We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommend!”
other travelers have booked this property
Discover the luxury and serenity of your own private island: Fort Morgan Cay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Discover the luxury and serenity of your own private island: Fort Morgan Cay.
Relax in exclusive privacy on your own beach--one of three beaches on Fort Morgan Cay View over Fort Morgan Cay with the hills of Roatan in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Discover the luxury and serenity of your own private island: Fort Morgan Cay.
Relax in exclusive privacy on your own beach--one of three beaches on Fort Morgan Cay
View over Fort Morgan Cay with the hills of Roatan in the background
The powder keck of Fort Morgan, a 300-years old bastion that defended Port Royal
Fort Morgan Cay offers spacious outdoor decks
Outdoor dining and relaxation area by the water front
Lounge area surrounded by fruit orchards and coconut palms
Living room in the main building with historic maps
The Fort Morgan Cay kitchen is staffed with a dedicated chef
One of three double queen suites with private terrace. All suites have en-suite bathrooms.
One of three king rooms with private terrace on second floor. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms.
One of two queen rooms. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms.
Have our dedicated staff set up a hammock at your favorite spot throughout the island.
All suites and rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Queen suites also offer private outdoor showers.
Fort Morgan Cay offers spacious guest facilities on 10000sf (1000m2).
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
East End, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GrandTour...
1 review
“Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wonderful stay on Fort Morgan Cay...a true tropical paradise! Mark and Kim were exceptional hosts. As a history aficionado, really enjoyed the pirate lore, ruins, and artifacts (like the grape shot, canon balls, and fragments of the pirates' 300yr old rum bottles) that dot the island. The private, secluded beaches were relaxing, and the snorkeling right off the beach breathtaking. Fresh seafood everyday and Douglas' apple pie was to die for! Great experience all around...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
Dear Chris and Tracy,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed our beautiful cay and are excited to host your upcoming family vacation and your veterinarian clinic CE seminar as well. It will be lovely to see you both again!
Warmest regards,
Kim & Mark and the FMC Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napatac
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can stop looking, you just found Paradise”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our time on the amazing island of Fort Morgan Cay was the highlight of a recent trip to Roatan. As amazing as this property is, the hosts Kim and Mark are the conduits that lead guests to fully experience this unique little paradise.
The Cay itself is a tranquil former pirate's outpost complete with stone ruins and artifacts strewn amongst the white sand beaches, mangroves and palms, and the surrounding coral reefs make for some of the best snorkeling in the area. The guest rooms, lounging areas and numerous venues for dining and relaxing all share the common thread of understated barefoot-luxury.
Kim and Mark are consummate hosts and clearly share the same soul of hospitality. Genuinely warm and without a shred of pretentiousness, they truly want to create unique experiences that will suit the individual needs and desires of each of their guests, and they are very successful at it! When we expressed interest in exploring the reef, a boat with crew and equipment was immediately placed at our disposal, and a goody bag packed with cold drinks and some favorites snacks on board as well. When we mentioned our intention to book accommodations on another part of Roatan later in the week, Kim called the hotel and arranged for the best room on the property, and at a rate we could not have secured ourselves. When it came time to leave Fort Morgan Cay, Mark and Kim drove us there themselves and introduced us to the manager personally. From initial contact via phone and email and throughout the entire visit, Kim and Mark are listening and scanning for ways to surpass expectations.
A special mention must to be made about the incredible food and dining at Fort Morgan. Delicious food is abundant and ever present on the Cay. The dining policy is "anywhere, anytime" and they mean it. Chef Douglass Greene is masterful at using fresh local ingredients and multi cultural influences to prepare the fantastic meals. Douglas sources ingredients from contacts he has developed during his time on the islands and has a knack for creating dishes based on what is freshest that day. One morning as we wandered over to the dock to get ready for a swim, a local spear fisherman was laying his morning's catch on the deck for Douglas to look over. The chef selected a nice Grouper, which he blackened Cajun style and had ready for our lunch by time we returned, and some excellent lobsters which featured prominently on our dinner menu that evening.
I could go on and on. The bottom line is this: The experience at Fort Morgan Cay offers guests the perfect combination of private seclusion and warm personal interaction, opportunities for relaxation and adventure as desired, fantastic food, local insight and unmatched personal service, all on a a beautiful and pristine little gem of an island that is all yours. Book it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Tracy- thank you so very much for this wonderful review of your experience on Fort Morgan Cay! We strive to create vacation memories of a lifetime and hope that we expand our family of return guests with you and Val. It was our pleasure to be a part of your holiday! Cheers to you both!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR77437
El Campo, Texas
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a Great Time at Fort Morgan Cay in late June. Our Group did not want for a thing. Food was incredible, Staff catered to every need. Be sure to take time to fish the mangroves and the sand flats each morning. The Island is beautiful with LOTS and LOTS of options for all different tastes. THANKS AGAIN for a GREAT TIME

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. You were fantastic guests. We hope you return to the cay!
Kim and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonG1645
1 review
“Tropical paradise”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Excellent all the way around.
Staff,accommodation, scenery.
Very personalized service from the staff. They went the extra distance to provide everything we asked for.
The scenery is amazing. The beaches are white sand and beautiful.
We will be returning next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and kind review. Our staff take great pride in their service to our guests. It is so nice to see them appreciated. You and Thuy were absolutely delightful guests. We appreciate your interest in the staff and their families. Jeni really enjoyed showing Thuy how to make her amazing tortillas! Jake is still making his own glass art glasses that you taught him. You became like family to our staff and they still ask when you will return to this day. We are looking very forward to your next stay on Fort Morgan Cay!
Cheers and safe travels until then,
Kim, Mark and the FMC Crew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesr200...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite the Experience”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spend 5 days and 4 nights on Fort Morgan Cay with 10 adults. Everything about this place is amazing. The island is beautiful..just the right size to be easily usable but also large enough to offer a variety of beaches and other activities- Snorkeling, Fishing, kayaking, paddle boarding, boating.

The food was unreal. Staff was amazing. Hosts catered to our every need.

If you're a golfer, you should set a tee time at The Black Pearl. World class and beautiful.

Fort Morgan Cay is for real. Five Star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
James,
Thank you so much for kind review! We enjoyed hosting you and Audrey for the combination birthday/anniversary event with your friends. You were such a fun group. We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us on Fort Morgan Cay and hope you come back for more pirate antics!
Cheers!
Kim and Mark, Island Managers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie-A...
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience! Will definitively come back!”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had such a great time on the island. One word comes to our mind: WOW!
We spent 2 nights but after 1 hour being there, we already wanted to stay longer. Kim and Marc are great hosts and really did their best to ensure we were going to have an unforgettable stay (which we had!!). Kim is so welcoming and always asked us if we needed anything. Marc is very knowledgeable about the island's history, fauna and flora. Douglas, our cook for the stay, was very nice too. He was always looking to provide fresh food and was also very good at explaining. He showed us how to clean fresh fish we just caught. We could order whatever we wanted to eat and he always had delicious suggestions. We had the opportunity to make a boat tour of the mangrove with a bottle of champagne. We could also dive, snorkel, paddle and practice other water activities. The island is entirely private and you feel like home as there are no other guests staying when you're there (even if the place can accommodate 16 people). We would definitively come back (maybe with friends this time) :) Thank you for everything, Kim, Mark and Doug, we had a blast! :)

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2017
Thank you Nicolas and Valerie-Ann...you were the most delightful of guests. Thank you for spending time with us on the cay. You were wonderful and we look forward to your return. Our staff say hello and please hurry back!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasadeali...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I felt like a millionaire on this private island.”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Fort Morgan Cay and the staff are simply amazing. I recently brought 16 adults and 4 children to the FMC to celebrate a wedding between my wife and I, and I can honestly say everyone had a trip of a life time. From the friendly staff and the well appointed accommodations, to the delicious food and soothing sound of all three private beaches on the island, none of us will forget out time on the island.

After landing in Coxen Hole, Mark and the bus driver greeted us outside of the customs area, loaded the bus with out luggage, and drove us for 45-50 minutes to the dock on Port Royal Rd, where we would have to transfer to a boat for a beautiful 5 minute ride to FMC.

Once we arrived at FMC, Kim greeted each one of us with hugs and fresh coconut juice (drank straight from the coconut), while the staff unloaded our luggage. Being the awesome staff that they were, they knew we would enjoy some snacks before eating lunch, so they brought out some delicious fried potatoes and a homemade ranch dressing, as well as some freshly made mango salsa and chips. Our first 5 minutes on the island was a complete representation of what the remaining four days would be like, awesome.

After we assigned rooms, the staff was kind enough to transport everyone's luggage to their respective rooms. Once in the room, we were all delighted to see that each bathroom was stocked with fresh shampoo, sun screen, bug spray, soap, and towels. Each bed had bug nets to help you enjoy that wonderful island breeze that's present all day and night. The rooms did not have air conditioners, but they all had functioning fans. I hate being hot when I sleep, and I slept like a baby each night, with the fan on and windows open.

The island itself is a perfect size for a group of 20 to enjoy themselves. There are plenty of locations for groups to split off and enjoy some alone time, while there are great gathering locations for the entire group to eat together. While on the topic of eating, the food was one of the best things about the island. From freshly cooked paella on a fire-pit on the beach, to a platter of lobster tails, FMC does not leave your stomach unsatisfied. Although breakfast and lunch were single course meals (still plenty of food to fill you up), dinner was a multi-course meal each night, ending with a fresh mouthwatering dessert.

If you would rather stay on the island and not venture out and explore the big island of Roatan, there are plenty of activities provided by FMC. Each day, our group was taking advantage of the two kayaks, the ~14’ catamaran, snorkeling equipment, and a few of us even went water skiing. The beaches were all raked and sprayed every two days, so bug bites were not a problem so long as we applied bug spray (you’re in the tropics); there were no horror stories like I read online about the sand fleas in West Bay.

All in all, this place is truly an oasis. My wife and the rest of our group are grateful for the kind staff and for the memorable experience Kim and Mark worked hard to make sure we had. This island is everything I thought it would be, and more. I would recommend this island to everyone! Cheers!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Alessandro,
Your family was a delight to host! Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to hosting your anniversary! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing