We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Fabulous Hotel to spend the holiday...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Fabulous Hotel to spend the holiday...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is a superb one with very friendly staff...Located in a great place, plenty of activities, food was excellent well worth the money you spend for the facilities they provide... Would like to recommend any one to visit...An amazing hotel no words to say...Go n experience...A+++++++ from me..

Room Tip: Comfortable beds, Plenty of facilities and leisure activities, love the plunge pools and excellent f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirangaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    102
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
188
417
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ulagalla is such an amazing place.. Ultimate getaway whether you are a couple or a family.. With your own plunge pool and in-room dinning through out the day.. lush greenery, paddy fields, peacocks everywhere.. kayaking and horse riding.. friendly staff.. list can go on.. We can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haputale, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The most beautiful holiday experience I ever had! :) This I will never forget... I am proud of you my Sri Lanka!! my beautiful country.

UGA Resort is very welcoming, we started our hotel stay by lighting up the oil lamp and the tradition by ringing the bells notifying all that we have arrived. Then it was dark we got late to be there because we visited the Ancient City Anuradhapura. They offered some herbal drink for welcoming and a Cold Towel. it was refreshing after the travelling. Directly they took us to our Villas by buggy's, our chalet was no 11. It was very much modern inside with a Plunge Pool. The Living area was really cosy, The Toilets are large and very specious. The Bed is really comfortable. The lighting inside the villa was operated by a touch panel, it was a modern touch. Quite a large resort, with 20 Chalets. Bicycles are provided for travelling inside the resort. But on call buggies are available at any given time.

The "Wallawwa" offers a great dining experience and the BAR completes it. The beautiful pool view and the lush green surrounds it. The large Swimming pool was relaxing, The SPA was expensive...but the therapist was a BALI Lady so it was a experience. Activities, cycling around the resort was exciting, Bird watching and Photography...I Loved it. There was Archery available, but I did not try that. The Billiard table in the Wallawa was maintained well for a nice game. They have horse riding a well.

The Eco concept was very high, the ECO vegetarian Garden, Paddy fields makes it so nature friendly. The fresh food served in the restaurant was really good. The taste is excellent. The most appreciated thing the Pastry and bread Items, It was Super fresh, quality and tasty.

Ulagalla Chalet features:
Garden, Paddy or Lake View
Large King size four poster bed
Dining Area
Plunge Pool
42 Inch LED TV
Living area
Large bathroom with rain shower
Movie on demand
Safe
Mini Bar
Complimentary WI-FI
Tea & Coffee making facilities
His & hers bath robes
Hair Dryer
Bicycles
Sun deck
24 hour room service
Canapé platter

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lasithaoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

A luxurious collection of individual chalets set in extensive grounds. Our chalet had a sitting/dining room, large bedroom, big bathroom and our own plunge pool in delightful, peaceful surroundings. There is an over-complicated lighting system! Staff were friendly and helpful. Golf buggies ferry you to and from the main hotel complex or if you feel inclined bicycles are also provided. Loved the place and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLB-1-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place is so special you cannot believe you are on planet earth! The whole complex is simply stunning. Your every need is accommodated, nothing is too much trouble. Our chalet had 2 huge rooms, a bathroom , our own plunge pool and terrace with sunbeds, tables and chairs. Little buggy's come to ferry you from your chalet to the main house where breakfast and dinner are served. The food for us was superb, truly delicious - our only small issue was like said in a previous review, a little dark in the main dressing area - a very small issue that is easily forgotten! Evidence suggests from the comments book that guests previous suggestions have been put in place, which is very refreshing in this industry. We wanted particularly to mention Radika, who stands out amongst excellent staff for her charm and helpfulness. A truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: All the chalets are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a lovely two room chalet with a big bathroom. The staff couldn't have more accommodating. I'd highly recommend it even though it has a few flaws. The food, while elaborately prepared just wasn't up to top standards. Also the rooms could use more light. Minor quibbles, we loved the place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank holdstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had 3 nights here at the start of our honeymoon and it was the most wonderful way to begin the holiday. The weather was pretty shocking, and it rained heavily for most of our time here, but the property was so lovely and the staff so friendly that we soon didn't really notice the weather. There was enough to keep us occupied regardless. We had a wonderful yoga class, that left us refreshed, and a cooking class with the fantastic chef that we collected ingredients for from the hotel garden before hand. There is a small gym and a large swimming pool, as well as a plunge pool at each room.
The food was wonderful, breakfast through to dinner were all totally delicious and there is a wide choice of foods so there is something for all tastes. I highly recommend trying the local dishes, they are wonderful.
The suite was large, with a separate dining area and sofa, as well as a big bedroom area and superb bathroom. I think the only thing that was wrong was that we had to leave so soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.6 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#2 of 14 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
13.4 mi away
Avasta Resort and Spa
Avasta Resort and Spa
#13 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Property: Uga Ulagalla
Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing