We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss in beautiful Australian bush!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melawondi Spring Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Imbil B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Pure bliss in beautiful Australian bush!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had an amazing stay at melawondi! The serenity and privacy is amazing. Tanya, Toni and Emma are amazing hosts, complete perfection of service whilst respecting upmost privacy. The platter were so yummy. Also great value for money. We will be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in the smaller cabin which was fantastic. But the bigger cabin looked ever better! Both com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeesC4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you both so much for your wonderful review for your stay in the Spring View Cabin. We appreciate your valuable feedback & very happy you enjoyed your stay in tranquil surroundings whilst enjoying the total serenity & privacy. Good to also here you enjoyed the platter on arrival. We look forward to your return one day soon! Perhaps the Luxury Studio next time. Take care ~ Tanya, Tony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
62
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband booked a weekend here for us as a surprise birthday retreat. This place is just amazing and perfectly set out. Tanya and Tony are the perfect hosts and the home cooked food is TO DIE FOR! The hideaway house is certainly away from it all and so beautifully decorated with every possible thing thought of. Slept the best we have for ages with only the visiting Kangaroos and the sweet sound of crickets and birds to remind us that this is what life should be like! Loved everything about it and did not want to leave. Perfect place, perfect hosts, perfect everything. Would certainly recommend if you are looking for a relaxing getaway. My only wish is that I could cook like Tanya....thanks heaps guys.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Tuscany7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you sooooo much for the WONDERFUL review! It was lovely to meet you both :) We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your surprise birthday treat and everything was perfect for you! Thank you to for your lovely comments of the home cooked food which is always prepared with love to ensure our guests enjoy the great local produce during their stay! The surroundings here are perfect to just getaway & relax from our busy lifestyles!! We hope to catch up with you both again soon! Take care. Cheers ~ Tanya, Tony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Melawondi was recommended to me by a friend, and it did not disappoint. From the moment my wife and I arrived, we were welcomed by Tanya, who had placed a home made casserole in the oven ready for our dinner along with local vegetables, and sticky date pudding with Kenilworth cream and ice cream. We made our way to the luxury studio at the rear of the property, and instantly felt relaxed. The open plan room had everything we needed, and was well appointed. Everything was clean. The fridge was loaded with bacon and eggs for the entire weekend(also local), and each morning we were supplied with freshly baked loaf of bread, fresh fruit, yoghurt, tomatoes, freshly squeezed orange juice and the newspaper of our choice. We have been married for nearly 20 years and I can't believe how much we enjoyed each others company. THINGS we LIKED the most: large deck with BBQ and day bed; champagne and chocolates on arrival; great food and plenty of it; Bio-fuel fire place; walkthrough double shower; double spa bath; complete privacy. THINGS we didn't like: going home. We would highly recommend Melawondi to couples who want to "re-connect" or just spend quality time together. We are searching for a time when we can book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayandKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
WOW! Thank you both for your lovely review! It is great to hear you enjoyed that special time to "re-connect" together and Melawondi Spring Retreat definately provides the perfect spot for privacy & total seclusion. Also, very happy that you enjoyed the wonderful local produce we provide with our meals. We certainly are lucky to have great local produce in our local area. We look forward to catching up with you both again soon! Cheers ~ Tanya, Tony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place is seriously AMAZING! We can't count how many times we said "this is amazing"! From the moment we turned into the driveway we felt relaxed and at home. Tanya (or Tony if you'll believe him) is an incredible cook and her Anzac biscuits and casserole were the best we've had! We were there for Niges birthday weekend and it was not only the best birthday but the best weekend ever. We can't stop telling people about this place and are already planning a trip back!
Thanks to Tanya, Tony and Emma! Wonderful place and wonderful people!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you both for the "AMAZING" review!! It was lovely to meet you both & we are so glad you enjoyed your weekend away. Thanks also for the wonderful feedback regarding the meals. Tanya does love to cook using the best local produce available! Thanks also for recommending to others of our special retreat! We hope to also spoil your friends & family one day soon! Look forward to catching up with you both again soon! Cheers ~ Tanya, Tony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thank you Tony, Tanya and Emma for a wonderful wedding anniversary at Melawondi Spring Retreat. We only spent only a night there but felt totally relaxed and rejuvenated after the experience. The studio has all the amenities that we needed and more with its fully equipped kitchen, iPhone dock, coffee machine, large bath spa, rain showers, binoculars for bird watching, comfortable bed, BBQ, daybed outside deck, the list goes on. Our hosts were so thoughtful and welcomed us with chocolates, sparkling wine, cheese platter and cake and the breakfast hamper was generous with local produce. We had total peace and privacy in the beautiful surroundings and the quiet area makes it an ideal place to stargaze at night. We highly recommend this luxury accommodation for couples seeking a romantic and relaxing break. Thank you again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snails1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review! We appreciate your valuable feedback & are very happy you enjoyed the experience for your wedding anniversary & left totally relaxed & rejuvenated! We love spoiling our guests when they stay at Melawondi & also love to provide the fantastic local produce we have available in the Mary Valley country. We look forward to catching up with you both again soon! Thanks again ~ Tanya, Tony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Melawondi was not what we expected, it delivered far more! While photos online looked spectacular, they did not do our gorgeous studio enough justice. Tanya, Tony and Emma were lovely, welcoming hosts and from the moment we entered the property, the attention to detail was something else. From the welcome chocolates, champagne and platter, pre-organised dinner of local produce (including lettuce for our salad from Tanya's garden) and delicious, generous breakfast to the well appointed studio - all aspects of our stay was made memorable. It really shows there has been so much thought and love, poured in to Melawondi. I highly recommend this little bit of luxury to couples who want to escape, relax and absorb all that Melawondi has to offer. You won't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We love to hear feedback from our guest’s and love to read their response after staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to write honest comments about your special time away at Melawondi Spring Retreat and we appreciate the detail that has been included in your review. We offer a unique experience and love to see our guests leave, although most don’t want to leave, feeling relaxed and recharged after your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and recommending our little piece of paradise. Thank you again for your second visit here soon! Look forward to catching up with you both again then ~ Tanya, Tony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This kind of accommodation you don't find everyday. We loved our experience at Melawondi, from the moment we stepped inside the beautiful cabin we felt instantly relaxed, thoroughly enjoying all the luxuries the cabin had to offer. I would definitely return and will highly recommend to anyone wanting to escape their busy lives. Well done to Tania & Tony who have created a magical escape.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melawondi, Owner at Melawondi Spring Retreat, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review :) We are very happy you were able to relax & enjoy what our retreat offers our guests. Also, a big thank you for recommending us to others!! We look forward to your return again one day soon ~ Take care! Tanya, Tony & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imbil
21.8 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
425 reviews
24.8 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
22.5 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Amamoor Lodge
Amamoor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Amamoor
118 reviews
23.5 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
533 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amamoor Homestead
Amamoor Homestead
#2 of 2 in Amamoor
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melawondi Spring Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melawondi Spring Retreat

Property: Melawondi Spring Retreat
Address: 149 Melawondi Rd, Imbil, Queensland 4570, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Imbil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Imbil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melawondi Spring Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melawondi Spring Retreat's provides the perfect setting for two types of accommodation choices - "Luxury Studio" and the budget style "Spring View Cabin" . Both types of accommodation are nestled on 30 acres of natural bushland with spectacular views situated in the Mary Valley less than two hours from Brisbane. From the moment you arrive at Melawondi Spring Retreat, you will feel a sense of serenity, tranquility and total seclusion within a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melawondi Spring Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing