We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home”
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our home away from home”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It is yet a great property with with friendly service. But the overall experience is getting pretty average. This was my 4th visit in 9 months, this time for the New Year holidays in April. We noticed that the quality of food which was dropping had now dropped to an all time low.Bland food, poor quality and lacking variety. On New Years Day the menu was as usual a la carte with no traditional food during the New Year for lunch which is a standard across the island even in a 3 star hotel. Once you stay for 2 nights you can predict the menu.To cap it, one has to wait about 2 hours for the meal to be served. If you are on a FB basis that would be about 5 to 6 hours a day which is ridiculous!

Room Tip: Chalet # 3,4 and 5 are conveniently located with a good view. Always check whether the chalets are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    104
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
195
435
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ulagalla’s website does not do real justice to this fabulous place, but it speaks the truth when saying, “discover the magic that is Ulagalla”.
For me, the magic was waking up at 6, walking through the misty grounds to the reservoirs nearby and stepping into a birder’s and nature lover’s paradise.
On the three mornings of our stay, I had a most delightful time observing animals and birds, admiring the view and the beautiful trees. Around 8, as the temperature was already quite hot, I would go back to the bungalow for a refreshing splash in our private pool. And as I cooled in the pool, birds would come to visit me in the trees nearby, or even come to drink from the pool.
Then we will ask for a buggy to go to the restaurant and have a delicious breakfast…I cannot think of many better ways to begin the day!
Ulagalla is in a central position in the cultural triangle. This is surely a good point in respect of visiting all the wonderful places around, but on the other hand, it keeps you from spending quality time at the resort, be it in your excellent bungalow, at the great communal pool or simply wandering around the property.
But I have a solution. Next time (for I really wish there will be a next time), I will try to stay for more than three days !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is difficult, as Ulagulla is a fabulous property, but just a few things don't meet the standard they are aiming for. Certainly the food is below par, and the menu needs a complete overhaul, it is dated. The Sri Lankan food is good, but the bar-b-que dinner was a shocker. Also the vegetation around the chalets is smothered with vines like Morning Glory and really needs to be cleaned up - all gardens around the main area are in beautiful condition.
The staff are helpful in every way, especially the housekeeping boys and the boys in the restaurant. Merry, one of the therapists in the Spa is really excellent, although the spa itself needs a bit of refurbishment, and looks "tired" - fabulous setting though.
Apart from the main building, a beautifully restored traditional wallawwa, the chalets are the stars. They are so spacious, with a generous bedroom and bathroom as well as a separate living area. And then there is your own private plunge pool, which was in excellent condition and overlooked the rice fields...they seemed to become a courting ground for peacocks at dusk each afternoon. We had our breakfast each morning on the terrace beside the pool, which was lovely.
So, to sum up, yes Ulagalla rightly deserves it's 5 stars, but unless it attends to basic maintenance and smartens up the food, all the beauty which has been created here will not be enough to keep it's rating.
And, you are never too old to enjoy skinny dipping, which is nice to know!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizandAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Decided to give the resort 5 stars even though the food as some reviewers here have pointed out was mediocre. It was good, but nothing great. Also the fact that you couldn't turn off the aircon (or even turn it really down) during the night was disappointing.

That said we enjoyed our 3 nights we stayed in one of the chalets. Especially after a severely delayed flight and seven hours of driving the stay was what me and the family needed. The chalets are large with a living area and a big bedroom that fits comfortably an extra bed and a cot.

The kids loved horseback riding and swimming (though the main pool got very hot by the end of the day given the relentless sun) in the huge main pool and in our own plunge pool.

I was very impressed that the hotel has solar panels to generate power during the day and grows most of its vegetables in its own garden. The staff was very friendly and did their best to entertain the kids.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiukku_JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We could have stayed here for a month it is just lovely, peaceful and quiet. We had two nights here and just loved it. We were there for WWF Earth Hour and they had set up hundreds of tiny tea lights outside the pool area the effect was just magic. The ceremony when you arrive here is lovely; the staff is very warm and welcoming. There are many activities if you want to do anything bikes just outside your cabin and horse riding, or just walk the helipad is pretty impressive. The grounds are well maintained and there is an abundance of birdlife and wildlife.The accommodation is fantastic the bed is very comfy it just feels like a home, the private plunge pool if great for that dip anytime of the day/night. It has free Wi-Fi and the restaurant is good. The shower products are wonderful smell so good. I have no problems recommending this beautiful and tropical resort, I hope to return here again I loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

On the evening before our wedding day, my husband totally surprised me with a one week honeymoon trip to Sri Lanka. It was my first acquaintance with Asia and I completely fell in love with the views, the smell, the sounds and the people of this magnificent continent.
Coming back to Sri Lanka was on our wishing list ever since, but due to the war, the tsunami and many other things, it took us over 16 years to fulfill that dream. We have been traveling a lot to other countries in South East Asia (Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand) but the moment we entered the impressive gate at Ulagalla Resort we knew what we had been looking for all the time. Ulagalla feels – no, not like home (anyone who wants to feel at home when on holiday should stay home) – Ulagalla feels completely different, but oh so welcoming, so good!
I could go on and on about the cheer beauty and the luxurity of the chalets that are kept immaculate, about the kindness of the people working here – being kind and polite without losing their own dignity, about the utmost beautiful surroundings – every view is a postcard- about the care being taken to the environment , about the attention to every little detail (like the candles in the bathroom and the flowers in the room for instance) about… you name it, it’s here.
When asked by the manager for constructive comments, we thought about it, but there is less room for improvement. Everything is perfect as it is… It will be a matter of keeping it this way.
It was a privilege for us to stay here and we would be grateful if life gives us the chance to come here again some day.
Thank you for making our ‘second honeymoon’ even more memorable than our first one (and that was a hard one to beat!)
With all our appreciation!
Note:
A small comment to the management:
- put your marketing people to work and make sure you have a website that does the resort really right. These days people are always searching the internet and Ulagalla has no online booking facilities.

Room Tip: All the chalets are equally beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisandVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at this most amazing resort for 2 nights, experience of being here is just too good. was here with 5 friends and stayed in 2 Chalets,( Triple full board) which had a private plunge pool and the to get to describing the service and the buggy provided to move around the resort is an experience by itself. use of bicycles gives you a fantastic feel of riding throughout the resort. coming to the food you ask to cater and they -Voila!! you have it in your platter!

Guys don't hesitate even for a second.to book. i loved the place, place to be pampered in the most natural sorroundings, oops i forgot
to mention the cooing of birds and peacocks. peacocks are all over the place.

Room Tip: All are Chalets! just choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alifiyacader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#2 of 14 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
20.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Property: Uga Ulagalla
Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing