We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ft Morgan cay”
other travelers have booked this property
Discover the luxury and serenity of your own private island: Fort Morgan Cay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Discover the luxury and serenity of your own private island: Fort Morgan Cay.
Relax in exclusive privacy on your own beach--one of three beaches on Fort Morgan Cay View over Fort Morgan Cay with the hills of Roatan in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Discover the luxury and serenity of your own private island: Fort Morgan Cay.
Relax in exclusive privacy on your own beach--one of three beaches on Fort Morgan Cay
View over Fort Morgan Cay with the hills of Roatan in the background
The powder keck of Fort Morgan, a 300-years old bastion that defended Port Royal
Fort Morgan Cay offers spacious outdoor decks
Outdoor dining and relaxation area by the water front
Lounge area surrounded by fruit orchards and coconut palms
Living room in the main building with historic maps
The Fort Morgan Cay kitchen is staffed with a dedicated chef
One of three double queen suites with private terrace. All suites have en-suite bathrooms.
One of three king rooms with private terrace on second floor. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms.
One of two queen rooms. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms.
Have our dedicated staff set up a hammock at your favorite spot throughout the island.
All suites and rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Queen suites also offer private outdoor showers.
Fort Morgan Cay offers spacious guest facilities on 10000sf (1000m2).
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
East End, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erin M
Rogers, Arkansas, United States
1 review
“Ft Morgan cay”
Reviewed July 8, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

It was an incredible experience one that we will never forget. Mark and Kim and staff were very gracious hosts. They went above and beyond to make sure our experience was a tropical dream. The accommodations were beautiful and every morning we woke up to this view laying in our bed! Thank you for the wonderful trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
Erin,
Thank YOU so much for the lovely review. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience of this little slice of paradise. We loved our time getting to know you, Jim and the rest of your wonderful group. Come back soon and stay longer!
Warm, breezy wishes,
Kim,Mark and the FMC Crew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlpenderg...
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Ethereal! Tropical, Eco-friendly barefoot luxury paradise!”
Reviewed July 2, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is the most ethereal place we have ever been. The staff led by Kim and Mark are second to none - ensuring barefoot luxury in a tropical paradise. We wanted for nothing while being free of the frivolities of our normal life back home. The cooking was outrageously delicious and abundant - Douglas is the best cook ever. Private, unique, paradise! We loved being unplugged from everything (no air conditioning or tv, eco friendly!) We never wanted for anything - snorkel trips with a loaded cooler, fishing on the flats, kayaking, beach volleyball, afternoon snacks and appetizers). Each night we were treated to dinner al fresco at a different location on the cay. It was like we were in our own Pinterest/Instagram heaven. Private beaches on all sides of the Cay - the water colors are turquoise, lapiz, deep blue. We highly highly recommend this rustic, barefoot luxury, heaven. The most gifted and gracious hosts and staff we have ever encountered!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2018
Thank you so much for your generous review of Fort Morgan Cay Private Island. We are thrilled to hear that you felt so spoiled! We strive to ensure a magical experience for our guests and hope that you leave with special memories that you will share with friends and family for years to come. Better yet, send them our way for their own special occasion!
Warmest,
Kim, Mark and the FMC Crew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R
1 review
“Terrific!”
Reviewed June 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Beautiful island, great service - what more could one wish for?
We had a wonderful time, and would absolutely recommend Fort Morgan Cay for anyone looking for something better than cookie-cutter resort style holidays.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Fort Morgan Cay Private Island.Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation and celebration of your dad's birthday with us. We strive to make our guests feel special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethan M
1 review
“Deserves 10 Stars. Truly Private Gorgeous Island with Amazing Staff!”
Reviewed May 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fort Morgan Cay is absolutely amazing!!!!

My husband and I went there to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary and we were completely blown away!!! It felt like a dream! Let me start by mentioning when they say "your own private island", they really mean it!! My husband and I literally had the ENTIRE island to ourselves!! Unbelievable but true!! When we read the description, we thought it meant that we would be on a private island with others who booked this Airbnb, but to our amazement, Kim and Mark the wonderful property managers explained that we had it all to ourselves. It is their policy to not mix unrelated bookings in order to make your stay with them that much more special and private. If you are a couple you'll have it to yourselves, or a group of friends or a family you would have the island all to yourselves.

The only other people on the island whom you will occasionally see (because they are discreet and want you to have your privacy) are the wonderful staff who are there to meet your hearts desires and make your stay special. They provided daily exceptional care. They were angels arranging our room, and setting gorgeous tables, serving our meals and bringing us lounge chairs, umbrellas, and beverages to which every part of the island we wanted to explore.

The grounds were immaculately kept, the white beaches were swept every day. And as if that wasn't already enough, we also had the great pleasure of having Douglas Greene be our personal Chef. Each meal that he enthusiastically made for us was different, delicious and absolutely delighted our palettes. I want to give a special thanks to the fabulous Kim who came up with a delicious menu for us and for Mark who cooked the delicious paella which we thoroughly enjoyed on our anniversary dinner! What a spectacular night that was!

Douglas was also an enthusiastic and experienced dive buddy. And diving to Roatan's gorgeous reef is literally right off shore or a 3 minute boat ride. Snorkeling there is also gorgeous. For you fisherman and women, bonefish flats are directly in front of the property with many other well known and productive flats easily accessible by FMC boat. Deep sea fishing, mangrove cruises, you name it, every island activity is right there and Mark is enthusiastically ready to help you do it all!

Needless to say, FMC is an incredibly beautiful property and romantic island! We felt as if we were on our honeymoon all over again!! We are still in complete awe of the beauty of the island, and the details of the house and grounds. We were also blown away by the extraordinary kindness and care of all the staff who took such great care of us, with so much attention to special details that made our stay absolutely LOVE-ly!

We had an exceptional vacation thanks to all who cared for us! We are so grateful to have found Fort Morgan Cay and we can't wait to return!! Thank you Kim and Mark, you feel like our friends now...our stay with you really was a dream come true!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful words! We loved hosting you both and hope you will return to celebrate with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnDahl...
White Rock, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway for family and friends!”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Beautiful location, the water is just perfect for swimming and snorkelling, accommodating, clean, we all had a great time!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review! We enjoyed hosting your beautiful family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey J
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Experience the romance of the Caribbean on this incredible Honduran island deep rooted in pirate history!”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Fort Morgan Cay is without a doubt one of the most memorable and relaxing vacations we’ve ever taken (and there have been lots). Upon arrival at the airport, we were met with our driver who sought us out in the customs line, obtained our baggage information, grabbed our bags and had them loaded on a cart before we could finish up with customs. We were then met by Kim and Mark with a special welcome at the bar where we grabbed a few beers for the ride and boarded an air-conditioned bus for our journey to the Port Royal Marina. We boarded the boat for a quick trip to the Cay where we were met with fresh coconuts, introductions and a brief orientation.

The accommodations were very comfortable and with a few interesting additions to the common areas, are exactly as pictured. Most of all the bedrooms face the ocean and the beautiful sunrise in the mornings. The beds were very comfortable and each one contained a mosquito netting. In addition to the cooling trade winds, we were provided with fans to keep us comfortable at night as there is no A/C. We kept the doors opened every night so that we could fall asleep to the gentle waves and breezes and wake to the beautiful sunrise. Each bedroom also has a private bathroom and was equipped with a fresh container of water.

Every morning, the crew had coffee ready for us, accompanied by freshly baked cookies, pies, etc. prior to breakfast. The meals were equally AMAZING! We sampled daily baked breads, fish right out of the sea (caught by the staff as well as our group), a variety of salads and vegies, homemade soups and the like. Douglas is an incredible gourmet cook and ready to serve whatever your heart desires! One evening, a very tired 3 year old decided she was not going to eat shrimp and Douglas had a grilled cheese made and plated before her father could get to the kitchen to request it.

Cocktails were also perfection! Natasha made a variety of libations from the famous Honduran Monkey LaLa to smoothie Rum Punch.

The beaches were clean and well maintained. The wall around the tip of the island lent itself to wondrous snorkeling complete with purple fans, feather dusters, many varieties of soft corals and lots of little reef fish.

The freshwater pool was nice to sit around, get our feet wet, talk and laugh at the end of the day.

We did take advantage of fishing and an outing to a tiny cay where the staff packed a picnic lunch and we floated the morning away in the beautiful turquoise water. Our guys did several shore dives, for which Kim happily arranged tanks and equipment.

The purpose of our trip was to celebrate my husband’s and a very dear friend’s 50th birthdays. Kim made suggestions for several special things we could do ranging from fireworks to fire dancers. She and the staff set up at the pirate fort for a pirate party, complete with a pirate ship cake, costumes and an evening with fire dancers. We were not disappointed!

We are incredibly thankful and honored to spend our vacation time with such adaptable, considerate, practical, friendly and accommodating people-and to make new friends in the process. Kim, Mark, Douglas, Angelle, Jake, Jenny, Berron, Tasha and Carlos (and anyone I forgot to mention), THANK YOU. YOU are amazing!

I give this glowing review with a word of caution to some. Don’t come with unrealistic expectations. This is not a US 5 star hotel. If you want The Ritz, go to The Ritz. You should however, come with the expectation to experience the beautiful romance of the laid back Caribbean on an incredible Honduran private island, deep rooted in pirate history and dependent on ecotourism. The island utilizes solar power during the days and generator power at night. Conservation is essential! Hospitality is 2nd to none. The natural beauty is unsurpassed!

Never forget that “jobs fill your pockets, but adventures fill your soul” and Fort Morgan Cay is just the place for it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, Stacey. We are truly humbled by your show of love! Our entire team strives to provide the best possible experience that we can to our guests. When they are as wonderful as you it is a genuine pleasure to do so. Each member of your group- you& Lee, Lance & Jen, Chap and Monti, Gary& Debbie and of course my precious Ava, made your stay one of the most memorable and fun group bookings that anyone could ask for. I will make sure to show this review to the team. It is so rewarding to our staff to see that their attention and care is reflected in your review! It is very important to them, to all of us at Fort Morgan Cay, that you arrive as guests and leave as friends.
Sunniest wishes,

Kim, Mark and the FMC Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nerdle201...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing experience & service”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A private island with amazing beaches, delicious food, and great service. Kim and Mark were fantastic and were great organizing hermit crab races with the kids and trying to make our requests happen. We came with 3 families and enjoyed the variety of activities, the safety of letting kids run around on a private island, the snorkeling and the privacy of the beach.
The food was great and accommodated our dietary requests and preferences while managing to please everyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2018
Thank your for taking time to leave a review. We were so pleased to have you share your families with us! The kids were so much fun and we enjoyed the crab races as much as they did! We hope you will make it back, as planned, in two years- if not sooner. :-)

Warmest regards,
Kim, Mark and the FMC Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing