We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Swanson House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swanson House
Ranked #2 of 3 Brough B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Recently stayed at the Swanson for a wedding and totally amazed at the quality and service of this B&B.
The owner went out of her way to make sure everything was just perfect.
Rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean with many little extras to make the stay special.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful
Would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting North Cumbria

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline_woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 75 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely two-day break here. Pat was very welcoming and we had a fantastic, comfortable room right above the restaurant. This meant we coud enjoy the excellent home-cooked food while our four-year-old slept upstairs. Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Although living in the Eden Valley this little gem has alluded us for the past 4 years of it's existence.
It is a restaurant and guest house, but this review is just for the restaurant.
It was the Trip Advisor reviews that caught out attention and we took a drive one day to see what it looked like. It is in what was the old Post Office in Brough and while small inside it was beautifully laid out, and looked nice enough to go dressed up if you wanted, so we decided to check out the menu on line.

Now this is the interesting part and really depends on how you view these things. To us any small restaurant that has an extensive menu is a turn off because it is impossible for any small concern to stock and cook all those choices using fresh produce, and you know that are all bought in frozen and microwaved to then be served at the table.
In the case of Swanson House the menu is small with just four main courses, and they ask you to email your choices in no later than 24 hours before hand. This is because all the produce is purchased fresh and cooked properly before serving hot and fresh.
In our case one of our party did not really fancy any of the mains on the latest menu (which seems to be changed every other month) however they liked the choices on the previous menu which was still displayed on the website. A quick phone call soon assured us that the previous menu was still available on request, which was great. Despite the small menu vegetarians (one in our party) were well catered for and not the obligatory pasta.

When we arrived the place was bright and spotless with good quality cutlery and table cloths etc.
If we wanted to be pedantic the young lady that greeted us just showed us to the table and then disappeared briefly, leaving us just feeling we had been plonked at the table. As it is a quite intimate room the general feeling among us was that a slightly warmer welcome would have been nice.
That being said the young lady returned with the most wonderful bowls of fresh baked bread and butter and proved to be a delightful waitress and we had absolutely no other complaints.

The wine choice is good without being extensive and the wines are excellent quality at reasonable prices. We had a Malbec and Pinot Grigio.

The starters arrived and without exception we were blown away with them, between the four of us we had three different starters and we all agreed they were beyond good.

When the main courses arrived again we had three different courses between us and they were all wonderful, with the vegetables being cooked perfectly.

We decided not to pre order desserts but the choice was different and very tempting and I for one was beginning to regret not having one. However we were kindly told that if we wanted coffee it came with a free plate of home made chocolates and fudge which we devoured. The coffee as well was freshly brewed in front of us and was superb.

We asked for the bill and was surprised to find a service charge. Not that they did not deserve it, but let's face it, it never sits well with diners, and we would have happily tipped at least as much and more than likely more, but then don't feel inclined when the service charge is already there.

In conclusion we will definitely be back we loved the place. The host and chef came out towards the end and chatted with us, and we left very happy people. It is only a small venue and on the Friday night we went there was only one other couple in, and although we understand it can get busier at weekends we could imagine that in the week especially if there is only two of you, it may be a bit quite, which may be an attraction for some but not so much for others.

For us however we cannot recommend this place strongly enough. Fine dining in a lovely setting surrounded by beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Condor7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 nights with my partner as we needed to be near Kirkby Stephen for a paragliding course. I booked via LateRooms at a bargain £40/night. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room, which was spacious, clean and lovely! There were the basics such as towels and tea and coffee facilities but also a lot extra, including 'proper' coffee and a cafetiere, dressing gowns, toiletries, DVDS, books, fresh cake, bottled water, Kit Kats...the list goes on!!
Unfortunately, the paragliding course was cancelled due to the weather, however we will need to re-book and will therefore definitely stay in Swanson House again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nah87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We only stayed one night but wish we had booked more. What a hidden gem!! Pat was kindness itself. Our room, the suite, was fabulous. The bathroom and accessories were the finishing touches. The restaurant and food were just as you'd expect from a high class guest house! Well worth a visit for any occasion.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hillary and Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've just returned from a night in Swanson house and have had a lovely stay. We booked through late rooms on Wednesday night and stayed on the Saturday. I received an email from owner Pat on Thursday explaining directions and asking if we would like to dine there. We arrived at about 4.30 to a very warm welcome and were kindly shown to our room with a full explanation of facilities. There was even homemade cake waiting for us. The room was warm and a decent size. The bathroom was also big, my boyfriend had a long soak in the big bath after our day out walking and said it was lovely. There were lovely fluffy white robes waiting for us after we had bathed and we were able to chill for an hour before dinner. The restaurant was lovely, lit with candles and lovely flowers around the room. The food was gorgeous and filling. I had rabbit stew as I'd never eaten rabbit before and as far as I could tell it was cooked to perfection. We had a couple of bottles of wine and Pat even brought us some homemade truffles. We took the last of our wine back to our room and relaxed a bit before a lovely nights sleep. The cooked breakfast was lovely and just what we needed after the wine the night before after which we were ready to head off and continue our adventure. We really enjoyed our stay, Pat was lovely and the little extras made it truly special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a very good value, very nicely presented B&B. Rooms (I think there were only two) were very generous in size and very thoughtfully fitted out. Beds were comfy and linens were of beautiful quality. The en-suite shower room was smart and clean with a very nice, generous sized shower. The owner was very friendly and the breakfast was beautifully cooked. There was evening food available if pre-booked. We regret not booking because other options in Brough were poor. Swanson House itself is in a good location on the relatively quiet main street with private parking at the rear. We had the twin and were able to see the double. I would definitely stay at Swanson House again if passing through but would not choose Brough as a base for a longer holiday.

Room Tip: Both rooms we saw were equally nice. The double had a small sofa and faces onto the main road but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swanson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanson House

Address: Swanson House Main Street, Brough CA17 4BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Brough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brough
Price Range: $123 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former eighteenth century coaching inn in the Cumbrian market town of Brough, Swanson House provides luxury bed & breakfast accommodation and a fully licensed silver service restaurant, specialising in dishes made from the highest quality local produce. Swanson House offers a taste of Cumbria to local residents and visitors to the Eden Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swanson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swanson House Kirkby Stephen/Brough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing