We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and friendly service ”

Scheck’s Fischerstuberl
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rottau
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

I speak about 10 words of German, so I was a little worried about going to a small town restaurant. Especially when the first waitress I spoke with did not speak any English. But a young waiter heard me speaking English and came over to help me out.

He recommended a combination plate of fresh, local lake trout and brook trout cooked with vinegar. I also wanted to try the seafood soup which I had read was very good. This, along with a couple of dark beers was my dinner. The trout was perfectly cooked and delicious. The soup was good, but I thought it was a little bland. The beer was, as expected, excellent. For dessert, I had 'Vanilla Special", vanilla ice cream with pumpkin seeds and pumpkin seed oil. The pumpkin seed oil is dark and looks like chocolate sauce, but has a nutty flavor. It was delicious.

I heartily recommend this place.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 47 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Lovely chalet style building which is renowned for its fish restaurant. However we booked rooms here on a bed and breakfast basis and were delighted by our stay. The hosts are very welcoming and we and our children loved the home from home atmosphere. The rooms were a good size, clean and well equipped with lovely views over the hills and the little village of Rottau. Breakfast was very generous with a good choice of fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and on your table a big basket of rolls and large platter of cheese, ham and salami. If you choose to have dinner here be sure to go in early as it fills up quickly. We did not choose to eat their specialty fish dishes but we can recommend the schnitzel! If you decide to stay make sure you stroll into the village and see the lovely flowers in all the window boxes, the pretty church and traditional cow sheds. It's a little gem!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Plutopair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefS1376, Inhaber at Scheck’s Fischerstuberl, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scheck’s Fischerstuberl also viewed

Prien am Chiemsee, Upper Bavaria
Grassau, Upper Bavaria
 
Bernau am Chiemsee, Upper Bavaria
Marquartstein, Upper Bavaria
 
Bernau am Chiemsee, Upper Bavaria
Prien am Chiemsee, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Scheck’s Fischerstuberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing