We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing, intimate - a special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“amazing, intimate - a special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a week long trip to Sri Lanka organised by Sri Lanka In Style. the place is amazing - from the welcome we received to the last few minutes the staff and facilities were excellent - lots of attention to detail, wildlife, great food - amazing pool and rooms. I cant recommend it enough - wish we'd stayed longer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manxelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    102
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
188
417
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at Ulagalla with my wife and our six year old son and we had a great time. The resort does not appear to aim directly for the family market but the staff were most friendly and helpful to our son and he loved both the main pool and the plunge pool at our room.
The facilites are excellent and the staff always went the extra mile to make our stay memorable.
My wife says the says the spa facilities are good and that the treatment was exactly as she requested.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAPBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

A perfect place to stay whilst discovering the area - a peaceful oasis after a hard day sightseeing! A swimming pool for the energetic, or your own private plunge pool for the lazy ones amongst us. Nothing is too much trouble, the staff are all absolutely delightful. The accommodation is first class and food to suit everyone is available at all times. Don't know about the 'value' section - the stay was included in our overall trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, north carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

with your oversized chalet that was expertly appointed, includes even a small dipping pool.
Atmosphere lovely, staff attentive. Exceeded expectations. However, did become ill after eating in the restaurant, and, as I had no food other than at this facility, well I can only draw the conclusion that something may have be off with the shrimp! AC was also difficult to manage, as it seems preset to frigid levels. Otherwise, quite a lovely oasis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We arrived from the airport after driving almost 5 hours and not in a great mood. The warm welcome with an herbal drink, lamp lighting ceremony and ringing of the bell was the perfect mood changer. They seemed genuinely happy we were there and this continued throughout our 3 night visit. They never once failed to call us by name and remembered all our preferences. The facility was spectacular with a lovely organic garden which we toured. There was also horseback riding, kayaking, archery, tennis, spa, etc - all the important things which we did not have time for unfortunately. This was due to Ulagalla's great location in the cultural triangle close to so many historical sites. Our own, private plunge pool with jets was so nice after coming back from a hard day of touring. The food was great too. We always had a choice of a Sri Lankan or western meal and every meal was delicious. Chalet 21 was lovely - the farthest one out but they came quickly with a golf cart whenever we called and sometimes we used the bicycle they provided.
Only negative was when the telephone went out on our check-out morning and we couldn't call for help with the luggage. We just rode the bicycle to the main building and they went back for the luggage. Luckily we were running early -which is unusual for us.
In all, it was a wonderful welcome to Sri Lanka with service that was impeccable but still warm and friendly. I only wish we'd planned in some downtime here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in August as part of a tour of Sri Lanka (booked via Red Dot Tours) and it was one of the highlights of our holiday! We stayed in chalet 21 and loved cycling to breakfast each morning, which was incredible! The food was amazing and very fresh. We ate both the typical Sri Lankan food as well as some western food, like grilled fish. We also went kayaking on the lake and spoke to some very friendly locals who were fishing! I had a full body massage in the spa and it was very good and the setting of the spa room in the cave with the waterfall was just beautifully relaxing. The staff were extremely professional and the service was excellent! We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing by our private pool watching all the wildlife below! It was honestly an amazing place to stay and we would go back in a heartbeat and this time spend a lot longer there!

Room Tip: A chalet near the back is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinibelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Amazing resort. Wonderful service and good food. Most of all - the surroundings, the chalets and the facilities available were outstanding and greatly exceeded our expectations. Wish we stayed for longer - felt so sad to leave the place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnushiJayasinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.6 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#2 of 14 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
13.4 mi away
Avasta Resort and Spa
Avasta Resort and Spa
#13 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Property: Uga Ulagalla
Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing