We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and well appointed resort, wonderful experience but food a little below par”
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Website for the hotel does not do it justice, it is an incredible location and experience. You stay in a beautiful spacious ‘architecture’s dream’ chalet with large living / dining room, bedroom for 4 poster bed and large, luxury bathroom. Each chalet has an individual plunge pool with a terrace. The chalets are arranged around a paddy field, this does mean to get to your accommodation from the central reception / restaurant area requires a golf buggy or there are bikes available at each chalet for the same. Apart from chalets 1-4 that are close to the main area, you will need to use the golf buggy or the bikes, it is a fair way. However the golf buggies turn up promptly when call and the seclusion is excellent. The lighting in the chalets could be deemed as rather too clever for its own good, yes, it is centrally controlled from a touch screen in the bedroom, but contrary to some of the other reviews there are also override buttons in the living room and bathroom, so you can control it in these other rooms. The WIFI available both in the rooms and reception is superb, very fast and a real surprise for such a remote location - sufficient for video conference to show people back home your amazing chalet! There were also video on demand options which we didn’t have time to investigate.

The main area with the restaurant and bar is well looked after and the pool is beautiful (large and clean), however we did not see anyone using the pool during our stay probably due to the distance from the chalets or the fact that everyone has individual plunge pools.

Room service options are extensive and you can also order breakfast, lunch or dinner to be served in your own chalet. We did this on our first evening when we were really tired and it was a lovely treat.

Meals have no fixed times - the mantra is you can eat when you are hungry. It is most refreshing not having to fit in with someone else’s timings!

Staff were very attentive and it is a very professionally run location. We left wishing we had booked to stay longer. Make sure you leave some time to explore the grounds and chill to appreciate the beautiful setting.

The hotel has some horses on site for horse riding, we took the opportunity to take them out for an hour (cost £50 for the two of us), the horse are very well looked after. The guide cycles ahead and there is a route through to the local village along a reservoir which is pleasant to take.

I am sure that most of the guests were on Half Board, we weren’t and the A La Carte was expensive, with the cost of the dishes + 10% service + 14% other taxes. The quality and portions did not reflect the high price or the premium standard of the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was generally good with a fruit platter and English breakfast of choice, but egg preparation and cooking was inconsistent depending on which chef was in the kitchen.

There is a personalised greeting ceremony, involving lighting a welcome lamp and ringing some bells, which might delight some, but we really couldn’t appreciated it since we arrived very tired from travelling from Negombo and safari in Wilpattu.

It is a good location to visit Anradhapura from, especially if they have completed the extensive road resurfacing project. Wilpattu National Park is a good distance away approx 65km

In summary, really stands out and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 921 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

An all too brief stay at this wonderful destination. The chalet we stayed in was magnificent and the location was faultless. The food was great and the staff were excellent. All in all a perfect stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. A must visit destination for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The lodging experience was flawless from check in to checkout. The staff was great in welcoming us, serving us, and helping us in all aspects.
We enjoyed the dining experience in the dining room with the very local style ceiling fan. We requested room service for our breakfast and the staff came with all the food in a golf cart and set them up beautifully. One morning I requested local breakfast, and they delivered and served all the dishes as in a possession. Later, I learned that they didn't serve local breakfast as room service. But our host obliged when I asked him to.
My husband expressed that he liked bird watching. The resort sent a hotel naturalist to take him out in the morning. I am a runner and it was a joy to run around the beautiful hotel property as well as the rice fields outside the hotel.
The room was so spacious that we didn't have a chance to use all the amenities. We did use the plunge pool and it was amazing to have this experience, so beautiful and so private.
I agreed with another guest's comment that this hotel set the bar high for us in Sri Lanka, and it was the best we stayed at despite there were more expensive beach hotel we later stayed at. If I ever have a chance to come back to Sri Lanka , I will definitely want to experience this hotel again.
If you want to visit the cultural triangle in Sri Lanka on luxury, there is no better resort than this one.

Room Tip: WiFi was very week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Booked through agoda but mistakenly for one instead of 2, difference was $39 for an extra person on web-site, but on check out was charged an extra $300 for 2 nights! Firstly this location is in the middle of nowhere, but is listed as in Anuradhpura. Cost of taxi from Anuradhapura railway station is less than $20 at station or $50 if you book from hotel, taxis reluctant to go there because road is in very bad condition with loads of construction work along way. Location has many ponds and lakes, but resort fails to provide mosquito netting over bed which should be standard for hotels in potential malaria and dengue areas such as this. So need to bring loads of deet and your own mosquito net (which we luckily did). Not much to do in this remote location, kayaking, horse riding, archery, cycle tours are all charged at crazy prices. Ended up arranging our own transportation to leave hotel. OK if you want to pay over central London 5 star hotel prices.

Room Tip: bring your mosquito net
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monkeybreathLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at this resort for one night and I must say it exceeded my expectation. The service and attention to every detail was above and beyond anything I have experienced. I booked a 90 min massage at the spa, which ended up being 2 hours. The only downside was there was no steam room or sauna at the spa. The private pools, the four poster beds everything was divine. I would advise not to eat the beef cause they don't know how to cook it well, otherwise the food was also quite good. The road to the resort was under construction which was a hassle and caused quite a bit of delay. Otherwise this resort is a little piece of heaven!!!

Room Tip: The chalet with the pool in the patio, was my favorite.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and everything was wonderful! It is a 5 acre property with cabins set in the woods. You feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. The cabins are beautiful. Everything you'd want. A wonderful extra large comfortable bed looking out of the sliding doors onto your own deck and hot tub! There are peacocks everywhere and monkeys swinging from the trees. Breakfast is brought to your room each morning. A large plate of gorgeous fruit for me but you can have anything.

The paths to the main hotel are lit up at night and you can just stroll along for dinner or phone for a ride! You can also use the bikes that are allotted to each cabin! You can apparently get any meal at any time throughout 24 hours! There are paths all over the place. 2 kms and you that you can cycle around.

The pool is gorgeous. Probably 30 metres of an infinity. Water as blue as you could get. You can sit on the veranda with a g and t and across the lawn and watch the odd person float in the pool. Not a large hotel so not over whelmed with people. There is also a small gym overlooking the pool and a lovely spa.

They call this a resort but its not like any resort I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Ulagalla resort is a really unforgettable place to spent Your days. Fantastic chalets with a maximum of privacy and absolute complete with everything You need and also many, many more. Also the people here make it a great stay with there kindness.
Come to Sri Lanka and stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miephansnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
20.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 21 in Sigiriya
188 reviews
22.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,581 reviews
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
25 mi away
Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel
Lake Lodge Boutique Hotel
#1 of 19 in Dambulla
373 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Address: Thirappane | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range: $254 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing