We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's great here. Good job because it's the only place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gjaargardur Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Gjogv B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's great here. Good job because it's the only place”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I really liked staying here. It is the only place in the area but fortunately it's a really good place to stay. Rooms are small, a bit hostel like but adequate (we had a shower) and the food is great. I'm pretty sure everyone in the area stays here so it will probably book up fairly quickly. On one of the nights, there was a Faroese evening which sounded as though it went well for those interested. It did mean doubling the price of an evening meal, so for those of us that weren't interested enough to pay that amount of money, it did leave us with few other options on where to eat but I suppose you either go for these things or you don't and plan something different. I really liked it here though. Stayed 3 nights

Room Tip: You may want to check about shower arrangements as I don't think all are en suite. Rooms aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgelumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    78
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
74
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here during our 5 nights in the Faroe Islands. Our room and beds were adequate and comfortable, but the genuine friendliness and knowledge of the staff was the real winner. The village is located in a picturesque part of the Faroes, and we were easily able to explore most of the Faroes by car. We did miss not having access to a tv, as on both evenings when we returned to our room we were in bed early, even though we tried to stay out and about for as long as we could.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
916 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Gjogv lies at the end of a long (by Faroese standards) road, off the beaten track. However, the journey there is well worth the effort as the property, fabulous as it is, is enhanced with the extraordinary beauty of the village.

Although the population has dwindled to about 40 permanent residents, the community appears alive, clean and stunningly beautiful. The Gjaargardur Guesthouse, while not to be compared to a Hyatt or other five-star properties, is wonderful.

It offers a variety of accommodation options ranging from well-appointed double rooms, to some fascinating "sleeping crannies", designed for school groups, or other less-fussy travellers! The ambience is wonderful, and the host, Erik, a delight and fount of local information.

The Guesthouse is a perfect location to stay and explore the outer islands of the Faroes; while it may seem unusual to need to “get out of town”, visitors to the islands will get a much deeper impression of them by spending a couple of nights in a country hotel, and of these, the Gjaargardur Guesthouse is the best.

For those seeking time to contemplate, walk and simply recharge their worn-out urban batteries, there is no better place; accessible by car or even by the fine local bus system, Gjogv makes a wonderful location to simple “be” and relax.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed 1 night. In the hotelrooms in the concrete building up the hill. The main house (the swiss style concrete house with grass roof) is mainly a hostel and was full of young students at their "start-of-study get together tour".
Our room in the new house are fine, Nordic-spartan, and with a problematic slope of the floor in the bathroom in our room.

All the place has of course free internet, unfortunately wired in the new rooms, so smartphone didn't connect cheaply up there.
Staff is helpful,

Restaurant ONLY serves a single, set dish - OK but "daily meal"-type - and not very cheap. You would have had to drive very long to reach other options.
The micro village/town is pretty - but is being expanded with more (summer?) houses. Walks in the surounding a giving but streneous - you start with a steep climb on a nearly non-existing path. Do not try after rain.

Book the best type of rooms - the price differences are (too) small.
The correct spelling of the place is (hope it is saved in the processing): Gjáargarður

Breakfast was OK, but to the simple side of the usual Scandinavian buffet. Funny there was neither any cheeses nor the black rye bread.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BjoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and had the luck of staying in one of the new rooms (a small extension just up the hill from the main hotel). This room was lovely and spacious, with underfloor heating and ensuite bathroom. It would have had internet though unfortunately it was not working in our room for when we stayed. Beds very comfortable, and parking freely available. The hotel itself does offer you a hot meal rather than a menu for dinner. It's just whatever the chef has cooked that you can have, so if you might want to check in advance what they are cooking. We had fish curry and roast beef, both very tasty and desserts of apple pie were served as well. There is free wifi in the hotel. Breakfast consists of a choice of three breads, cheese, hams and boiled eggs all very fresh. Packed lunch is available if you want (might be a good idea considering the lack of places to have lunch nearby). Overall very enjoyable, and the owner made sure we were well looked after would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in the new extension overlooking the ocean toward Kalsoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth West Aus
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I've stayed here three times over the last five years, it's a favourite. I usually travel solo, and I'm always on a budget, and the Faroes is EXPENSIVE ! You can get to Gjaargardur in the miniscule and beautifully picturesque village of Gjojv ( about twelve families in total) in an hour by car or by public bus if you're a bit canny with reading timetables. There's two buses each day in the low season, three in the high season. You need to phone the bus company to let them know to pick you up from Oyrarbakki, where you get off/meet the bus 400 Torshavn-Klaksvik. The phone number is on the Timetable, available from the Bus counter at the ferry/bus terminal in Torshavn . Wierdly, Tourist Info in Torshavn doesn't have these. The bus staff speak and understand English. You'll need to use a public phone OR buy a Faroese sim card ( 100 krone, with included calls) from the Phone company shop up the street from Tourist Info as the Faroe phone company ( wierdly, but you get used to wierd in the Faroes) has no roaming correspondence with any other phone company/server in the world.
So, you arrive at Gjojv after an hour and a bit bus ride through some of the most stunning sceney I've seen anywhere in the world, and the bus meanders down a long single road through the glacial valley and stops at Gjaargardur. You're there. If you hired a car and did it the fast way- same sceney but you'll have had your eyes on the road so you didn't hit the sheep that tend to wander over it and you may have missed the view.
There are nice new rooms completed last year (2009) with ensuite, standard hotel prices, fabulous view. If you're not scared of shared bathrooms, you can do it cheaply by booking a "Viking Bed", which is like a large cupboard set under the eaves of the main house with a window to the sky through the grass roof- cozy, and quite private once you close your cupboard door. It's big enough for two without bags -there is space for bags in draws just outside your cupboard. If you want security when you go hiking, bring a small padlock for your cupboard door, but this is hardly necessary in this part of the world. There is a power point in the cupboard just above your head for charging phones, computers.
There is no share use kitchen, but this didn't stop a Czech family travellling cheap from boiling up their rice in the bathroom. Breakfast is included with your room and consists of the usual Scando fare (and homemade Rhubarb jam) except the meat is not your normal cheap ham and salami, but three kinds of Faroese sausage made from lamb- tasty!
They do Smorbrod for lunch, but dinner is the big event- one main dish (no menu) which might be a fish curry, pork , chicken or beef dish, and if you're there on the right night, New Zealand lamb ( it's way cheaper in Faroe than the local stuff) prepared and roasted to a Faroese recipe. Rice or potatoes and salad on the side and a home made dessert plus coffee.Beer etc available. I can't remember the price, but it's quite reasonable by local standards. It's a friendly and flexible kind of place, and I would not be the least surprised if they agreed to make a vegetarian dish if you asked in advance. The manager, Eric, smart, sympathetic and worldly, has had the place for five years and plans to stay for a few more.
Now, more about Gjojv. There's a very cute church ( Eric has a key), one little cafe apart from Gjaargardur that opens on Summer afternoons and serves excellent fish soup, a delightful stream through the middle of the village with quacking ducks and ( on a sunny day ) a shallow pond for children to frolic in, and plenty of hills to climb and birds to watch if that's your thing. If you have good legs, about 90 minutes walk back up the road ( very little traffic) to the top of the valley brings you to the cairn trail down into the sweet village of Funningur, and you can ride back to Gjojv on the 3.30 bus ( if you phone the bus company two hours ahead). On the other hand, you may, like me, just enjoy the quiet and the music of the stream while reading a book or inspecting the back of your eyelids.
Just one more thing, Gjaargardur has wireless free internet, it belongs to the civilised world.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sebastian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Firstly, this is not a b&b. It's a hotel, cafe, bar, etc... with all the things you would expect of such a place. It also houses virtually all the facilities available in the tiny village of Gjogv. Also we didn't actually stay, used the facilities and was made to feel so welcome by the manager that if I'd have known about this place beforehand I'd have arranged a night's stay.

You cannot miss the building. It's the large red building on the opposite side of the river built with the traditional faroese roofing - grass growing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gjogv
22.1 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
282 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
105 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
133 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
129 reviews
22.5 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gjaargardur Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gjaargardur Guesthouse

Property: Gjaargardur Guesthouse
Address: Gjogv, Eysturoy FO-476, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Eysturoy > Gjogv
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gjogv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gjaargardur Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gjaargardur Guesthouse Faroe Islands/Gjogv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing