We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my winter stay at waverly”
Review of Waverley Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waverley Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I have stayed here through the winter months when i booked i wanted to put an awning up on my tourer van when i turned up it was a different attitude i paid £420 a month so i wouldnt say that was good value for money considering there are no facilitys only the toilets and washing machine the man that owns it is really nice but his wife really doesnt know how to speak to people properly with an attitude if you dont like it go.on their booking forms they charge for dogs but there isnt even a dog bin insight. so why are they charging for dogs. The electric hook ups are terrible as they are only 10 amps so they keep blowing everything so if you have an electric kettle to boil it you have to turn everything else off after the few weeks i had here i would never go back

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 254 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We travelled around the Isle of Wight for a week in a VW campervan staying in a different site each night. This was the least expensive and by far the best. The staff were super friendly and the facilities fantastic with a more friendly feel than the sites owned by the big companies. We had a lovely walk out from the site into Cowes going across on the floating bridge which the kids loved. Then back to the site for a dip in the great heated outdoor pool (The kids loved the slide). Afterwards a nice hot shower in the very clean facilities and then for the evening we spent a couple of hours in the "clubhouse" which was great. My husband won the bingo! There was some Karaoke on and the atmosphere was great. We were a little peckish late on so ordered some food in the bar. It was gorgeous !! Minted lamb shanks, we ordered one to share but soon wished we had one each. This site gets everything right. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Eleven out of Ten from me!!

Room Tip: We had a Marked pitch area for a campervan with fantastic views of the big cruiseliners coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KWillibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My family are from East Cowes and we've always known of the Waverely. It wasn't until moving away and deciding on the Waverley as a base for family visits that we have discovered just how great this place is. I can't sing its praises enough. We parked up our van at the bottom of the field which was brilliant. Plenty of play space for the children. The pool was great, pleasantly warm. The bar/ clubhouse is ideal especially with the wonderful views out across Cowes and the Solent. The short walk to the seafront and relatively new play area was an added bonus too.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We were looking for somewhere reasonably priced to base ourselves for a few days while we toured the island. It didn't have to be anything spectacular - just somewhere for a bite to eat and drink in the evenings and somewhere to get out heads down. We got much more than we expected!

Waverley Park is a family run venture and a nicer, more welcoming and helpful family you couldn't wish to meet. Our caravan was clean and spacious - again, way beyond our expectations. There were one or two niggly faults when we arrived, for example, a smoke alarm in the caravan was 'bleeping', but this was attended to on the spot - a truly excellent service.

The family organise much of the evening entertainment themselves and it's great fun for all ages. We really enjoyed it - it was the perfect way to end the day. The restaurant/bar is fantastic and reasonably priced. The food is lovely - compliments to the chef!

We're not 'campers', but we noticed that the facilites for those preferring a tent are superb. There are clean, modern shower and WC blocks, a spacious 'washing up' room and excellent laundry facilities.

I am amazed that there are two very negative reviews on here for Waverley Park. I can't in a million years imagine the hosts behaving in the manner that has been suggested and can only assume that there are second sides to these stories that we have not been given. Because our experience of the park and it's hosts was perfection from start to finish and I really hope we can afford to return next year and that they have availability to accomodate us again!

***** In every department. No question! But please don't go there the last week in August 2012. Well, not all of you anyway. Save one for us! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Another fabulous holiday at Waverley Park. Been so many times have lost count of the years.
Toilets are clean with plenty of hot water. Food was very good this year & great value for money. Bar staff always smileing ( very unusual in bars) as were all the staff. Entertainment is for all ages & good fun. Cant falt the site at all.
Will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cowesmafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just came back from 4 nights camping with my 4 children had a great stay as the weather changed from being rainy to very hot as we arrived.Lovely views of the solent ,ships and yachts.It was a shame that the toilets were about half a mile from where our pitch was and the club house wasn't open during the day.Showers were clean and entertainment was a little dull but bingo was the best,children could even play. Its a shame its only on one night of the week. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return.We would advise people to book the ferry through the holiday place as it was cheaper.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank dean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was our 13 th visit to Waverley Park and as ever was brilliant. Peter and Susan are so friendly and welcoming. The site has lovely views across the Solent and magnificent sunsets. The caravan was spotlessly clean as ever. It's Luke our second home and many we have spoken to come back year after year which speaks for itself. Roll on July 2012 when we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrist53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Cowes
8.8 mi away
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
7.8 mi away
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
10.2 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Prince of Wales Pub
Prince of Wales Pub
#2 of 2 in East Cowes
76 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Park

Address: 51 Old Road, East Cowes PO32 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > East Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in East Cowes
Hotel Class:4 star — Waverley Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waverley Park is a small family run site with stunning views over the Solent and Cowes harbour. You can choose from our modern comfortable static caravans, bring your own tourer, motorhome or tent or stay in one of our self-contained flats. During the summer months we have a pub and restaurant on site serving a good selection of home cooked meals, real ale and entertainment nightly in high season. The views from the bar terrace are among the best on the Island. We have recently installed super fast broadband that can be accessed anywhere on site for free. Combine this with a heated pool, modern high quality shower facilities and your sure of a great base for exploring the Isle of Wight, the jewel in England's crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waverley Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Park Hotel Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing