We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss”
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Probably on of the best hotels we stayed at. Excellent service throughout, the bungalows are large, well furnished, they are surrounded by lush vegetation and have large private outdoors jacuzzis. The main, colonial house with bar and restaurant, is stunning and the food is the best we had so far in Sri Lanka. The staff had not said no to any of our requests. Everything does come at a price of course. Perhaps some activities like yoga should be free and the bottled water should not be priced 10x higher than in any shop, but all in all we can highly recommend it. By the way, wifi is available everywhere, the bungalows, the Olympic pool, the bar.......

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stephan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    112
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
207
475
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was my first trip to Sri Lanka and this was the first hotel I stayed in. It sets the bar so high.....
The environment is beautiful and so calm - during the day you get the impression you're the only guest in the hotel. Only at night at the superb restaurant and bar do you finally realise there are other guests staying. The food is stunning - particularly if you like the traditional 'rice & curry', which is cooked and presented in such a wonderful way. There are many other dishes to try, all of which are superb.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It was a perfect start to my holiday, and I really think those 'tourists' who gave negative reviews of this establishment should never have come to Sri Lanka in the first place....

BUT....be aware that they take a credit card deposit of 10,000 rupees on checking in, and that is NOT deducted from your final bill. The refund (as long as you notice it on your credit card statement and ask for it) should be made in 14 days - I'm still waiting for mine!

Room Tip: Chalets 11 and12 are furthest away from the main reception/bar/restaurant, so if you seek seclusion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramli G, Director/ CEO at Uga Ulagalla, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent feedback on our staff and the choice of food. With regards to your credit card pre-authorisation issue, please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We have communicated with your travel company and the credit card merchant (local bank) on a daily basis. We can confirm that on check-out we advised the bank (as per our SOP) to release the pre authorisation. We have received confirmation that the local bank has instructed your card service provider to release the authorisation and they have assured us that will happen shortly.

We will continue to keep inquiring from the local bank about this transaction but we are limited in what we can do after they have confirmed that your bank has been advised to release the pre authorisation transaction.

Finally please do feel free to contact me on (ramli@ugaescapes.com) should you require any further clarifications and once again we regret any inconvenience caused to you because of this incident.

Regards,
Ramli Ghaffoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

+ points

* A 5 star villa with all modern comfort.
* Beautiful grounds. Lots of space, nature, nice pool.
* Not too many villa's( 21) which helps to create a relaxed atmosphere.
* The lady who brings you to your villa, explains everything and welcomes you every day at the restaurant is the ideal hostess( friendly& professional)
*Every member of the staff you meet outside the restaurant is very friendly.

- points

* the service in the restaurant is very slow. Even when we were the only couple or there were only 2 couples it took ages before breakfast was served. I can only imagine what a disaster this would be if lots of guests would be in this restaurant at the same time (which we never saw).
* Mistakes were made when we ordered our dinner in front on our last day.
* Some of the waiters in the restaurant are friendly others not so. It is a sharp contrast with all other people of the hotel you meet outside the restaurant and who are all very friendly.
* Some days the food was very good other days it was clearly not at 5 star level.

This resort could be a top level hotel if they improve the quality& speed of service in the restaurant and keep improving the quality of the food.

If you take everything together we had a very good experience in this boutique hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TB D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place is outstanding. They have thought of everything in the villas and they are so beautiful that you do not want to leave. The staff goes out of their way to satisfy every demand. One of the largest and most beautiful pools in the world.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxcat32429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beautiful, large, private villas with their own plunge pools in nicely kept grounds and excellent service from the moment we arrived to the day we left - nothing was too much trouble.
The only disappointment was the food and wine - very average and very expensive - they boast an extensive wine cellar but only had 1 bottle of each of the 3 white wines we selected on successive nights. We cut them some slack because we thought maybe Sri Lanka was going to be remembered for poor food - but after the rest of our trip we realised it was just Ulagalla that was out of line! Though we tried most things on their menu during our 4 day stay it was consistently 'poor' - they need to get a grip of this aspect and Ulagalla would be perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

What a lovely stay on our roundtrip in Sri Lanka. The room was big, special and clean,
the staff was very kind and helpful, and the meals lovely. Very nice Garden with many animals and if we go back to Sri Lanka we stay few nights more in Ulagalla.
Thank you so much for everything we got there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed our first three nights in Sri Lanka at Ulagalla - it is a fantastic hotel in stunning grounds. The large airy beautifully furnished villa we had was set in the trees with private plunge pool outside - the perfect place to unwind after the long flight out. The sound of exotic birdsong was blissful to wake to in the mornings. The food and service was really excellent and so friendly and helpful. Lovely romantic spa surrounded by an ornate pond was very relaxing with great massage by lovely girl from Indonesia. Very eco friendly each villa has bicycles for you to cycle back to the main house for meals etc but if you don't want to cycle you just call up and someone comes to pick you up in a golf buggy for the lovely ride round past the horses and stables to the beautiful main house. The pool is absolutely stunning as is the main house. There are plenty of activities on offer - we didnt have time for any of those as we had a busy schedule of sightseeing in Anaradhapura and Polunawurra - absolutely incredible as was Sigiyria. We fell in love with Sri Lanka from the moment we arrived and Ulagalla was the perfect lovely start to that. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limurubabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,471 reviews
20.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
108 reviews
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
498 reviews
15.6 mi away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Anuradhapura
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Property: Uga Ulagalla
Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing