We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and speedy service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lifeboat

The Lifeboat
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in East Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lifeboat stands proudly over East Cowes Marina, which is a huge favourite of visiting yachtsmen in the summer, but also a family-friendly home-from-home for locals too. In the summer, our large outside decking area offers one of the best riverside dining experiences on the Island. For many visitors to the Isle of Wight, East Cowes will be their first port of call, since the Red Funnel car ferry docks here, delivering its passengers from Southampton straight into the town centre. East Cowes is the home of Osborne House and was once a maritime industrial town and former home of British Hovercraft. One of the most arresting landmarks many people will see, as they approach from the ferry, is the vast Union Jack painted onto the shore side doors of the old hovercraft factory. Now, East Cowes is a small but busy town with a cluster of popular shops and a stunning marina development.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value and speedy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

As sailors we are constantly watching the tide. Quick service is important for lunches and this pub does not disappoint. Excellent lunches all round today served with a smile. The wine however is expensive for the island! Nice views and atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    127
    42
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food reasonably priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great view of the river from the deck, great food reasonable priced. Take the Sally river taxi from Cowes which will drop you at the pontoon. Busy with families.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Follow the signs off the main road and you wil wonder where you are going! Through various styles of houses and finishing up through an estate you find the huge Lifeboat Station and the Lifeboat Pub on the left. We came here on our last night on the IOW and wished we had discovered it before as we only needed a snack (following a superb lunch at another hostillery).
The setting is interesting for non boaties such as us, including walking round to see the Inshore Lifeboats. Word of warning-dont let the Grand children wander down to the pontoon unaccompanied-there are gaps in the railing straight down to the briny below, and no signs to tell you this..good job Lifeboat staion is nearby!
Anyway back to the review... House white -delicious, crab starter -hot and spicy, and garlic prawns the same... there the food review must end as just a snack for us but all the dishes coming out of the kitchen looked great. The bar staff and the waiting staff were freindly and efficient.
The pub looks great to look at and is very smart inside.
We sat outside fro the view and the tables are nicely spaced so you dont feel hemmed in. Inside it is noisyish due to the fact that every seemed to be having a great time and as we left a band was just setting up ... I'm sure if I was 20 years younger I would have stayed and had a thouraghly good time. Next time we are on the IOW definetly coming back for a big lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent food and very reasonably priced. Views were to die for and the beer was refreshingly cold. Service was second to none

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lego1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addlestone
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“OK but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The best thing about the Lifeboat is the view. There is a nice outside seating area and plenty of room inside as well. The menu is resonable although for pub food maybe a little on the pricey side. Quality of the food is good and the portions are very reasonable. The staff were very polite and helpful. I'm not sure I'd bother eating here again - not because it wasn't nice, just because there are lots of other places that are just as good or better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AddlestoneTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lifeboat also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Whippingham, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Lifeboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing