We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Resort Hotel”
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Chelford, uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Resort Hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This property is absolutely stunning. The staff are exceptional....warm, kind and friendly but totally professional and competent. The food is delicious. Accommodation luxurious and spacious comprising of individual chalets with outside eating areas and plunge pools. Golf carts are always available to take you around the resort.
The property is conveniently situated for Anuradhapura and Sigiriya.
Would recommend the nature walk.
Wish we had stayed longer than 3 days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    110
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
200
458
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A bit of a trek however worth every min when you get there...
We spent 3 nights.... had a really great time... the staff were great... really looked after us..
Would defiantly recommend this to anyone looking to get away for a few days surround yourself in nature and get pampered like a king....

No set timing for meals it's all up to you to decide what you want and when you want it...

Lots of birds and animals around the resort... every moment we spotted something new...
Great Place...

Room Tip: Only 20 chalets... all well located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish it was longer. Every thing was perfect from the amazing accommodation, great food , (5 course dinners of impeccable quality) and the very professional but friendly staff.

Golf carts are used to shuttle you from your private room to the restaurant or main pool which was nice also. The old man who drives you around was so friendly and accommodating. Such a nice guy.

The walking trial around the complex was nice but we ventured outside to the lake and watched local village people going about their daily chores such as bathing and washing the clothes.

It's about 30 minutes to the major attractions but well worth the trip.

The private plunge pool on most rooms is amazing.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bnewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pardon me for going French but I thought it explains my feelings so much better.

Situated in the rural village of Thirappane’ the turn off is just past the 113 KM post on the A9 highway, a few metres past the Thirappane’ police station. The narrow Athungama Road (literally meaning the village of tuskers) is the road leading to this resort. The road was a typical rural road - narrow, rutty, part tarred, part gravel and after about a 3 KM drive you come to this impressive wooden gate. Impressive not because of its size but for the carving on it and the security guards welcome you with their “Ayubowan” with a broad smile, something you don’t associate with security guards.

If the welcome at the gate was impressive the welcome at the hotel was even more impressive. The resident Manager, Neranjan himself welcomed me again with a broad smile. I was required to light a lamp, not to any particular God but to whoever you believe in and I was asked to ring a set of bells by tugging on a cord connected to several bells through levers to announce my arrival to all and sundry within hearing distance, what a welcome.

And with the quaint tradition done with, the welcome drink awaited. A choice of it too of which I chose the herbal tea in the all-natural coconut shell bowl and bamboo straw and needless to say it was utterly refreshing.

Then started the tour round the property. No not in a fossil fuel guzzling vehicle but electrically (battery) driven golf buggy, what an ingenious way to use a golf buggy I thought to myself. Round the property we went, first to see the large bank of solar cells providing more than 50% of their electricity needs and the water harvesting arrangements proving that they don’t pay lip service to being eco-friendly. Next I was shown the paddy land belonging to the resort, replete with its own “kamatha” (threshing flow) and it was a sheet of green gently waving in the soft wind that blew across making the scarecrow wave its clothes to chase away the crows and other birds interested in the paddy.

Not to be limited to the rice paddy of their own they also have within their premises an organic garden that provide a variety of vegetables, fruits and herbs.

If the eco-friendly gardens were impressive, the chalets were even more impressive. With their well-appointed furniture (including a grand four poster bed and inviting sofas), the private plunge pools and balconies that allows a magnificent view, they were a treat which made me determined that I should stay a night or two on a subsequent visit.

To the health conscious visitor, walks from the chalets should be encouraging but for the more active type bicycles are provided while those who feel lazy (like me) can call for the golf buggy. Talking of active visitors, for the sporty types there is archery, horse riding and kayaking. The horses, “Scotch” and “Hutch” from the hotel’s own stable for riding, kayaking in the nearby reservoir and archery in the hotel’s range are easily arranged at your request, though I did not try any of it in my rushed visit.

The bund of one of the reservoirs (weva or tank as it is known in Sri Lanka) was the next spot visited and one of the many sports encouraged at the hotel, kayaking is conducted in this reservoir, known as “Wannam Maduwa Weva”. If my Sinhala is as good as I think it is, Wannam are dances in ritual or traditional dancing and thought to myself that the dancing waters may have inspired the ancient folk in the area to name their water source thus.

Having toured the land I returned to a meal that probably topped it all which completed my day at Ulagalla. About the food, let me put it this way, I enjoyed it so much that when the waiter asked me if I want dessert I told him that I’ve stuffed myself so much that I have no room for dessert.

It was an unbelievably enjoyable visit to a hotel that makes me want to go again and again and compelled me to write about a resort for the first time in my life. I was made to understand that they have two more such resorts, Jungle Beach in Trincomalee and Uga Bay in Pasikuda, Batticaloa and wish I could go there too someday, knowing that they must be as good (or may be somehow, even better).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Algi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just came back from a three week trip to Sri Lanka. We were only at Ulagalla for two days, but it was so serene, peaceful, and relaxing that we were making plans to return by the end of the first day. The chalets are spacious, beautifully decorated, and completely private. the property is pretty wild with lots of wildlife, you rarely see other guests, and the experience is wonderfully rejuvenating. The food was excellent. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docdickcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The 2 horses from Ulagalla Resort are living night and day in a box on a concrete floor, without any straw, except when tourists are riding them. They never have access to a field to freely run around and graze grass. After observing them closeby, the black horse had injuries at each knee (caused most likely by laying down on concrete to sleep) and the white and black horse had a lot of scars all over his body. After some investigation, we’ve been told that the two young smiling stable hands beat them.

After having complained to the general manager, asking him to provide straw in the stables, to put the horses in a field at least several hours a day and to replace the young boys who beat the horses, he only had a thin layer of sawdust put on the floor.
The manager claimed to be unable to improve the condition of these animals because they are owned and being provided by a company called Premadasa Riding School Sri Lanka which is said to be responsible for the conditions these horses are kept in.

Here are the photos we made in Ulagalla Resort in August 2013.

The idea of an eco-resort like Ulagalla is very appealing to me , but finding these 2 horses in the condition they were in was shocking and unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramli G, Director / Chief Executive Officer at Uga Ulagalla, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Firstly thank you for your comments and we greatly appreciate your input on our Eco concept and our two horses. As you've mentioned we are indeed an ECO friendly retreat and take great care in preserving the environment surrounding the hotel as well as the animals. This is why we take an extra effort to reuse all our bio waste to produce bio gas that light the pathways, the reverse osmosis water management, have an extensive Solar farm, an organic garden among many other strict ECO policies.

It is our ongoing commitment to maintaining an Eco friendly hotel that we value the feedback and suggestions from our guests and we have taken your comments on the horses very seriously. The GM has informed me that the district equine veterinarian visited the property recently and attended to the horses and they are in perfect health now. If you would like to know more about how the horses are doing or any other aspect of the hotel, please contact me on info@ugaescapes.com and I would be happy to give you an update.

We sincerely hope you pay us another visit very soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ulagalla resort is a eco retreat set in a 58 acre land featuring an old "walawwa" or ancient Sri Lankan family home neighboring the Ulagalla tank. 21 chalets are set among acres and acres of lush forest, paddy field or marsh layouts. The chalet features its own private plunge pool/jacuzzi. The bedroom is separate from a living room which can be used as a private dining room. The room is extraordinarily comfortable and luxurious. The food served is tasteful. Overall the Ulagalla experience is superb and 100% eco friendly.

Room Tip: Chalets are spacious and well set among various environs. Suites closer to the lobby and main pool D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelier8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,447 reviews
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
473 reviews
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#3 of 19 in Sigiriya
89 reviews
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
477 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Property: Uga Ulagalla
Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing