We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angaga Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you want to be totally chilled, enjoy diving, snorkelling, sailing and swimming then this is the place for you. My husband did all of these things this holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it. He thought that the dive school was brilliant and very well run and went sailing quite a few times with the instructor. Well me, I just chilled out on the beach, floated around in the sea and read loads. This was easily one of the best places I have ever visited and I cannot wait to go back. The food is delicious, fantastic selection of cocktails in both bars and the staff and service were exceptional. They looked after us as well as if we had been members of their own family so much so that I was really sad to leave them. We chose to stay in a beach bungalow and it was perfect. Kept very clean with everything we could possibly want. I know that lots of people choose the water bungalows but the disadvantage is that you then don't get your own little section of beach with sunbeds and if you want to spend time on the beach you would really need to bring a beach mat. Having said that there is loads of room on the beach so everyone gets plenty of privacy. Our bungalow was opposite the water bungalows which for us was an ideal spot and we could watch the sunset every evening. We both went to the spa for a massage and it was easily the best massage I have ever had. The ladies who work there are really lovely and friendly and we felt it was such a treat. We travelled from Gatwick with Thomson's on an all inclusive package and it was real value for money. The direct flight to Male was on the Dreamliner and it was an excellent journey. From Male we took a sea plane and then a boat from the pontoon to the jetty on Angaga. The Thomson rep, Gerard, met us at Male and was really helpful. He even phoned us during the holiday to check that everything was ok. I loved the sea planes and found them really exciting with fantastic views throughout the journey. When we arrived on Angaga we were welcomed by a number of the staff and given cold flannels which were most welcome after our long journey. Everything was very calm and we were offered cold fruit drinks while we were checked in then taken to our bungalow where magically the luggage had already arrived! I have been back home less than a week and just can't wait to return hopefully next year. However I don't know how we are going to get there because I have discovered that Thomson's are no longer offering holidays to the Maldives after April this year. I am sure that I will find a way. This is a beautiful little island with lovely friendly people to look after you and I strongly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: I would choose a beach bungalow opposite the water bungalows and our's was number 132.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonsysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 447 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Pros:
- laid back divers paradise
- picturesque small little island
- hands on resort without too much frill
- nice, spacious and clean beach houses
- decent food (buffet) with a good variety
- great German diving school with high standards
- nice house reef and a tennis court
- perfect base to explore a lot of great dive sites in the South Ari Atoll

Cons:
- no swimming pool
- very limited entertainment program (there is live music only once a week)

Go there if you want a natural not overdone island feeling like paradise, but don't go there if you expect a top notch 5 star luxury location

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Kinski T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed a week in Angaga and got upgraded to a Water Bungalow which we really liked a lot! They are well furnished, yes, beds could be more comfortable, but the lookout trough the floor into the water is wonderful at night to see the fishes.

On a small Island where's not much to do, I dont mind walk a big to the centre. The wood gets very hot on midays, so get some flipflops. Besides that, it's a barfoot island. The Spa treatment was wonderful! I went twice to a very reasonable price.

Food was good. Too much to choose actually, I would have preferred, a little less, but changing themes during the week to keep it interesting.

Reef is very nice, good for snorkeling. It also depends on the season you are going.

Cons: The stairs to our water bungalow was covered with alga which made me slip and fell very badly into the water, hurting my leg very badly. However, dissapointingly, the management did not seem to care at all about this. Not an "sorry" not maybe something extra. I dont know, what if a guess hurts himself cause of a lack of cleaness, I would make sure to give him at least an apology. This was the only dissapointing point.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aquamarina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week all inclusive holiday to this resort, We flew on the new Thomson Dreamliner. Transfers in Male to the sea plane terminal very good though we had to sort this ourselves as the Thomson Rep was more interested in seeing the Dreamliner than meeting us. Return transfer from island to Male also very good.
On arrival on Angaga we were given cold towels and a drink whilst filling in the registration forms, We had a water villa (161) near the sundown bar. Unfortunately after 11am we had not much sun if any on the decking. Villa clean,spacious with lovely views.Plenty of towels provided and clean sheets every day.Hairdryer is fine and dressing gowns as well if needed.
Food in the restaurant was ok, bit repetitive at times but always something to nibble on...
Snacks in the main bar was a bonus esp if you missed breakfast or lunch, served from 10am-11,30 and 3pm-5pm, I can recommend the toasted cheese/tomatoe/onion sandwiches served with french fries and salad.
Another bonus on the all inclusive was the cocktail menu. It has 77 cocktails which can be drunk at any time of the day.
The beach is excellent all around the island,pure white sand and kept very clean. Access into the water is great,
Part of the beach is very slightly eroded near beach bungalows 120-126.
We do not snorkel but alot of guests did. Even so, we saw a pod of dolphins swim past the island, various sizes of reef sharks and a couple of rays,and quite a few other fish.
The staff on the island are all very friendly with the exception of the reception staff who were miserable and when we left didnt even thank us for staying or wish us a good journey home. The barmen Nimal at the Sundown bar and Suriesh in the main bar both always had a smile and a welcome for us. All the time we were on the island we never saw any management whatsover, mingling with guests or generally walking about. Where on previous islands we had visited in the Maldives we had.
The majority of guests were German,followed by Chinese,Swiss and Austrian,British guests were definately in the minoirity,this didnt bother us as everyone was very friendly towards us.
There were also a lot of repeat guests. The weather whilst we were there was very hot at times, hazy most days and had a couple of heavy storms which cleared up relatively quickly.,
This is island is very quiet, great for just chilling out and relaxing,but the beach is one of the best we have been to in the Maldives.

Room Tip: Water villas on the left side of walkway have sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's now 6 months since I visited this resort and I'm still wishing I could go back tomorrow. Had an amazing 10 days there in a water bungalow. Couldn't really fault the place at all (and usually I have no problem with that...). Maybe after 10 days the food started to become a little 'samish' but that's as far as I can go. Everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thewelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Picking the right island in the Maldives is really important. The resorts are all a bit different so make sure you pick one that suits your need.

If you want to visit the Maldives because of their natural beauty, you will love Angaga. Very comfortable bungalows, great food and one of the most beautiful lagoons in the country. We decided against staying at a luxury resort because luxury uses a lot of resources so the more stars the resort has, the farther away you get from “natural”. And really, who needs a swimming pool if you have one of the world’s best beaches right in front of your bungalow.

WiFi is available in the lobby but a bit expensive. It’s worth picking up a local SIM card at the airport. Dhiraagu has a reliable network on Angaga.

We had half-board and since both breakfast and dinner are buffet-style you can easily skip lunch. For the fact that most of the food has to be imported, they really offer a great choice.

We had the chance to stay at an overwater bungalow for the first night. They feel quite a bit brighter and more airy than the regular bungalows. So if the price difference isn’t too much, it might be well worth it.

Room Tip: Try one of the overwater bungalows if rates are reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thaiswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been to the Maldives five times now, and this was our first time to Angaga. We will not write any comparisons, since the other places we have been to are of different categories and different prices. (for that you will have to check out the forum ;)
We arrived at Malè airport and was greeted by a lovely gentleman from the guest relations who took us to the Angaga desk, the wait there was very short, we were quickly taken in to the check in counter for the air taxis, and they put us on a bus, and we were on our way to the "air taxi airport. the wait there was only 40 minutes, and we were on our way to Angaga. All very quick and smooth.
The flight to Angaga took around 30minutes, first view of Angaga from above, what a beautiful picture postcard island. so small, which was perfect for us, air taxi landed not too far from the reef itself (which i thought was not a good idea, and got confirmation later, keep on reading). After a quick welcome drink, we were taken to our watervilla, accompanied by Mohamed, who answered all my questions about the island and the reef.
WATER VILLA: The room is very pretty, bambu bed and chairs, spotless clean, very nice bathroom with tub, and back door to the bathroom that goes on to the veranda where you have two sunbeds and an umbrella (very handy, because the heat becomes unbearable sometimes) and of course, stairs that go straight in to the water from your water villa. The room was really nice and clean, but looking a bit old, the curtains were all weary and towels were "worn out" and some had holes in them. A glass table where you can see the water under and the fish. lovely. but alas, no minibar! there is a fridge but it's empty. this kind of sucked! But the sightings from our water villa made us forget everything: Turtles, sharks, nurse sharks, sting rays, eagle rays, lots of different fish... and this was just sitting on the veranda of our water villa. amazing to say the least.
BEACH: is just AMAZING! beautiful white sand all around the island, you can walk bear foot without worries, and also getting around the island, the staff keeps it very clean at all times, you can forget your shoes or slippers until the day you leave. and the water is such a crystal blue like we have never seen before. pure paradise.
HOUSE REEF: something exceptional, never seen so much coral, in different sizes and shapes so compact in one house reef! Lots of sharks, rays, spotted morena, nurse sharks, feather-tailed sting rays, the list goes on and on and on, the house reef is just fantastic. but yes, the air taxis land too close, you can hear them SO loud, that the first time i heard them underwater i freaked out. and the jetty where the dhoni's come to drop off people or supplies, also runs right top of the reef, so when snorkeling you have to be careful of all the boat traffic, and the big fat ropes that float around underwater.
FOOD: alas, i am sorry to say that Food was the only thing that we found very disappointing. there was not enough variety, we were on FB and there was days where they had the same options for lunch and dinner, and that little variety they had, the quality was average. But the service and the staff was lovely.
Overall for the price you pay, you can't complain, everything is just great. If you are a looking for a good snorkeling holiday, Angaga will not let you down.

Room Tip: Watervillas, on the sunset side (162, 163 etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ShawnWithCaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angaga Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angaga Island Resort & Spa

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Angaga Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Price Range: $246 - $1,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angaga Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angaga Island Resort & Spa is located in the South Ari Atoll and is surrounded by a wealth of natural beauty along with crystal clear waters and a white sandy beach. The island is approximately 45,000 square metres and is superb for snorkeling and diving with the house reef just 7-8 metres from the beach featuring live coral and beautiful marine life. This is a great island for those holidaymakers seeking peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angaga Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angaga Island Hotel Angaga Island
Hotel Angaga Island
Angaga Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing