We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly eco-resort except for the 2 horses : mistreatment and negligence”
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The 2 horses from Ulagalla Resort are living night and day in a box on a concrete floor, without any straw, except when tourists are riding them. They never have access to a field to freely run around and graze grass. After observing them closeby, the black horse had injuries at each knee (caused most likely by laying down on concrete to sleep) and the white and black horse had a lot of scars all over his body. After some investigation, we’ve been told that the two young smiling stable hands beat them.

After having complained to the general manager, asking him to provide straw in the stables, to put the horses in a field at least several hours a day and to replace the young boys who beat the horses, he only had a thin layer of sawdust put on the floor.
The manager claimed to be unable to improve the condition of these animals because they are owned and being provided by a company called Premadasa Riding School Sri Lanka which is said to be responsible for the conditions these horses are kept in.

Here are the photos we made in Ulagalla Resort in August 2013.

The idea of an eco-resort like Ulagalla is very appealing to me , but finding these 2 horses in the condition they were in was shocking and unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramli G, Director / Chief Executive Officer at Uga Ulagalla, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Firstly thank you for your comments and we greatly appreciate your input on our Eco concept and our two horses. As you've mentioned we are indeed an ECO friendly retreat and take great care in preserving the environment surrounding the hotel as well as the animals. This is why we take an extra effort to reuse all our bio waste to produce bio gas that light the pathways, the reverse osmosis water management, have an extensive Solar farm, an organic garden among many other strict ECO policies.

It is our ongoing commitment to maintaining an Eco friendly hotel that we value the feedback and suggestions from our guests and we have taken your comments on the horses very seriously. The GM has informed me that the district equine veterinarian visited the property recently and attended to the horses and they are in perfect health now. If you would like to know more about how the horses are doing or any other aspect of the hotel, please contact me on info@ugaescapes.com and I would be happy to give you an update.

We sincerely hope you pay us another visit very soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 873 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ulagalla resort is a eco retreat set in a 58 acre land featuring an old "walawwa" or ancient Sri Lankan family home neighboring the Ulagalla tank. 21 chalets are set among acres and acres of lush forest, paddy field or marsh layouts. The chalet features its own private plunge pool/jacuzzi. The bedroom is separate from a living room which can be used as a private dining room. The room is extraordinarily comfortable and luxurious. The food served is tasteful. Overall the Ulagalla experience is superb and 100% eco friendly.

Room Tip: Chalets are spacious and well set among various environs. Suites closer to the lobby and main pool D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelier8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a huge property (more than 80 acres) and there are only 25 villas in it. It is huge, so you need bicycles or golf carts to go from one place to another. It is a working rice farm and there is lots of wildlife. I saw a crocodile (or water monitor, can't say for sure) in the pond behind our villa. There were snakes, mongooses, peackoks roaming free in the property, they are all harmless. The villas are large, well designed and impecably clean. We loved having breakfast or dinner at the verandah that oversees the swimming pool area, it was a lovely sight. This is a great place to use as a base to visit Sigiriya, Dambulla, Arunadhapura and even Polonnnaruwa. Would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzgurTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

By far the best hotel we've stayed at in Sri Lanka.
The property is Absolutly stunning- the rooms are so private and peaceful. Even though the hotel was full- one your in the room you feel like the only people around. We stayed in one with the plunge pool and it was beautiful looking out into the forest and lake.
The eastern food was delicious- western slightly less so- but never the less tasty. You can dine when and where you want like most boutique hotels but there are so many options which make it a wonderful experience. On our last night we had a private BBQ on the helipad overlooking the paddy field under the full moon and it was just out of this world.
The staff are are so genuine and friendly and make you feel ao special and important and like your the only guests!
There's also a lot to do in the property like cycling, kayaking and archery as well as wonderful sites like Minneriya close by. We did a day trip and saw over 200 elephants which was an experience in itself.
I also had the most amazing 1 1/2 hr massage- highly recommend the spa.
All in all a fantastic place in the most beautiful location imaginable. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed there twice last year, and enjoyed it both times very much. The villas are absolutely great, some very private in amongst trees and bushes. The food and service was great, and the bird watching on the neighbouring lake (=tank) was absolutely astounding in April (less so in September). The site is huge, nicely maintained, great for running and cycling. And to top it all, the price is very very reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiUdPf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A bit off the beaten track but very well worth the effort to travel that little bit further. It is close enough to the areas main attractions. The staff were outstanding the accommodation nothing short of exceptional. It would be the ideal place for a romantic stay or honeymoon. The pool was good the gym ok. The food was fantastic and the service very friendly and helpful. If (when) I come back to Sri Lanka I will come back here.

Room Tip: Any chalet is good - great - fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this property. It is not only a convenient location to visit Anuradhapura and Sigiriya, it is also a relaxing and beautiful property to tarry. The staff was without fail, charming and attentive. The food has certainly improved since we were last there. The property is now more mature and looks even better. The chalets are spacious, clean and well appointed although still bugged by power outages. Complimentary bicycles outside every chalet. Beautiful pool. Free wifi. Grounds are very well kept and it is really lovely to be able to walk through the gardens. Riding available. Horses look healthy and well kept so a major plus for Ulagalla. We had peacocks and monkeys right outside our chalet! The 2 bedroom chalet with its own private pool and dining area is luxurious and worth splashing out for but not really suitable for families with very young children. The property is very badly signposted if you are driving. Look out for the Green Park store sign and the narrow unpaved ally next to it is the beginning of the road. The property is about 3km fm there.

Room Tip: Some rooms have shared plunge pools if you want to have added luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,518 reviews
20.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
138 reviews
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#9 of 16 in Anuradhapura
537 reviews
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anuradhapura
531 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#5 of 16 in Anuradhapura
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range: $218 - $828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing