We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Orchid Palace(North Central Province)
$26
$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel White House(Anuradhapura)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rajarata Hotel(Anuradhapura)
$40
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Vintage River Hotel(Anuradhapura)
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$75
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Flower Seven Hotel(Anuradhapura)
$27
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heritage Hotel(Anuradhapura)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $31/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$87
$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveler rating
863
121
13
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
121
13
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaplunge poolmain buildinghorse ridingulagalla resortcultural trianglepaddy fieldsgolf buggyliving roomour honeymoonmain poolorganic gardenattention to detailon stiltsnature walkstayed longerthe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing. It was our first stop in Sri Lanka, after the long drive from the airport we were totally blown away by the resort. The staff were all so friendly, welcoming and efficient. The food was delicious, some of the best curry we ate on the whole trip (and we ate a lot of it). The individual chalet / lodge was stunning; when we got driven up to it for the first time in the little golf cart it was like being a celebrity on an episode of cribs! I couldn't believe we had our own plunge pool. The bikes are a great touch too, we cycled to the main house for breakfast and came across a troop of monkeys on the way! It was such a shame we could only stay for two nights (one whole day). The best start to a holiday I could imagine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jigglyduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

What an incredible place, a Sri Lankan traditional home converted into 20 private chalets on a 22hect land. Service was beyond belief. A special note about mr sumanaratne, without him this experience will not be the same. Food was ok. Lots of things to do with kids, great place to relax, I am not a nature person but I loved this hotel, each chalet has a private plunge pool, you can eat at anytime you want at the club house, great plus point.... All in all a must visit if anyone visits Sri lanka. Well done to the team at ulagalla

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The only regret we had about this resort was that we could only stay one night.The welcome, the efficiency of all of the staff ,the accommodation, the restaurant and the food were all simply top notch. Bicycles provided for each individual chalet to explore the extensive grounds and a private plunge pool make this place an absolute ideal location for any visit to Anuradhapura and district. Really very highly recommended

Room Tip: All seventeen chalets are the same with either jungle,lake or rice field views and all are absolutely incredible. We think that one chalet close to the main pool does not have its own plunge pool
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treworder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Ulagalla resort is situated in rural Sri Lanka. The hotel has a eco-friendly concept which is admirable. It has a beautiful old colonial house at its centre, with surrounding chalets in the extensive grounds. The chalet we stayed in was beautiful, with almost all the modern comforts, including a private jacuzzi. It also had 2 bicycles, although one needed the tyres pumping up before it could be used!

The place, staff and food generally run a very high standard in comparison to most other Sri Lankan hotels, but when the hotel was busy we felt that the standards slipped a little. For example, breakfast was ordered the night before for 9am, but when we arrived for breakfast the next morning we had to wait 20 minutes before it was ready. Not all items ordered were served either.

Overall we were extremely happy with the service, and will certainly return again. The hotel is situated conveniently for the surrounding ancient cities and Buddhist monasteries.

Tourism has started to boom in Sri Lanka since the cessation of the terrible 30 year war. It is encouraging to see the development of the country and the tourism. However, tourism can be extremely expensive in comparison to most of the similar south east Asian cities and also perhaps to the European and North American standards. One would really think carefully before paying high hotel and restaurant fees and also the Sri Lankan tourist industry also needs to think carefully about their service and their charges if they wish to maintain the growth in the tourist market.

Having said this we believe that Ulagalla Resort are good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank docsunil5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The chalets are fantastic though the site of ugly plumbing under the concrete stilts is very off putting.

The staff are extremely welcoming, very friendly and probably a rarity in this country....BRAVO!!!

One slight hiccup with the staff: The ability of the waiters to listen and write down the order correctly (esp for breakfast in bed) is a challenge....the archery site (one target, set in a swamp) was laughable..I had visions of swimming over to the target to remove my arrows!!

The design in the main house is questionable...especially the water feature in the main recepiton....nice wires and grey plastic pipes sticking out all over the gaff....really! They have put large rocks in the most odd places.

I agree with other reviews...the menu needs to be alternated and a bit more mix and match. The barbed wire on some of the gates was odd....I thought I was in The Great Escape?

Very appealing to the kind of people who live in Ascot or Sunningdale....especially as they have decided to build a hideous Golf Course.....not sure that they know their target market...have you ever met Eco Conscious Golfers.....?

Toodle Pip.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMBP1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews