We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
88
83
37
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
83
37
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla costierataxi drivernext doornice hotelair conpublic transportcentral naplespizzaevening mealthe buspiazza garibaldilast minuterestaurants in the areacroissantsbreadremote locationwonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 236 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2018

The hotel is clean and very friendly with a good continental breakfast selection. It is a little out of the way but approx. 500-600m to the lidos on the beach where you pay for sunbeds and parasols.
We paid the 5 euros each (our 13 year old was free) for the use of the hotel pool and sun terrace (sun beds and parasol) for the days we weren't visiting Pompeii or vesuvious or naples. We pretty much had the pool to ourselves and it was wonderfully refreshing and so clean.
The room was more than adequate for the 4 of us.
It is a little isolated, but Giovanni the tax driver is a god send and he collected us from the airport when we arrived as it was a late flight at around 75 euros. He also took us to Licola train station for 15 euros so we could use the train to get into naples. Licola station is a little quirky and the ticket machine and office were never open or working, if this is the case, take a photo of the closed sign (bigliettera chiusa) and the sign on the ticket machine (guasta) and board the train to Montesanto. At Montesanto we exited the train station and turned left and left again to Piazza Oliviera to the Metro station. It was 1 euro 30 to get the train from here to Piazza Garibaldi in central Naples where you can catch the circumvesuviano train to pompei and sorrento etc or just to shop. The platform for Garibaldi is not the first one you come to, walk to the end of the tunnel and either right or left onto platform 2 and catch the train (they all stopped at the Garibaldi station so far as I am aware) make sure you validate your ticket in the green machines before heading down to the platform.
At Garibaldi follow the signs to the circumvesuviana train line they have their own ticketing office, tickets to pompei are 2 euros 80 each and are validated when you pass through the barrier to the circumvesuviana line. You want platform 3 and the train to sorrento.
We also took the taxi to Licola on our return to the airport to come home, getting to Garibaldi as above and coming out of the Garibaldi station opposite Burger King getting the Alibus 5 euros each to the airport, it will say aeropuerto on the front and drops you near the departures at Naples airport.
2 good local restaurants were Tour Napoli a Pizzeria (turn left out of the hotel and left again at the roundabout and keep walking) and La Laconda a gorgeous aircon restaurant that doesnt look like a restaurant typically from the outside and reasonably priced, air con and super friendly staff)
Over the road from the hotel is a little shop and fruit market. if you turn right out of the hotel and a couple of hundred yards up the road on the left is a mini market where you can buy food and toiletries etc.
I marked a 3 on location but it depends on what you want to do and how much you know before you go in terms of local transport.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisalaw75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Dear Lisalaw75

It was spectacular to detail all the thanks so much, so you can give details to
other customers who want to stay at the Costiera Hotel in Varcaturo
Thank you very much
A.Saetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group tour in the fourth week of June 2018.

Location: It's a half hour drive from the Naples Port and we had our tour bus so I can't comment on the proximity of any public transport.

Premises: Not much of a view from our room—the houses opposite. Otherwise, simple and clean.

Rooms: medium sized. Beds-bedding and towels clean and comfortable. Free basic toiletries provided.

Meals: good but not excellent. The bread was hard. Probably, the usual kind eaten here, because some other places also had that bread. Unfortunately no toaster was provided but the coffee was great.

Service: Smiley and helpful. Most of them understand English. Only problem was they didn't have a bellboy so it may be inconvenient for elderly to haul their bags from the parking lot into their rooms. But I believe that is true of most hotels in Europe.

Miscellaneous: Right opposite the hotel is a big fruit and vegetable market that offers excellent, reasonably priced fare. The cherries were delicious!

Summary: Nice, clean budget hotel. But somewhat far from the city centre and port.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank phkodial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Dear phkodial

Thanks you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. Bespoke boutique hotel. Delightful staff who speak English very well and are incredibly helpful. Very very clean and quite. Continental breakfast included and generous and varied selection. Location is remote so transport is a must! Plenty of restaurants in the area and the hotel also offered dinner. Only suggestion would be to open the pool area for longer- 9-6 only.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank jammybolger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear jammybolger
We are looking forward to this review
Thanks so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly- BUT I wouldn't say that it was worth 4*s. There was no tea & coffee facilities in the room and no balcony furniture. We ended up with 2 tatty dining chairs and used the bathroom stool as a table.
The area is very run down with nothing to do except to go the beach, so much so that we didn't feel safe in the day or evening. No buses, but thanks to Giovanni - our taxi driver, with him we wouldn't have been able to get anywhere. I wouldn't recommend hiring a car either, the Italians are mad when driving. Only a handful of restaurants, 1 which closed while we were there for their holiday. 1 shop where the staff definitely did not like the English, they were very rude. The hotel shut the pool half way through our holiday because of 3 thunderstorms and they said the weather had changed - It hadn't. In all honesty the hotel is completely in the wrong location. To top it all on out last evening we noticed 2 hookers just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Susi K
Thank you for your review but regarding the pool, it is not closed but it was closed due to bad weather for two three days, restaurant side of the hotel was closed for holidays but of course if you asked our guests at the reception we had our restaurant is always open.
For the shops in front of the property we can not replicate, but buses on the area pass every 20/25 minutes quietly. For the ladies having several bus stops on the various lanes in the back, and I'm defective to the reconnaissance structures of the area you will have traded some nice girl on the bus stop, for another. I'm just weird ... but we will care to avoid in case we contact the proper organs of the state.
Thank you though for staying at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Stayed at La Costiera with my partner for a few days, and was very impressed with how friendly and welcoming the staff were. They were always happy to help, giving us advice on how to get to Napoli and Pompei, and making us feel welcome. Clean rooms and nice breakfast well. A huge thanks to Giovanni, the taxi driver recommended by the hotel, who drove us around, giving us lots of helpful tips, suggestions and advice.

The only downfall (which is not related to the hotel) was the rather remote location, with no public transport links - we had to rely on taxi services most of the time. Be careful when getting a taxi from the airport, as we ended up paying 90 euros on the way there because we just jumped in a taxi instead of booking ahead. Finally, it's a lovely place for a sunny holiday, but there's not much to do if the weather is bad.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Ana G
Thank you so much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews