We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay, but a little flexibility in service could have been in place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wangels
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose to travel from Denmark for a 1-night trip to Weissenhaeuser Strand. We experienced both good and bad points. Did not use all facilities, so will only comment on part.

In general our experience is that this place seriously needs to work on logistics. There are long lines and crowding everywhere. Most of these problems can be solved very easily with little efford.

Check-in: 4 really long lines and a wait of about 35 minutes++. It's not even summer yet. All guests had to get lots of info, ask questions, pay the bill etc. This is commented elsewhere, and totally not acceptable. Suggest to solve this by using self-service check-in, many parts of this check-in process can be automated.

Room: we had an apartment in ground level. It's a little dark, the apartment building looks a little old, but room is absolutely acceptable and OK. Large TV, 50+ German channels. Basic equipment but ok. Who is cooking there anyway.
Apartment building has fitness room + sauna. This was not really mentioned clearly in website, but a nice extra.

Dinner: we bought the half-board which included dinner. This turned out to be somewhat disappointing! The "Passage" is real crowded, the "buffet" had only 1 meal really and not a real interesting one. Drinks not included, and somewhat on the expensive side. And when paying, the usual answer: Sorry, no VISA under 20€ bill. WHAT ? This place LIVES from Scandinavian guests, and VISA cards are tied to almost ALL Danish cards. This is absolutely NOT acceptable to be told "sorry, go take out cash around the corner" (mind you, against 5€ bank fee) - or pay €20 and give rest as tip.
Suggest to simply allow all guests to select a meal worth €xx at any restaurant, and force all restaurants to accept all major credit cards. You live from tourists..

Swim / fun park: again, here a prime example of logistics that fail. You have to get in line to show a small cardboard card to have chips handed out, then in line to insert these chips in a gate. Could have been solved much faster with an armband with barcodes.
The dressing rooms have their own logic.. go to a small room, drop all clothes, wrap in towel, insert stuff in locker, and go to shower room. And.. 5 showers for ALL these guests ? No soap ? I wonder how many pct that actually care to shower. Once inside, it's a nice and fun place. A little on the dark side, a little like a cave. Could have used better lights over all. In places a little worn down but generally fun.
The sauna area (nude of course) is a little hidden gem. Quiet place and very relaxing. Should be advertised more!

Flexibility / Service missing: We were sold a two-day entry to the swimming area. But found that because checkout is at 10am, we had no towels. Bummer. So, asked reception to exchange the one entry to an entry in the jungle land. Nope, NO flexibility at all. Although the two tickets were the same cost. What a lack of flexibility and service. We took a walk on the beach, and used the outside playground instead, then left.

Breakfast: Absolutely recommended ! But again, logistics does not seem to be a focus point. The counters are spaced about 2 feet apart, and the people that go for bread / coffee have to pass people that go for cereals etc. A constant chaos of waiters filling counters, people with full cups and kids running around. Recommend to move a few tables for breakfast to make room for people to move around.

Wireless: I will cost you 5€ per day. Streaming is blocked. Of course wireless has to be purchased same place people ask question / check in/out, so gave up buying this after 40 minutes in line. Why is there no self-service desk to buy this ? Or option to buy online with credit card ?


In general, it's a nice place. But seems like service buildings and facilities were designed for 20% of the people that are there today. Be prepared for some serious lines and waiting times.
And the hotel really should consider looking into smart card / smart tag technology and self-service. This could make queueing much less of an issue, AND all puchases of guests could go into a single payable bill, which could of coursed be payed with visa at the checkout. (so guests did not have to face the "Sorry EC / Bargeld only" problem)

I could imagine this place being good in a snowy november day. For the summer period, I would avoid going there.

Hope for comments by staff.

Room Tip: For apartments, pay a little extra to have 2 rooms and above ground level. Make SURE to bring towel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inkjetmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Inkjetmand,

it has been very interesting reading your comments which you recently made here on Tripadvisor for our Ferien- und Freizeitpark Weissenhäuser Strand. First, of course, we would like to thank your for your stay with us.

Your suggestion about a self-service checkin had been considered before. However, after talking to many guests, we dropped this plan as it would make a vacation experience for most guests a too impersonal one. We will have to make sure that we cover the shifts with people as good as we can. But with such a large vacation resort like our Ferien- und Freizeitpark Weissenhäuser Strand, we cannot always completely avoid waiting lines.
You obviously arrived during such a peak time and we are sorry that this was not so pleasant for you.

Regarding the credit card limit, there was obviously a misunderstanding, as it is only a 10 Euro limit. As you might or might not know, we incur a charge by the credit card companies.
The cost for drinks is usually about 40% lower than on most Scandinavian markets.
You can rest assured that we constantly monitor this and if necessary, make adjustments.

Since the Freizeit Tobe Bad is also a public bath, there is no soap and shampoo. This is certainly the case in our Hotel Spa. We also chose not to use the wristband solution because of the internal and external guest situation.

We also noted your comment about the breakfast and we are actually currently in the process of planning improvements here. This will be done in 2014 .

As soon as we are technically able to handle the online checkin for our wireless internet system, we will of course make that happen.

All other comments about better advertising certain services here at our Ferien- und Freizeitpark Weissenhäuser Strand have been noted and we will, whereever possible improve this. Thank you for that.

And finally we do hope, you visit us again so that we can show you that we take all comments from our guests very seriously, and we will make sure your experience will be a great one.

Very best regards and thank you again for having taken so much time to list all your experiences

David Depenau

Managing Director

Ferien- und Freizeitpark

WEISSENHÄUSER STRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 314 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I think this was our 5' stay at this Holliday Resort, and as always a pleasure. No matter what time of the year and regardless of the weather, there are always something interesting and exiting for all ages.(3 - 68). We went there tree generations and we all enjoyed it. Everyone has his own favourite, but my advice is: Have dinner at the restaurant in Dschungelland, let the kids run back and forth from the table to the playground, this way everybody has a good experience.

Room Tip: Garden apartment near the "Badeparadis"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahr45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (two adults and a 2½ year old) stayed 3 nights leading up to Easter.
The rooms are nice, clean and spacious and contains a kitchenette with a fridge.
Nice bathroom and lot of amenities (e.g. ironing board, toasters, tea kettles, micro oven etc.)
50+ tv channels but all in German.
We bought the halfboard option, which isn't really necessary as you don't save much and you have to eat at the crowded Passat restaurant.
There's about 5 other dining places in the gallery.

The whole place is built up around the water theme park and have possibly extended the number of holiday apartments to cater for the success of the park. The effect of this is that you have to queue for 30 minutes to get in. We experienced that they closed the entrance due to maximum number of guests (around Midday).
But once you get in and get your head around how the changing rooms work, it doesn't feel crowded inside and the queues for the water slides are very reasonable.
It is a big area and the temperature is really nice even for small kids who all seems to have a really great time.

The fun and excitment that our boy had is the reason for the 4th star - otherwise I agree with the other reviewer's 3 stars.

Room Tip: It is worth paying to have a room facing the sea, which doesn't cost a lot extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0rten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Morten,
thank you so much that you took the time to comment about our Ferien- und Freizeitpark Weissenhäuser Strand. We do appreciate that very much as we are fully aware that this takes and extra effort from you. But we do need such detailed comments and tips for improvement in order for us to put priorities where they belong.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the apartment and its amenities. We also noted your comment about the TV programs. This is on our list, but we currently cannot give a final date to add any Danish (and other foreign) TV stations for technical reasons. We will place any such news on our website and other social media channels such as here on Tripadvisor, to let our customers know.
We chose our Passat restaurant to serve our half board guests, because its the most upscale one. Usually there is no significant waiting time in this one. Sorry that you experienced an exception here.

Regarding our water park, there is indeed a waiting time to consider, depending on the occupancy of the resort, which we cannot really control. And as you well noticed, we sometimes have to close temporarily in order not to increase that any further.

We, here at the Ferien- und Freizeitpark Weissenhäuser Strand are very happy that you chose to stay with us, and we do hope this will not be your last one. And of course keep helping us with your comments.

very best regards



David Depenau

Managing Director

Ferien- und Freizeitpark

WEISSENHÄUSER STRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

stayed 5 days, happy to leave.
Very outdated, looks very much like golden days was in the 80s. Room/apartment very clean
and spacious. All tvstations in German no CNN or Eurosport. No wifi..?
Don't go to the Passat breakfast restaurant, it is eur 13 for a breakfast buffet, not value for money at all.
Place is outdated but also cheap.
Staff not very friendly..!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claus0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Claus0099,

thank you very much for having stayed at our Ferien-und Freizeitpark Weissenhäuser Strand, and the time you took to rate us here on Tripadvisor. Even if its not positive for us, we do appreciate your feedback.

Our building is indeed not brand new and we certainly do not hide this fact. However, over the last couple of years we have done many things to improve the interior as well as the exterior. Currently about 50% of all our apartments have been completely refurbished. The remaining units will also be done in the next couple of years.
While doing that, we also try to combine these efforts with the exterior and the surroundings of this very large resort.
Thank you for your comment about the TV programs which you have missed. We will also make sure we include this request in our list of improvements.

Regarding the breakfast cost you have mentioned, we do feel that the value for money is very much in line with the offer since we carefully compare this with our competitors while upgrading the ingredients constantly.

We here at the Ferien-und Freizeitpark Weissenhäuser Strand, pride ourselves with the friendlyness of our staff members. Since you did not experience this in a more positive way, we sincerely apologize for this, as this is certainly not our standard.

And lastly, you also mentioned that the apartments do not offer Wifi which is correct. But this is already taken care of for our improvement program in 2013. In the meantime, all public spaces do include free Wifi for our guests.

We would love to have you as our guest again in the near future to show you that we can do better.

Thank you again

David Depenau
Geschäftsführer
Ferien- und Freizeitpark
WEISSENHÄUSER STRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed three nights at Weissenhauser strand with kids of 11,9 and 1 year old. We stayed at Am der Park, which is the optimal location in the resort, very close to the two main attractions + the sea (beautiful in the winter, possible a great attraction in summer) and the outdoor playground.Rooms generally old and not very modern, but clean and functional. The same can be said about the main attraction the waterland, which provided great fun, in particular because of the water temperature which is very warm even on a cold day in January. Having said this the boys lost interest after some time, and in particular saturday waiting times at the slides was too long. The other main attraction the Jungle land, was generally at a high level, with one climbing wall and a jungletrail challenge 6 meters above ground where you are secure with a cable and thus perfectly safe. Most adults will however have some trouble convincing themselves about this :-) Great fun for all ages. The food in the entire complex is generally not very interesting and close to bad but also not very expensive. "Normal" main courses - was generally not tasty. We ended up going for simple things and being satisfied with their French fries, while even Pizzas very hopeless at their "italian" Restaurant. Morning Buffet at Passat was boring but ok, as we got it for free ordering in the ordering.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMePMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear guest,

first, we would like to thank you for having stayed at our Ferien-und Freizeitpark Weissenhäuser Strand. Even if it was only a short stay. We do depend on guests like you, who take the time to comment about our products and services and thank you for that too.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the location, even in cold January. Obviously other guests did that too so that this resulted in longer waiting times for your kids at Jungle land. We are sorry to read that.

Regarding your apartment, we would suggest you visit our website and see the lodging options at our Ferienpark Weissenhäuser Strand. More than half of these are now newly renovated and thus very modern at higher standards.

As for your experience with our food and beverage outlets, we are sorry to hear that these did not satisfy your taste. We have made a lot of progress in this area, as you can read from other guest's comments these last months.
Of course we can always improve this and we would appreciate if you let us know more details upon your next stay with us, which we sincerely hope you will consider. So next time, you will hopefully only experience Ups and no downs !

very best regards

David Depenau
Geschäftsführer
Ferien- und Freizeitpark
WEISSENHÄUSER STRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here for a prolonged weekend (Thursday to Sunday) with my mother, brother, sister in law and my 2 nieces (teenager and baby).
We were in a 2 floor apartment. Furniture and carpet is OK but a bit worn down. No oven or dishwasher in the small kitchen, but still possible to prepare breakfast and dinner.
No free wifi in the apartment but in the center.
My mother is not that well walking so for her the many stairs up to apartment and inside was sometimes too hard - no lift in our building.
Friday we spent in the Waterland - good fun for all ages, but lack a bit of cleanness.
Instead of eating at the boring looking restaurants in the center, we drove the 5 km to Oldenburg and had a fantastic local dinner at a small restaurant near the main square.
Saturday we drove to Lübeck where there is plenty of sites and shopping possibilities for a day trip. A tip is to pay only a few Euros and visit one of the church towers (Petri Kirche) to get a fantastic view of the city.
Unfortunately the weather wasn't for the beach, but it looked really nice. A great tip is a walk or run on the dyke between the beach and the Strandpark.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CIRCUMNAVIGATOR_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear guest,



first, we would like to sincerely thank you for having taken the time to review our Ferienpark Weissenhäuser Strand so much in detail and well differentiated.

We are well aware that this takes an extra effort to do that, and we appreciate the fact that you help us to constantly improve our products and services.

We do offer a large variety of apartments with different layouts and kitchens as well as newly renovated ones at different price points.



The internet connection is definitely free of charge. However, we do offer free connection in the public areas oft he hotel lobby and the Galeria as well as in all hotel rooms.



With your hopefully next stay, we would appreciate if you let us know that your mother needs an apartment on the ground floor with less walking, so that we can take care of this in advance.

Regarding the cleanliness at Waterland, we also appreciate your comment and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced here. This is of course not our standard.

We are also sorry that our restaurants did not meet your taste. Did you see them all ?? We also have a good choice with different interiors and rates here.



Again, we are looking forward welcoming you again at our Ferienpark Weissenhäuser Strand, and to show you around on the very large grounds to make sure you have a fantastic vacation experience with us.



Very best regards



David Depenau

CEO

Ferien- und Freizeitpark

WEISSENHÄUSER STRAND
weissenhaeuserstrand dot com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed there 2 nights in a row while I had a business meeting in Copenhagen 11:00 the next day and it's not far from the ferry to Danemark. It was Winter and I arrived in the Evening so I did not see much nor enjoyed the activities. New, clean and large hotel room and the restaurant was very good. Booked the next night during check out of the first night so I could use and see some of the facilities but got delayed hours in a snowstorm on the Danish highway and missed it including the restaurant

The only 2 negative things is that the restaurant closes at 21:30 with no possibilities of eating anywhere and the Hotel Bar/Lounge is tiny and terrible. It is a huge family complex with Supermarket, Post Office, shops, etc.. but there should be a decent Bar/Lounge and a snack restaurant open till 23:00 for the 100's of rooms and guests.

I still plan on taking the family there this Summer!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangels
0 mi away
Strandhotel Weissenhaeuser Strand
Strandhotel Weissenhaeuser Stran...
#1 of 1 in Weissenhauser Strand
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Weissenhaus Grand Village Resort & Spa am Meer
5 mi away
Hotel Seelust
Hotel Seelust
#8 of 9 in Hohwacht
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
IFA Fehmarn Hotel & Ferien-Centrum
8.5 mi away
Hafenhotel Meereszeiten
Hafenhotel Meereszeiten
#1 of 8 in Heiligenhafen
183 reviews
13.2 mi away
a-ja Gromitz. Das Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand

Address: Seestr. 1, 23758 Wangels, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Wangels
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wangels
Price Range: $57 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ferienpark Weissenhaeuser Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing