We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday on a lovely, relaxed island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angaga Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday on a lovely, relaxed island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

If you are looking to spend 2 weeks on a small, very pretty island with good food, a good house reef, no pool, no kids club, no motorised water sports and little or no entertainment, then look no further!

We booked through Maldives Direct, where Jim and his team provided an excellent service, even having us met by a ground agent with our names on his board: first time that has happened to us in the Maldives!

WEATHER: For most visitors to the Maldives this is one of the most important considerations and one of the most frequent questions asked on the Maldives Forum! We knew the weather had been bad in the week before our arrival, so we were relieved to find blue skies with scattered cloud. There was, however, a strong wind from the South-West, and our end of the island (see below) took the full force. The wind dropped to a breeze after a few days and the good weather continued. In the first 10 days we had 2 day time showers of about 2 minutes each and heavier rain one night. We then went into a pattern of sunny mornings until about noon followed by thick black cloud rolling in on all sides, accompanied by heavy rain which lasted for about 4 hours. Over our 14 days we probably lost 1 complete day to bad weather which we felt was a good return for what was clearly the wet season.

FLIGHTS: We flew BA from Gatwick. Our last BA flight to the Maldives was disappointing, so we were a little anxious as to what we might experience this time around. It is worth commenting that the 3-3-3 seating configuration in Economy is one of the most unhelpful there is, in my opinion. The vast majority of passengers will be couples, which inevitably means that if the cabin is full then some couples will be split up. On the outbound flight, Economy was only about 50% full, so there was room to breathe. The dinner was good, we had chicken curry, but the hot breakfast was rather unappetising. On the return flight, which surprisingly left 30 minutes early, Economy was nearly full and the two meals on offer were poor in that they were essentially identical: chicken or pasta. This was the same combination that we had on our previous BA flight back from the Maldives, so clearly BA need to speak to their caterers at Male airport!

TRANSFERS: After the usual lengthy queues at Immigration, not helped by the fact that the BA flight had no Immigration forms on board, we cleared customs and were met by our Ground Agent. We quickly completed formalities and check-in at the Trans Maldivian Airways desks and were transferred to the TMA seaplane terminal. This has grown a lot since we last used it and there is now plenty of seating, a small bar for snacks and drinks and even a small clothing shop. Our flight was delayed 60 minutes awaiting the arrival of a late international flight but we were happy just to sit and plane/people watch. Once we finally got airborne, our flight time was about 30 minutes. Our return flight took rather longer, as it arrived 30 minutes late at Angaga, then went all of 2 miles to Mirihi to collect passengers; then went all of a mile to the Conrad, where - after an aborted first attempt - we landed to collect more passengers. By the time we actually got to the International Departures desks at Male they were calling our flight, so we had no time to shop or draw breath.

ARRIVAL: We were met with a very welcome cold towel and shown to the large and airy Reception area for a cold drink and registration and after filling in the usual forms were quickly shown to our room. Surprisingly for a fairly distant island, the time on Angaga was the same as Male, so there was no requirement to put our watches forward the usual hour.

OUR ROOM: Angaga has 20 Water Villas and 50 detached Beach Villas and we had booked one of the latter. Our room was right on the western tip of the island about as far as you could get from Reception. However, this was no hardship as the island is small and our location meant we were a long way from the seaplane landing area

The room was accessed through the patio doors at the front, was quite spacious and, surprisingly for the Maldives in our experience, was remarkably well lit. All the furniture - very large (6ft) double bed, 2 easy chairs, 2 bedside tables, 1 dressing table, 1 coffee table, 1 stool, and 1 mini-fridge container/TV stand - were all made from bamboo which was quite chunky. The wardrobe was a large, walk-in area with shelves, hanging rails and a full length mirror. Sachets of coffee and various green/herbal teas were provided and there were a couple of umbrellas in the “wardrobe”. There was a very quiet and efficient A/C unit mounted high on the wall. The mini-fridge was empty but we could fill it up ourselves with cans and bottles obtained from the bar.

The bathroom was fully tiled and in the shower area was partly open air. Small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were provided and this seemed to be of OK quality. There was a hair dryer and an electric kettle. In total there were 4 electric sockets in the room and all took standard UK 3 pin square plugs. The bathroom had a lockable back door with a separate key which meant that after swimming or snorkelling you could wash sand off your feet with the outside hose and then let yourself directly into the bathroom, so avoiding leaving a trail of wet sandy footprints in the bedroom! 2 beach towels were provided and were replaced every evening.

The patio area at the front of the room had a Maldivian swing - OK for lying on but not for sitting - and another hard bench where the 2 sun lounger mattresses were stored. There was about 20 feet of soft sand in front of the room before a 3 feet drop took us onto the beach itself, where our 2 numbered sun loungers were.

BEACH: We were on the western tip of the islands, where the beach was quite narrow, although there was still room for the sun beds without too much fear of getting wet when the tide came in. Further round the island the beach was much deeper and there was a lot more in the way of shade, although the beach villas were set much further back behind the trees and bushes. The absence of much foliage on our side wasn’t a huge problem and might well have accounted for Mrs D’s surprising lack of insect bites. If shade was required it wasn’t too difficult to get the sun beds up off the beach and into the shade of the front patio.

As mentioned above, the island is small and walking around it at a gentle pace took only about 15 minutes. It is worth noting that our west side of the island caught whatever breeze was going, whereas the other side had absolutely no wind at all, which at times made the place unbearably hot - almost oven-like in temperature. So, on balance, we were very happy with our location.

CLIENTELE: Guests were predominantly German (75%), with 15% Japanese and Brits and others making up the other 10%.

EATING: The one restaurant is quite large with a sand floor and open on 3 sides. On arrival we were assigned a waiter and a table both of which we kept for the duration of our stay.

The food was generally of a high standard with plenty of choice. Breakfast was the usual offerings of fruit juices, 4 or 5 types of types of fresh fruit, various cereals, yoghurts, toppings, bread, croissants and pastries, plus an egg station and various hot options, including bacon. In the evening, there was always a choice of fish, meat, poultry, pasta and various vegetables. The meats, usually 3 choices, were very good with the Brazilian beef particularly so. For those wanting a bit of spice there was always a curry plus a couple of oriental-style dishes. Each evening’s buffet was slightly different but followed the basic description above. There was a very good beach BBQ one Sunday but were no “theme” nights and, disappointingly, there wasn’t the traditional Friday night Maldivian banquet that we have had on every other island we have visited. The choice and quality of the breads on offer were not a patch on other islands we have visited and were disappointing.

We never got bored with the food but there was a rather “samey” feel to every dinner, especially when we were in to our 2nd week. It is perhaps worth commenting that the restaurant is severely lacking in atmosphere. Most nights the place was hushed and there were even times when it was quieter still: like the Reading room in the British Library! One evening I laughed loudly at a comment Mrs Dibble made and the whole place went quiet. You could have heard a pin drop! Interestingly, every British couple we spoke to commented on this lack of atmosphere, so perhaps the quietness was a national characteristic?

NB: For anyone who is a passionate non-smoker please take note! Angaga is the first island we have been to that allows smoking in its restaurant. It seemed that every single German guest on the island was a smoker and most of them liked to smoke during their meals. I commented on this to the Management and they said they would look into it.

We were on Half Board Plus so can’t comment on lunch. The Main Bar/Coffee Shop served a wide choice of snacks and bigger meals and quite a few guests seemed to eat there at lunchtimes. Our HB+ entitled us to cakes and/or sandwiches between the hours of 10-11.30am and 3-5pm. So we generally skipped lunch altogether and just had cakes/sandwiches in the afternoon. The toasted cheese sandwiches ($4) were very good and came with French fries and coleslaw and were far more than just a snack.

DRINKING: Angaga has 2 bars, a main one and the Sundown Bar at the far end of the water villas. Both were open from 8am - midnight and neither was ever busy. As mentioned above we were on Half Board Plus which was essentially All Inclusive without lunch. It appeared to be a well kept secret as none of the Brits we spoke to had heard of it. Under HB+ we were entitled to bottled water, Coke and Sprite etc, beer, house wine and spirits and ALL cocktails, of which there were 77.

Prices were very reasonable: Coke and mixers ($3), 1.5L bottled water ($3.50), beer ($4.50), house wine ($4), house gin ($4), house brandy ($5), cocktails ($8- $10); all of course subject to the usual 10% SC and 3.5% GST. Both bars had a “happy hour” from 6-7pm, where prices were reduced by 20%, except on wine and champagne.

ENTERTAINMENT: There was a band each weekend, either the Saturday or the Sunday, and that was it. Nothing else! There was a TV in our room, which we never switched on, and another in the TV room/Library. The library was well stocked with books; mainly German but there were several shelves of English ones as well.

SPA: This was one of the Coconut group of spas and was efficiently run, with a very wide choice of massages from around the world, plus skin treatments, body wraps, manicures etc. Prices did not seem too exorbitant but the spa never looked to be very busy. Indeed, in a bid to drum up custom there was a 20% reduction for the whole of the two weeks we were on Angaga.

EXCURSIONS: There was not a huge range on offer - snorkelling, night fishing, visit to local island etc. - and what was available only occurred on 4 days in the week. Perhaps the most interesting was the chance to visit the underwater restaurant on the nearby Conrad Rangali island. However, this was also the most expensive excursion: $20 for the boat plus a further $55 (+ 10%) charged by the Conrad as entry fee; although this did get you a cocktail and a canapé.

DIVE CENTRE & WATER SPORTS: The former always appeared to be busy with scuba lessons and courses etc and the dive boats went out several times each day. In contrast, the Water Sports Centre was a veritable oasis of inactivity. It offered a wide variety of non-motorised activities: catamaran sailing, kite surfing, wind surfing etc. However, apart from a single use of a wind surfer by one of the instructors, there was no activity for the whole of our 14 days.

SNORKELLING: For us, good snorkelling is nearly as important as good weather and good food; and Angaga did not disappoint. The large coral gardens were impressive and when the tide was high it was possible to snorkel over the top of these without fear of hitting the outgrowths. The high winds had churned up the sand and visibility was rather poor - especially for taking photos. The reef seemed to be in good condition and fish were plentiful, although there were apparently fewer than in previous years. Strangely, we did not see a single shark; not even a single baby in the lagoon. We thought this rather surprising when compared to other islands. However, this was our first time in the Maldives in May so perhaps it wasn’t the baby shark season? There were warning notices in reception about nesting Titan Trigger Fishes and their potentially aggressive behaviour. Only came across 1 adult Titan and it was happily feeding. Also saw a couple of baby Titan’s so perhaps the nesting season had passed?

IN CONCLUSION: Angaga, is a lovely, small island; very much of the “no shoes, no news” type. It provides comfortable accommodation, good food, good snorkelling and plenty of peace and quiet; the latter broken only by the arrival and departure of sea planes which we actually think is quite fun.

Would we recommend it to others? Yes - without hesitation. Would we go again? Yes - without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank Officer_Dibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angaga1, Front Office Manager at Angaga Island Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your complements and looking forward welcoming you back to Angaga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    158
    27
    7
    11
See reviews for
55
279
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

We had a wonderful week at Angaga. Went on a package with Thomsons and upgraded the flight to premium. No delays either way. Food was better the BA WT+ and cabin crew at least as good. Smooth transfer at Male and great seaplane leg with one prior stop at Vilamendhoo. No fuss on arrival, just a quick drink, handout about the AI package and off to our beach bungalow.

We chose Angaga for the snorkelling. It was fantastic. We saw different things every day including numerous wrasses, damselfish, parrotfish, various rays, reef sharks and on the final day, the turtle on a newish reef area right outside our room. I enjoyed it more than Angsana as the water was mainly calm, even on the outside of the reef. That may have been just lucky, or because we were 7 weeks later this year. There are some areas of damage, but hopefully these will slowly build and recover.

I don't dive but OH does and was very happy. Diving is big on Angaga and was safe, well organised (German run) and interesting. We have great photos of passing mantas and the guides were good at spotting little things such as nudibranches, ghost pipefish and flatworm.

Food was all buffet style. Good bits: grilled fish (and meat), salads, curries, fresh fruit. Not so good: bread, cakes, desserts. The barbecue on the beach one night was enjoyable for a change. Being on AI, we tried lots of cocktails, mainly in the sundown bar before dinner. House wine was fine. Not sure if the economics of the AI upgrade were worth it but mentally it made for a relaxing holiday and we did do the included snorkel trip to Pineapple Island one afternoon. Coral there was amazing.

Our room was fine. We had beautiful sunsets to watch every evening. Everyone has their own numbered sunlounger and you can move it to sun, shade or the beach as you wish. There are lines and pegs for washing/drying. Beach towels replaced every evening.

What I liked most about the island (apart from the snorkelling) was the peace. There was a band one evening and that was it for nightlife. Long may it stay this way. People chatted a bit, but not loudly. There was no canned music and everyone used headphones. Mercifully there was only one child, aged about 4, when we were there although a family with teenagers arrived just before we left. At a guess, 75% of the guests were German, 10% each British and Japanese and the remainder other European. Most were couples but there were some singles and friends too.

One day I hope we will return. In the meantime, go if you are content with reading, snorkelling/diving, and fresh food. Don't go if you will disturb the peace or rate five star dining above the enjoyment of a beautiful island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Deiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

This was our 8th trip to the Maldives and our 7th resort. We go to the Maldives for the relaxing environment and the reef.

The best thing about the island was the reef, you could get into the sea nearly anywhere and snorkel all the way around the island back to where you started. The reef is very colourful and varied.

The island is well looked after. We stayed in a water villa, if we were to return our choice here would be a beech bungalow, they were all well placed for the beech whereas the water villa was quite windy and lost the sun after about 1pm. The water villas are a little tired but ok. The air-con was not so good and the shower definitely had a drainage problem but other than that the room was exactly as it should be, clean, spacious and somewhere to sleep.

The food was ok but not as good as we have had elsewhere. It was a bit repetitive, although the choice was large. A lot of the food was fried and the salads were not very adventurous.

As always the staff were very hard working, our room was kept spotless, and our waiter was very attentive.

Wi Fi worked ok in the bar and reception, and they have a computer you can use and pay for internet which was fine.

It was a really nice island, we don’t normally go back to the same island since there are so many to choose from, but I would recommend this one if you like snorkelling and swimming.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank holidaymakery2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had a week in January at Angaga - it was exactly what we wanted.

We've also been to Komandoo, Vilamendhoo, Ranvelhi and Royal Island - we think Angaga has the best reef. It was windy the week we were there so the water was choppy on the outside of the reef so occasionally we snorkelled on the beach side of the reef where it was more sheltered where the sealife and coral is still absolutely amazing. Several times we saw white tip reef sharks early morning before breakfast - outside edge of the reef between the long jetty and the boat entrance. On one occasion there were 4 together - well over a metre long. Be aware of the currents because there aren't many gaps through the reef (unlike some other islands we've been to) Also saw octopus (on inside of reef, edge of the lagoon) eagle ray, other rays, turtles, resident porcupine ray (by flat rocks on beach in the lagoon) and of course millions of fish.

Food was very good - wide selection. We thought the drinks in the main bar were better than the sunset bar - the measures were more generous. We couldn't taste the gin in the G&Ts or the rum in the pinacoladas at the sunset bar!

Room was lovely - 108 which is on the eastern side where there was a good breeze so cooler than the lagoon side. Lost the sun on our beach about 4pm but no problem to take a towel round to the sunny side and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maggiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Chose Angaga after reading that it has one of the best house reefs.

This was our third trip to the Maldives - previously stayed on Kuramathi

Checked out options to get to Angaga and found a Thompson package. It's a shame they charge extra for seat reservations, drinks and films - but everything else was fine - no delays.

Our original holiday was booked for 2nd Dec - but was cancelled on the day due to snow at Gatwick - Thompson handled that well - though of course it was very disappointing at the time - but we rebooked easily enough.

We stayed in a water bungalow. we slightly missed having the sand and plants so close as with a beach bungalow - but it was fantastic to step off the balcony every morning for pre breakfast swim then backup the steps straight into the shower.

We decided to try the half board option - which I think was £250pp cheaper than AI (or $50pp per day when on the island - you can just upgrade for a few days if you want to) We'd done AI before - it's great to be able to try all the cocktails and not worry about the cost - but the downside for me shows up on the scales when I get home!

So this time HB - we had a good breakfast - usually skipped lunch - then 2 or 3 beers in the sunset bar before dinner - and a few in the beach bar too. The bill was $250 for both of us for the week - so we were quids in and no extra weight to get rid of afterwards!

Snorkelling was very good - lots of different fish and the coral is beautiful.
At low tide the water is too shallow to swim over some of the coral close to the island - but the coral also extends out a long way out from the sunset bar where the water bungalows are.

Food was very good - there was always a good selection of dishes - Maldivian fish dishes plus beef,lamb and chicken dishes - salads - fanastic sweets. Friendy service.

We were among a few english couples - I would say most of the guests are German but there were a mixture of other nationalities too.

Angaga is a lovely little island with a real Maldivian feel to it - I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet island especially if snorkeling is one of your priorities.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thamespath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

It was our second time on Maldives and we wanted something like the one we've been before, but this was much nicer then we expected! Beautiful white coral beach almost all around, house reef really beautiful. Big variety of fishes and corals, you can spot something new every day. Coconuts give a nice shed, but be careful not to lay just beneath, since the nuts could fall down on you.
Food as may said is of big variety, every day something special, but we also thought that there is a room for improvement there. I gained 2 kg, so it wasn't that bad.lol
Everything else beautiful, cozy, calm, clean, peacful, romantic. We loved it and are thinking to come again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The2ofus112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

Arrived in male airport had a lovely flight first choice, very quick through customs took straight to angaga rep told to place luggage with sea plane company,never saw cases till we got to the island.
Went to sea plane terminal fast and quick, had time to wash and brush up,then put on our sea plane to angaga island, fab flight take video camera with you,breath taking.
Landed at island 30 minuite flight met by lad with hot towels and cool drink.

Stayed in beach bungalow out of this world own varanda with swing and day bed and two sun beds sand like powder ,sea clear and warm house reef very good,
snorkling excellent seen moray eels loads of fish white tip sharks, turtles

Food was excellant sevice was great xmas eve gala dinner was outstanding and
evening entertainment was brilliant well done all staff.
Went diving had to finish of my padi diving 3& 4 level thank you Giti for been so good a instructor, when we got of the reef and dropped into the unknown well words lost me
breath taking and wonderfull.

To some up on this island unspoilt total robinson cruiso no golf buggys here just a desert island no frills FAB FAB FAB.
Also have to say we saw 4 or 5 people a day around the island, the island holds about 100 guests went to dinner at night every body was there then,
where everybody went in the day who knows FAB XX

Evening sunset around 6 pm a must in the sunset bar we will be going again for xmas
carnt wait.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186258Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angaga Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angaga Island Resort

Property: Angaga Island Resort
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Angaga Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angaga Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Angaga Island Resort & Spa is located in the South Ari Atoll and is surrounded by a wealth of natural beauty along with crystal clear waters and a white sandy beach. The island is approximately 45,000 square metres and is superb for snorkeling and diving with the house reef just 7-8 metres from the beach featuring live coral and beautiful marine life. This is a great island for those holidaymakers seeking peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angaga Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angaga Island Hotel Angaga Island
Hotel Angaga Island
Angaga Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing