We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alberbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah G
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wow! We have just got back from a week at Lower Lodge and it was brilliant. The house was amazing and had everything we needed for a great holiday. We ranged from 7 to 81 and there was something to keep everyone happy. The children enjoyed the games room and TV/DVD in the bedrooms whilst the adults enjoyed the lounge, hot tub and sauna. The kitchen was really well equipped and we enjoyed cooking and eating in the kitchen/dining area. It was a bonus to have plenty of bathrooms and toilets for everyone too. The garden was lovely but unfortunately due to the time of year and weather we didn't get to enjoy it as much as we would have liked but there was certainly everything we needed had the weather been kind. The owners, Mark and Lisa, were really friendly, helpful and always available if we needed them.

The surrounding area was beautiful and we enjoyed day trips to the RAF Museum at Cosford (free entrance), Shrewsbury, Powis Castle which was stunning, Lake Vrywny and Pistell Falls which were also well worth a visit. We visited the local pub where we had a lovely meal and they even do a complimentary mini bus service to the house so worth a visit too.

We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a luxury place to have a relaxing holiday in a nice area of the country. We would love to visit again.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay at Lower Lodge. It is wonderful to hear that the house was everything you hoped for for a great holiday, especially with people of such a range of ages to keep happy! We certainly hope that you return to enjoy it all over again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2marsheep
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing and Original”
Reviewed March 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2015

Our first stay at Lower Lodge was for two weeks in March 2015 for our Silver Wedding. We were joined by family and close friends for a few days over these weeks and had an amazing time. The accommodation was everything we expected and more. The Location was spot on for a relaxing break and the surrounding countryside was amazing. We were so happy with this accommodation that we booked another week in December. We are going for the third time, staying for another two weeks in March 2016.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was amazing
Liked least: That we had to go back home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2016
Thank you ever so much for sharing this lovely review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Lower Lodge, and for such a special occasion too! It is wonderful to hear that the property surpassed your expectations and it is such a compliment that this visit was the catalyst for two more! We certainly hope that you continue to return again and again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic honeymoon experience”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

we arrived 3 days ago and couldn't be having a better time, the whole place is out of this world with the huge hot tub and the sauna it is just a total relaxation holiday the surrounding scenery is gorgeous. Mr Pugh was very welcoming from the off giving us the feeling where we could ask anything and it wouldn't be an issue

Will defiantly be returning and recomending to friends and family

***** five stars

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayleypj8...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing weekend”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

One word AMAZING! We have been doing a weekend away in November for the last 3 years this one by far has to be the best!

Wonderful spacious accomodation, fabulous sauna and a large hot tub which accomodates all guests! The games room was fab and the outdoor games, having music that plays out in every room including outside, it truly is a perfect entertainment holiday home!

We would definately recommend this place and will return one day in the future!

Lemon drizzle cake on arrival was a lovely touch!

Date of stay: November 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“superb accommodation”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Have just had a fantastic week at lower lodge thanks mark for making us very welcome accommodation is 5* with all mod cons, sauna hot tub all wonderful place lovely & clean on arrival the welcome home made cake was a nice touch lots to keep kids & adults entertained & lots to visit in area love to stay again & highly recommend to all.

Date of stay: August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CarolynBe...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation, everything we needed.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a very comfortable stay and loved the facilities on offer. Our '30 something' children had a great time playing pool, tables tennis and using the X Box. The property is in a great location to visit towns, NT properties, and many other local attractions, all within half an hour driving distance. Our only regret was we hadn't booked a second week!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the property.
Liked least: Our bathroom which was a wet room - everything did get wet!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing