We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay”
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did not see Ulagalla included in any of the luxury hotel listings. We were told that the hotel recently opened in 2010. The road from Dambulla is not well sign posted so we missed the turn but once found...it is an absolute find. Tranquil settings on acres of land. Each accommodation is a private luxury 'chalet' most with their own private plunge pools. The restaurant has considerable colonial charm and the food has been the best I have eaten so far in Sri Lanka (repeat visitor). The location is close to Polonnaruwa and Minnerya. I am now tempted to try the other two hotels this group has built ...one near Trincomalee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10mungbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 853 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our short stay (one night only!) was extremely pleasant and relaxing. All staff were fantastic, most attentive to our every need.
The property is gorgeous, with all the small chalets scattered around rice paddies. The chalets are quite spacious with a living room, a bedroom and a small wooden deck with a small private pool. The bathroom is very modern and well laid out. We didn't use the pool as it wasn't hot enough and the water was quite cold (heating the pool would be a nice improvement btw). We did however use the gym, which was very adequate.
We liked the fact that they provide 2 bikes for each chalet, so that you can actually cycle from the chalet to the main building. You can also ask them to send a golf cart but we preferred using the bike.
The food was pretty good and in generous portions, for dinner as well as breakfast. The restaurant becomes quite romantic in the evening.

Overally we thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Ulagalla, and we would definitely recommend you stay for 2 nights (but unfortunately our itinerary was a bit busy so we couldn't stay longer in that area)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKB_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Out of all the places I have had the privilege of visiting , this is by far the best. The location is just stunning . There is no better feeling than getting on a bike and exploring nature. The staff were spectacular . Mr Demel and Nuwan welcomed us like royalty. The food was exquisite . The chalet was a little piece of heaven. The only down side for me was not spending more than 1 day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanshia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The short stay that my wife & I had at the Resort proved to be one of our finest holiday experiences in the recent past. It was not just the tastefully decorated spacious Chalets, the excellent cuisine and the extremely helpful, friendly staff (which one may find in most Hotels of the same class) that made our stay delightful, but also the clean, green, peaceful environment which enhanced our appreciation of the beauty of nature. I was even induced into riding a bicycle along the meandering internal rustic roadway – an activity that I had not indulged in for over 35 years !!
So go to Ulagalla Resort and ring their Bells of Welcome. I know I will be doing just that as soon as possible

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Delano U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

From arriving you know you have reached a special place. The staff are all professional and accommodating. The location and the hotel itself is just fantastic. I had three days here at the start of my Xmas holiday and I will definitely return. Often the level of service starts at the top and I had the pleasure of meeting Lalin De Mel who went out of his way to ensure our stay was a pleasant one - Thank you Lalin!!

Well done all the team at Ulagalle! I look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at ulagalla resort for our second anniversary and had the best experience. We have stayed in several boutique hotels around the world and this was by far the best.
The surroundings were breathtaking and the resort itself was very beautiful. The chalet was very spacious and we found it very cozy n comfortable. The level of the service was exceptional and unarguably the best we ever had in Sri Lanka. The staff was friendly n well trained.
We also enjoyed the activities resort had offer such as archery n horse riding. Setting of the spa was beautiful but we thought that it was slightly overpriced.
It was a perfect two nights n we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uditha_Illeperuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were stayed here only 3 nights and which to stay longer. This place is beautiful and charming. Service is excellent. Staffs always happy and so helpful. It is the most memorable holiday place in Sri Lanka. The chalet is simply beautiful, clean and well decorated. Many activities for kids. We definitely come back and stay more longer next time. Thank you everyone in Ulagalla and please say hello to uncle. He is the best and so kind with our children.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-Anusorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,502 reviews
20.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
133 reviews
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
531 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range: $216 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing