We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable property”
other travelers have booked this property
A hiker's paradise - Assynt mountains just a few miles away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A hiker's paradise - Assynt mountains just a few miles away
Looking out towards the Outer Hebrides Living room with wood-burner and sea view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
A hiker's paradise - Assynt mountains just a few miles away
Looking out towards the Outer Hebrides
Living room with wood-burner and sea view
Living room with wood-burner and sea view
Wood-burning fire and underfloor heating will keep you cosy in the evenings
Dining area and fully fitted kitchen
Spacious double room with ocean view + baby cot
Spacious double room with ocean view and en-suite
Double room with sea view
View from one of the double rooms
Twin room with sea view
Twin room with sea view
Stoer Lighthouse - a great place to watch dolphins and whales
The mountains of Assynt
The view from the top of Stac Pollaidh
Sandy beaches just moments away
The River Inver in Autumn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoer, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
almostret...
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable property”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a good week in this very comfortable and extremely well equipped house. (Even the weather was good - we had sun for most of four days during the week!) The niggles were not enough bath towels left for us and the salad drawers of both fridges were dirty and mouldy when we arrived. A floor plan of the property and the names of the beaches shown on the website could be useful, The scenery around is stunning but you do have to walk to see it. All in all a great place, it was wonderful to be back in the area..

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Many thanks for your review and we're glad you had a good time despite the niggles you had.

We apologise for there not being enough towels left out. We were expecting 5 guests so there should have been 5 bath sheets and 5 hand towels left out, as well as hand towels in the kitchen and utility room.

We also apologise for the state of the salad drawers - that is unacceptable so will raise it with those who clean the house for us to ensure it is not a problem again.

We will also aim to update the information you have suggested about a floor plan and names of the beaches.

Thank you again.

Roy & Carol Champion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forthelov...
Notasulga, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They say it's about location, location, location but putting the perfect house there helps.”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our second stay at Dwelling of Dreams. We've been coming to Assynt for many years and discovering this house has raised our holiday experience to another level. The perfect base for a holiday in all weathers and seasons. Extremely comfortable and well equipped with wonderful views across the North Minch to Lewis.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2016
Many thanks for your kind words - for us it's great to have the " perfect guests" that love and enjoy the area as much as we do.

Kind regards,
Roy & Carol Champion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norbertpa...
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic area and Great location to stay in NW Scotland”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed as a family in this well equipped, spacious modern house with sea view for one week. Parents & kids happy = perfect location & great holiday!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. We do appreciate it and are glad you had a good holiday. We hope you will return again one day to this stunning area

Roy & Carol Champion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James I
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sanctuary on the rugged Sutherland coast”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Exploring this sparse, enchanting region of North West Scotland from such a wonderful base was an enormous pleasure. The appeal of the house, which is ideally situated on the Stoer peninsula, is the way its open plan design cleverly marries an airy, light interior with great warmth and cosiness (helped by a splendid wood burning stove). It really is comfortable and appointed to a very high standard. The large windows afford spectacular views across the Minch to the Outer Hebrides.

We spent the best part of a week exploring the area, including a fine ascent of Canisp, fishing for brown trout in the innumerable lochs, and whale watching from Stoer Head. It was our second time to the area and previously we had found it difficult to find accommodation to our satisfaction. Aros Nan Aisling proved the perfect place to stay. We very much hope to return.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2015
Many thanks for your review James. We are glad you had a good stay and the house made a good warm base to come back to. We have never climbed Canisp but hope to one day. We hope to see you return to this stunning area again. Roy & Carol Champion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rzza158
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get away from it all!”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Some friends and I stayed here in september and loved it! Stunning surroundings looking out over mountains in one direction and the sea in another direction, i sat for hours enjoying a malt whisky looking out over to the outer hebrides, with the occasional sheep strolling by or buzzard soaring above.

The house is very comfortable and relaxing, especially after a day's walk in the hills. There is a log burner in the living room and although it was more than warm enough without it, we enjoyed a toasty warm evening chatting in front of the fire.

Thoroughly recommend it if you want to get away from it all into the rugged and stunning scenery of NW Scotland with a comfy place to relax in.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and scenery
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An aptly named house in a beautiful setting with ever changing views that you could spend endless days watching. The house is located in wonderful place which is so remote you can just forget the world and relax.

Our stay here was absolutely perfect, the house was fantastic and we are already booked to go again next year!

If you want to escape then this is the place to come.

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
Many thanks Mr Bailey for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again so. There is so much to see and do as well as just getting the chance to "stand and stare"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey C
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A light, warm, spacious house in a wild, wonderful location (ideal for bird enthusiasts!)”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we booked Aros Na Aisling, we thought it looked a lovely house, in an interesting place. It far exceeded our expectations - it has far reaching views across a bit of moorland to the sea, and the whole house is modern, spacious and incredibly light and warm. The geology, the walks, the little hamlets and villages, the roads, are all incredible. But the best thing is the bird-life around you: our highlights have been listening to snipes drumming from the sitting room, and seeing two cuckoos (male and female) every day.
On arrival, we were greeted by wine and tea and shortbreads. Before we arrived, Carol sent us a really useful pack including information about local history, a comprehensive list of things to do, recommendations for restaurants and encouragement to by local and support local businesses.

With heating from an air source heat pump, we felt like this was a holiday home that cared about where it was, making its impact locally as positive as possible, while providing for holiday makers in an eco-conscious way without compromising on comfort! It's also great value for money - there were just 2 of us, but you could easily have 8 or more!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The light, warm, spacious house in a wild, wonderful location
Liked least: Nothing - I loved everything about it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Many thanks for that very kind review. We are just glad you had a good time in such a stunning area, an area we love.
Carol & Roy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing