We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Oxenhope
Post
Inbox
Search

“Utterly excellent food, service and beer - what more could you ask for!”
Review of The Dog & Gun

The Dog & Gun
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Oxenhope
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We saw mixed reviews for the Dog and gun and decided to judge for ourselves. Very friendly greeting, accommodated Nan's limited mobility, good beers, good service and exceptionally good food - much superior to your usual pub grub. Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Leigh_on_seaHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 434 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2019 via mobile

We moved to the area back in March and made the Dog & Gun our new local. We visit a couple of times per week and have never been disappointed. The staff are all very friendly and personable, the food is good quality and there’s a nice atmosphere in the place.

Plenty of parking in the two car parks and there’s a few tables outside to enjoy the sun at (on the odd occasion it makes an appearance) and take in the pretty countryside views.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank james_r_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Well, where do I start.
We visited on a Friday for the steak night, which includes a bottle of wine.
When we arrived the manager asked if we wanted a drink before our meal and we categorically said no thank you, we would go straight to our table and order as we planned to order from the steak night menu, thus having the wine included.
Our order was duly taken and the waitress gave us our bottle of red. So far so good.

Th problem arose when the bill came which had listed a separate bottle of wine for £19.99. When we questioned this the manager came flying over to our table to tell us we had ordered an upgrade of wine as we didn’t want the house wine!

This was totally not true and we said so. With that he literally flung the bill across the table in a complete strop. Fellow diners looked on in disgust at him.

In retrospect we should have left the bill there for him to pick up when we went to pay, but we took it to the bar and paid the bill minus the £19.99 which was taken off.

This whole episode was very embarrassing and spoilt our evening.

Mistakes do happen, but for a supposedly grown man at front of house, to behave in such a way beggars belief.

The waitress came up to me and saw my annoyance and gave me another bottle of wine.

We really will have to think very carefully if we ever want to return.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Great value Steak night, 2 sirloins plus bottle of very pleasant (if unknown own) red wine for £25, whats not to like. Called in without booking and was very pleasantly surprised by the ambience, the staff earned particular praise and couldn't be faulted in any way, couldn't do enough for the customers.

I had promised myself a steak after getting new teeth (!) and was a little concerned I might have problems eating it. Arrived in double quick time and exactly as ordered. Chips, peppercorn sauce (extra) and veggies, all superb though not too sure about blue cabbage.

A absolutely magic, terrific meal, great venue, super quality and a very reasonable price.

Our test phrase, 'would you come back' ?...........YES.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

What can I say, we all had a super meal yet again!!! The chef is amazing.
Can't find a fault.
The staff are very good. The landlord is very friendly and knows us now.
We will continue to visit here, it's one of our favourites!!!
Not many pubs now other game, which my Husband enjoys!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog & Gun also viewed

Keighley, West Yorkshire
Oldfield, Keighley
 
Oxenhope, West Yorkshire
 
Haworth, Keighley
Addingham, Ilkley
 

Been to The Dog & Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing