We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Gjogv
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
83
115
33
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
83
115
33
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish an hour beautiful village main building per person cake plenty of hot water guest house dining room bread lamb set menu cultural evening remote location first night the cliff potatoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 238 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2019

This little village is in one of the prettier corners of the Faroes - and still close enough to drive almost anywhere. Rooms are a bit of a disappointment (but OK); reserve your place at supper to be sure of getting a meal, though beware supper times in midsummer seem ridiculously early unless you're Dutch. Nice buffet breakfast. I would recommend for the location alone and only for the location. Free Wifi OK.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

We had a corner room in the Annex, above the guest house, with a lovely view. Because we are elderly, and it was sleeting and snowing and raining outside, we enjoyed watching the little black lamb next door, trying to get the chicken to play with him, and chasing it all over the field. I laughed so hard!
There is a nice hike on a farm road to the bench, and then steps up the steep hill.
We did not feel comfortable hiking up the steps when it was sleeting, but did walk both directions on the farm road. We also walked around the village. The memorial to those lost at sea was particularly poignant.

The soup at lunch was quite good, and we enjoyed the buffet on Sunday night. The younger staff were friendly and speak English.

Room tip: Bests views are from a corner room in the Annex.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean_in_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

The risk of having a monopoly is always the worry about people/staff becoming complacent. Not here! The staff were very helpful and generous with their time. The guesthouse is well located and attractive, The room was just fine, offering all that was required for my comfort, including a solid mattress and comfy duvet. The only reason the place did not get a 5 star was the limited dinner menu. the night I was there, the meal was bland, despite it being substantial....but there was no choice to a menu!! And yet, the breakfast was varied and ample....something for the owners to consider. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and in Gjogv.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

On the way to the village you will not be disappointed, it is absolutely scenic whereever you look and Gjógv itself is a quiet, small village with a cute little church. Walk out to "Mary's bench" and enjoy the relaxing view of the vast sea with seabirds above and all around you. Then walk up the steep hill on your left, accompanied by the sheep, and at the top enjoy the most photogenic spot with a beautiful view. At the Gjaagardur guesthouse enjoy the soup of the day in a relaxing, simple atmosphere with nice staff. Gjógv is a must see!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ewa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

We spent two nights at the Guesthouse and very much enjoyed our stay. We had a nice room in the building above the main building (a superior double). It was a corner room, A1, with two view windows. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. Idyllic. Staff was extremely nice. Very positive atmosphere.

Room tip: Corner room with view toward ocean or town
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank violaidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews