We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice, friendly staff”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
West Somerton, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris F
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I live in Martham and stopped off here for some lunch with the wife and kids (actually in pub at moment). My lamb shank was very nice, lamb juice mint gravy was lovely to, wife's ribs were also very nice and the sons steak also great. 2 kids meals were also good.
Basically it's very good food for the money and friendly owner/staff. Right that's it, best I get back to my beer.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good spot for Broads boating visitors”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Walked up ( 5minutes ) from The moorings and enjoyed a lovely steak and a warm welcome. Beer was good and a nice atmosphere. The pub doesn't feature in the "Broadcaster" newspaper, so visitors to the waterways may not know it's available.
Well done Landlord.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cubalibre...
Norfolk, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really nice place.”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We live locally, and although past retirement age, we still work. Our one pleasure in life fifty weeks of the year is Friday night cocktail hour. The other two weeks we are on holiday!
Our normal port of call has closed for the winter so tonight we tried the Lion. It was excellent. We were a little early for food but had a couple of drinks ahead of time. Then we had the cod and chips which were excellent.
The whole place was spotlessly clean and the landlord and his wife were very friendly.
My only gripe was that the plates were cold but the food was so piping hot it did not matter.
I think we will be back.
I see they do bed and breakfast......I can't comment on that obviously but I would imagine the same standard would apply.
In finishing....I don't think the landlord was ugly and his wife was very smart.
Excellent.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and very welcoming”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent accommodation and good food. John the Landlord could not of been more accommodating we will recommend The Lion to our friends that would want good accommodation for a weekend stay in Norfolk.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mardlers
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Steak Night”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

You MUST try the Tuesday Night "Steak Night". It is £25.00 for Two people including a bottle of wine. The Steaks and all the trimmings (and the home made chips) are Excellent value for money.. John and his staff are very friendly and the service is very good indeed. Would seriously recommend to everyone. We have also had lunch time meals which are also excellent quality. Give this pub a try, they are really trying to make a go of it and they are very Dog friendly too.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mocas50
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“friendly welcome disappointing food”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely welcome and helpful owners but we ordered 3 x locally caught cromer crab salads. They smelt very fishy and were 'let's one mouthful was enough! We got them replaced with lasagne.
West Somerton is a lovely spot to moor up, watch out for weed through the crystal clear water though.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale T
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem with Excellent Meals”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Living in Great Yarmouth, I have often driven past this public house without stopping. We were on a day trip out to North Norfolk and looking for a place to eat on our return journey and decided to stop here.
So glad we did, the food was excellent and the staff were really welcoming. We will certainly be returning.

Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing