everything at the same time.
Didn't make it to the other resorts would have loved to but couldn't get our bunch to move. hahah.

Room Tip: Stayed in 112 was great close to eveerything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank msmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

After reading some of the "stories" here, I often wonder about some of the hotel guests reviews. We visited here Sept of 2010 and again just recently in Oct 2011. This hotel has made a lot of improvements since our last visit. The food was tasty with flavour, with alot of variety.We brought our own spices and only used it on the fries at the beach snack bar.The beach and swimming pool areas are clean and chairs were abundant.There was no shortage of rum or beer and the staff is always willing to please.The nightly entertainment was exceptional, the staff put on great shows.Our room was clean although at times no hot water, but this is the tropics and a cool shower feels good .No cockroaches in the room either! or in the buffet !!The prostitution is still around , but not so "in your face" as it is in the other resorts, it has been cleaned up. I find it pathetic, seeing much older men or women having to buy extremely younger companions for their holidays. Makes you wonder what kind of people they are, when they know they wouldn't get away with what they are doing back "home" so they spend money in a foreign land for their physical comfort! You have to be careful when walking around the resort in areas that have been tiled. When it is wet, it is very slippery, and many people have fallen. Use the handrails! nobody needs broken bones on their vacation.The mosquitos were quite bad while we were there, so don't forget the bug spray, it worked perfectly to keep them away and enjoy the evenings outside. The hotel does fog but that only helps a little. As a PADI Master Diver, the diveshop and equipment is quite decent considering the location and ability to update and service the gear! The divesites are interesting, and unique. The dive staff will do everything possible to ensure you have a great experience. The boat is not always on "time" so patience is certainly needed, but well worth it!
As with scuba diving anywhere, ultimately you are responsible for checking your gear and making sure you are set up. Don't expect them to take you by the hand, but do expect a great safe experience as long as you are dilligent and double check everything before getting out to the dive site. They don't take a spare tank on the boat, so being at the dive site and finding out you have a leaky o-ring will pretty much end your dive! Check before you go, and you will have a great time! I highly suggest an underwater camera! Some of the sites are fabulous, with several opportunities for great aquatic life photos. The Shark Dive is an unforgettable experience! Bring water shoes for the beach, the sand is beautiful, but you never know what might be hiding under there! It is the ocean! Bring cups for the bar! A good thermal cup is the trick for a great time at the bar! The cups they serve are small 4oz cups that are pretty much empty by the time you walk back to your seat! Hand them your cup, and they will fill it with whatever you want! There is no expectation of tipping, but we have found it reasonable to tip the staff each time they provide us a service! Giving the bartender a peso for a couple of drinks is not going to make you poor, and will be greatly appreciated by the bartender! Same for the restaurant staff, and the maid... No need to go crazy with tipping, but a peso here and there will ensure great service! We all tip based off percentages at home, at least there we can still tip based off "service". We enjoyed our return visit, and will be back again in Jan 2012 with a large group of friends/family!!! There are many great excursions available for decent prices that we would highly recommend anybody taking advantage of while you are at the resort. Be sure to ask and check with your tour reps often to find out what is available during the time you are visiting.

Room Tip: Blocks 1,2, and 4 are the rooms located close to the lobby, beach, and pool and are a bit quieter in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WestIslandTrave... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Hi,
Sorry to be late with my review. We stayed there from Sept 7th to the 14th.
The property is very beautiful. We loved the size...rooms are close to the pool, restaurants, beach and lobby. It is exactly what I was hoping to find in a resort.
Our first impression was....fantastic....loved it from the moment we arrived. Beautiful grounds, very nice sized rooms, and very clean...we were ready to enjoy ourselves....except.....
and, this is my first "unhappy" experience at a resort in Cuba....and I have been to Cuba 21 times.
The bars were always running out of, pina coladas, margaritas....no mojitos at all during our stay.....only cheap rum......on many occasions....no wine.."manana"....the hotel store, although shown as being open till 8pm....closed every day at 2pm.??
Our room had bedbugs.....yes...this is correct.......came in the extra pillows we asked for about 2 days before we left.....bitten on both arms and back...have pics. to prove it.....the staff were very apologetic and had the room sealed off.........having said that, the room was the best I have ever had in a hotel....room 221....overlooking the pool and a 1min. walk to the beach.
It is a pity that I have to list the negatives, because we really loved the property and the food was excellent. We spoke to the PR man, Roel, and was told that the problem is the Cuban Gov't. allocating funds to the hotels for stocking supplies etc....oh well.
I hope this does not sway you from going there....just make sure the hotel has be fumigated for the bedbugs.......
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Building 2....best rooms on the premises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Puritos46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is our 7th time at this resort and this time we did have no hot water the whole of our stay. We were given a great room in block 5 on beach upper floor however the rooms on the upper floor had no hot water. They did get the maintanance guy to come out every day but still no hot water. They only turn the valve on in the morning and evening for the hot water which makes sense and I know another block upper floor had problems too. Best advice is have a lower room just in case.

Best horse back riding in Cuba! We have been to Cayo Coco, Varadero, Holguin, Cayo Guillermo and was disappointed until now. Repeat guests at the Brisas Santa Lucia Hotel and the horse riding owner Elys. We have been in groups of 6 with friends and with our son age 11. You can do a 45m/1 hour excursion for 6ccp each person and visit the local area and houses and beach or a 1.5 hour excursion along the salt lakes, beach and local area where Cubans live is 10ccp each. If you want to go longer that can be arranged his is very flexible. We really enjoyed a sunset ride in the evenings. Also you can go up the other way past the boat tour marina along the local beach which is beautiful. If you have small children or want a romantic buggy ride this is also awailable. He is located at the west end of Brisas Santa Lucia Resort (Also known as BE Live) and sometimes he has his horses both sides. Horse riding can be booked directly with Elys and he is a very friendly person who speaks English.

Room Tip: Stick with lower floor until they sort out the problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cubansalsalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is our 6th time at Brisas Santa Lucia as a family and enjoy looking forward to seeing the friendly faces of the staff we have got to know over the years. It is a good deal for a cheap getaway however this time we had a great room by beach upper floor block 5 but had no hot water for the whole of our stay. We were not alone as all the guests staying on upper floor of this block had no hot water. We know they only turn the valve on for a few hours in the morning and evening, but even after the maintainance guy came out serveral days and we were told to try it later, we still had no hot water. Also another couple staying in a different block also had no hot water. They really must sort this out as it is not so bad for adults but children hate the cold water. We could have changed to another room, but it was much further away (block 17) and we have waited many years to be able to get a beach room with view. I know they have limited resorces, but they really should get a system check list for air conditioning and hot water, and not let guests stay in the rooms until fixed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BritCanada5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at the resort next door last year, so we knew what to expect in terms of the airport, and the slighty over one hour bus ride. Check in was quick and efficient and the buffet was available for us after the 1:00 am arrival.
I am constantly surprised at the comments that people make in regard to the food in Cuba. It is ok by me. It starts out a little bland, because it has to. Imagine the complaints if food was prepared and spiced authenticly! The buffet is large here and has a huge assortment of oils and spices that can be added to almost everything. This buffet was probably one of the best I've seen in Cuba. Plus there is a fresh pasta and pizza bar and grills that are preparing the "catch of the day" nightly as well as fresh cooked eggs for breakfast.
The bars, both lobby and pool offered good drinks and pretty quick service, as did the coffee bar, and always service with a smile.
The room was ok, a simple and clean room that was well kept by the staff, as was all of the resort. Never experienced any hot water problems that others did. There is constant upkeep and renovation visible, a good sign.
The beach is great, although it was a little windy when we were there. It is well maintained, and the seaweed that was blown ashore nightly was removed by early to mid morning each day, by tractor. Some great snorkeling right off the beach!
The pool was quite clean, in spite of the fact that there were so many people in it because of the windy days at the beach. There are daily activities and entertainment around the pool.
It was the staff that made the stay such a pleasurable one. In response to some of the reviews that I have read, saying the staff is unpleasant, Those reviews couldn't be more wrong.
I have found in life that people will get treated the way they treat people. So if someone is unpleasant to the staff, eventually the staff will be unpleasant back. As they should. For it is often those unpleasant guests that make other people's vacations less then what they could be, and it is somewhat the responsibility of the staff to control the environment.
Just a five minute walk down the road is a "Disco" that is open to locals and tourists, definitely worth a visit in the evening. Even if you don't dance yourself, just to watch the locals is soo entertaining.
Remember, you are in another country. The culture is different, the people are different, the food is different. Embrace it, enjoy it. This is the place to do it.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank J-V-Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Santa Lucia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Amigo Mayanabo
Club Amigo Mayanabo
#2 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
979 reviews
80.4 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.8 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,168 reviews
148.2 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,563 reviews
28.7 mi away
Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
Brisas Covarrubias Hotel
#1 of 1 in Puerto Padre
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Santa Lucia

Address: Avenida Turistica, Tararaco | Playa Santa Lucía, Nuevitas, Camagüey, Cuba, Playa Santa Lucia 74250, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Playa Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Playa Santa Lucia
Price Range: $94 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Santa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisas Santa Lucia is an all inclusive hotel, located on Santa Lucia Beach, approximately 110 km from the Camaguey airport, and includes unlimited daily activites, water sports and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brisas Santa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Santa Lucia Hotel Playa Santa Lucia
Staybridge Suites Camaguey
Brisa Santa Lucia
Camaguey Staybridge Suites
Santa Lucia Cuba
Brisas Santa Lucia Playa Santa Lucia, Cuba - Camaguey Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing