We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Uga Ulagalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uga Ulagalla
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Ulagalla was simply amazing from the moment we set foot there. Warm and friendly welcome and excellent service was a shining example of how a hotel should be run. We booked half board for one night but within minutes of being there, we knew we weren't going to leave the hotel grounds and had it upgraded to full board and wished we could've spent a few more days there! The staff were absolutely fantastic! Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Special mention should go to Dilrukshi, Pradeep and Thushantha who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We were like old friends meeting up after a long time, playing pool, sharing stories into the wee hours of the night! Would definitely recommend to anyone and next time we are in SL, we will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 871 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our visit to Ulagalla Resort made our stay an memorable one for us. Wonderful accommodation, Food, and mainly the environment well trained staff do a fabulous job for the visitors. We had the most peaceful and relaxed holiday at Ulagalle. The Spa was excellent...

The unique way of the welcome is what I really liked ringing the bells. The eco friendly concept is well maintained. And having actual tea leaves is some thin different. The mini pool concepts, the organic garden where you can hand pick yout own vegetables and fruits.

We experience the palace for two nights check it out -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PdHus20-cE&list=PL_9DXC-0M0q4oyJA09CAKDeR3uvADDvdJ&index=4&feature=plcp

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roshan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Ulagalla Resort was a last minute decision on a long weekend in June. Driving to Ulagalla from the A3, we took less travelled detours along country roads to avoid travelling crowds. It was great from the word go. The peaceful drive, arriving at Uga in time for a sumptuous lunch, the grand welcome, the spacious and luxurious chalets (among the best we've stayed in Sri Lanka) and the fabulous food...The two days at Uga were of utmost relaxation. We only ventured out of the hotel to walk along the bund of a nearby village reservoir and watch birds as they came to roost in the evening. The resort provided ample space for walks, rides (on bikes for free or horses at a fee) or simply strolling. Our kids loved it.. the space, the horse rides, the food and especially the mini pool outside each room. The spa was divine. Definitely worth the visit. Definitely worth a second.

Room Tip: All the chalets looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tharuka d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here for just one night with my sister during our trip to Sri Lanka and we instantly wished we had booked a longer stay when we arrived. The hotel and grounds are absolutely stunning and unfortunately due to our short stay we just didn't get to see as much as we had hoped.

We loved the fact that were greeted so warmly by staff when we arrived, having them welcome us 'home' and ring a bell so that everyone would know we had arrived. I wasn't feeling in the best of spirits at the time as I had food poisioning but this welcome definately made me smile and we felt really welcome.

We had booked half board so breakfast and dinner were included in our rate. Unfortunately I wasn't well enough to sample dinner in the restaurant but my sister did and she said the food was fantastic. She's still raving about the chocolate dessert she had so it must have been pretty good! The restaurant and kitchen staff were good enough to send some vegetable broth and a smoothie across to our room so that I could have something light to eat and this was really appreciated. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide selection of pastries and the cooked selections were also delicious.

If there is one hotel which has stood out in my mind and made me want to return to Sri Lanka it has to be the Ulagalla! Despite not getting the opportunity to see more of the property, it has made me want to go back so that I can. They have lots of animals on property including horses, monkeys and rabbits and a huge swimming pool and spa and bikes so that you can get easily around the property. We also had our own private jacuzzi/plunge pool right outside our room as well and the room/chalet was huge with a nice large living area and bedroom and a lovely bathroom so we have lots of reasons to back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 228chantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our first night in Sri Lanka at Ullagalla could not be faulted. Warm and friendly welcome, fantastic chalets with the most comfortable beds. Delicious food and very friendly service. One night is not long enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our first visit to Ulagalla Resort made our stay an Unforgettable with lot of memories. Wonderful accommodation, Food, and the environment. Most credit goes to the staff as they were very friendly and most importantly they are well trained & knowledgeable!!! It is sad to say that we stayed only one night, but for the people who read this comment, we recommend that you should at least stay 2-3 nights...We hope that you as the reader would take these few words into consideration and include "Ulagalla Resort" to your travel itinerary! Cheers!

Room Tip: All the Chalets at Ulagalla are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arosha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Visiting Ulagalla resort during our last vacation in Sri Lanka was certainly the best choice we made. Our stay was initially for one night and with out hesitation, we extended it for two nights as soon as we reached there. The serenity and peacefulness of the resort alongwith the warmth of the staff strikes you on first impression. Uga was much more than what we had expected it to be. We had the most peaceful and relaxed holiday in one of the most luxurious chalets we had visited in SL. The care taken in designing the interior of the chalet was evident with every part of the chalet suprising us with its modern look and accompanying luxuries such as a plunge pool and deck area. The chalets are also placed to provide maximum privacy and seclusion to have a completely relaxed time. There's so much to see within the resort area too with every member of the staff treating you with utmost care and respect. Uga's efforts towards conserving the environment are also commendable with it having one of the largest solar farms in Sri Lanka, organic farm and eco friendly transportation within the resort. We left Uga with cherished memories of a wonderful stay yearning to come back next time we are back in SL.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sathyajith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirappane
22.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,517 reviews
20.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
137 reviews
18.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#8 of 16 in Anuradhapura
536 reviews
14.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anuradhapura
533 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#5 of 16 in Anuradhapura
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Ulagalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Ulagalla

Address: | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range: $224 - $833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Ulagalla 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Uga Ulagalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Uga Ulagalla Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing