We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Family Site!!”
Review of Waverley Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Cowes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waverley Park
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Site!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned from a fortnight stay at Waverley Park – what a fantastic site! It’s our second time here and we’ve already booked for 2013 (just like we did last year on our first visit)

Everyone is so friendly, helpful and welcoming. We arrived a little later on our first day this year – but on our last visit, the guys that look after the pitches and grounds even took our caravan and sited it for us so we didn’t have to bother after a long journey!

There is a water supply, electricity connection and your own drainage point to your pitch side, which in the main is a hard standing (gravel) with grass for awnings and is always well maintained. The shower block is always clean and we have never had any issues with waiting for showers etc, which are always nice and hot! You also have the pot washing are etc. but we don’t use it although it was always occupied so must be ok and also looks clean and well kept.

The Waverley Inn is on site which has a bar, games room including pool, table tennis and video games. There are different activities in the bar area every evening of the week – something for everyone to enjoy and they also serve good food too – including breakfasts from 9am – 11am. Children are always made welcome by the staff and nothing is too much trouble.

In the gardens there is a Children’s play area and an outdoor swimming pool with a paddling / shallow pool and a slide – great fun.

At Waverley Park you are walking distance to East Cowes and Cowes via the chain ferry (free for foot passengers and cycles / £2 for cars).

It is also a very short drive from the Red Funnel terminal - less than 5 minutes!

We found the park an excellent base to discover the rest of this beautiful island, most of which is easily within a 30 - 40 minute drive..

Thanks for a great stay and looking forward to coming back next year already – well done everyone at Waverley Park!!

Room Tip: All touring pitches have a great view of Cowes and the Solent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    45
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
115
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The place itself is nice quite and wonderful for the kids. We always stay within the caravans and love them to bits, they are big clean and cosy. They views from the site are wonderful, in the club house plenty of good ale, and food, and a list of cruse liners leaving Southampton, so you can watch them go!

The owners and his son, are friendly always glad to have you stay with you, and sad to see you go,.

Top marks from me, who have stayed in the summer and winter with them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysts_of_tyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We recently stayed at The Waverley. The park is well kept and the swimming pool is excellant for children. It is approximately 4'-4'6" deep, so kids cannot get out of their depth. It would have been nice if a member of staff had just patroled now and again to check that it was running smoothly. It just needed a couple of teenagers jumping in, and it ruined it for everbody. But in saying that it is a good clean site.

Now we come to our accomodation. Most reviewers stayed in caravans. We stayed in the flats in the main building. Never again! At about 8.30am-9am they empted the bins (under our bedroom window) every morning! Then about 9-9.30 they opend the workshop (under our flat), then they started the grass cutters up at the back! So no peace in the morning! Then at night we had the clubhouse going on to about 1ish at the front of the flat! So no peace at night either. On our last evening, with two children in bed at 10pm, the disco went on till 1.30pm with people chatting and laughing outside our bedroom till 2.30am! I just wanted to get home to sleep!!! This is a great site, but don't hire the flats unless you can sleep like the dead!

The flat was big and roomy, bit dated. And the Tv really could have been a bit bigger (about a 19"). the staff seemed to either be cutting grass all day or if not, mending the grass cutters. how about a bit of flat maintanence? The shower tray was blocked and only empted very slowly. All the handles on the doors squeaked (obviously new, which is great but they needed oiled). Not much thought given to the practicalities in the bedroom layouts. No where was an electrical socket near a mirror (us ladies need this!) Not one room had a bedside table next to the bed. The foldown bed in the hall was badly in need of a new mattress. Very short on pillowcases. (5 guests and only 4 pillowcases, what if you had two pillows each?) But an abundance of sheets??? But I do appriciate the fact that no towels, no washing up liqued etc are supplied, they never are in self catering apartments. BUT there could have been one loo roll.

This site is great if you stay in the caravans...or you are deaf!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main house....reant a caravan...it's much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowsponges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at Waverley and we have had a ball.lovely site and staff are great.waverley is a fun loving site,plenty to do in the club house for children and adults alike. The site is clean and tidy. My children played out in the park and in the games room and they were safe. Some children were unsupervised in the pool due to parents not following the rules the signs are there in black and white I observed on two occasions staff telling the kiddies that they need supervising. We love Waverley and rebooked for next year 3 pitches booked for 3 families. We could not of asked for a better holiday. Many thanks to the owners and staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jaimi coffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you use the Caravan Club as a benchmark, then Waverley Park is well below standard. The toilets and showers are tired and dirty. The pitches have good views of the sailing and it it is a shortish walk into West Cowes via the free chain ferry. However if the tide is out and the wind is in the wrong direction the smell of rotten sea weed is unpleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windsurfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waverley-park, Owner at Waverley Park, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
HI, I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Your stay was during Cowes Week (the busiest time of the year) when the park is running at it's limit and I'm sorry we didn't keep the shower block as clean as you would expect. We will endeavour to clean it more frequently in the future, thank you for your comment.

As regards comparing us to the Caravan Club, we have been out and inspected their facilities and believe ours to be of a higher specification. Their flooring is tiled whereas ours is a one piece sealed plastic floor (altro flooring) which is non slip, more hygienic (no grout gaps) and warmer under foot.

We have now fully rebuilt our secondary loo block over the 2011/12 winter, again to a very high standard, exceeding modern building regulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from holiday at Waverley Park and i must say what an absolutley beautiful place, very friendly staff and i must say again the park is beautifully kept naturally and not commercial like most places, will be again 100% fact, and as for the folks who complain you must have only stayed at the Ritz before because our caravan was spotless stop nit picking....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooseywestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just had a week here and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome, caravan was spotless as was the bedding (complain if there dirty!) Site seemed nicely kept and those views are brilliant, our little one loved watching the shins going past.
We were in the club house every night, its great! The prices are good, cheaper than anywhere else we found anyway. I'm very picky about food but I found it hard to find fault. The first night it seemed quite busy and when we ordered we were told it might be an hours wait, not too impressed after a long drive with two hungry kids. After about 35 mins out comes our food, all served together and it was get, fed they whole family with a round of drinks for about £25 or so.
Entertainment was good, proper hi de hi stuff. I won the skittles! Never enjoyed karaoke before but I got up and sang, happy hour may have had something to do with it!
I was only going to write a line but Hey, thanks for a brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triumphspitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Cowes
1.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
0.6 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
12.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
North House
North House
#3 of 5 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Park

Property: Waverley Park
Address: 51 Old Road, East Cowes PO32 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > East Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in East Cowes
Hotel Class:4 star — Waverley Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waverley Park is a small family run site with stunning views over the Solent and Cowes harbour. You can choose from our modern comfortable static caravans, bring your own tourer, motorhome or tent or stay in one of our self-contained flats. During the summer months we have a pub and restaurant on site serving a good selection of home cooked meals, real ale and entertainment nightly in high season. The views from the bar terrace are among the best on the Island. We have recently installed super fast broadband that can be accessed anywhere on site for free. Combine this with a heated pool, modern high quality shower facilities and your sure of a great base for exploring the Isle of Wight, the jewel in England's crown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waverley Park Hotel Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing