We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveler rating
877
121
14
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
877
121
14
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaplunge poolmain buildinghorse ridingulagalla resortpaddy fieldscultural trianglegolf buggyliving roomour honeymoonmain poolorganic gardenattention to detailon stiltsstayed longernature walkthe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
849 - 854 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We booked our stay having read about what a wonderful new venue it sounded, and IT IS !
However there are several points that were not the 5 star standard that it is listed as.
We arrived at the gates, and the gate man then phoned to the main house to alert them that we were arriving. We pulled up at the entrance courtyard, and there was not a soul insight. We walked into the house and looked around, even went and found the toilets, and still no one. This is not the way to be greeting guests at a 5 star resort. Eventually some staff appeared and the lighting the oil lamp ceremony took place, rushed, and it lost its true meaning.
We were driven to our villa by buggy, through the estate past padi fields, stables for the horses and the extensive grounds with viewing platforms onto the nearby reservoir as they are scattered around the large estate, and the villa was lovely. Raised up in the air on a platform, our villa even had a platform area in the large tree next to us where we could have had dinner served should we have wished it. Very beautifully furnished and with a very private plunge pool area with large double loungers, chairs, table, and umbrella.
Looking down into the area around the villa we watched peacocks strutting around, monkeys, mongooses, great squirrels and kingfishers, as well as numerous other birds in the trees. The bedroom area is large and with a four poster bed, and lounger chairs and a large trunk at the foot of the bed, the whole of the walls of the bedroom are windows with blinds,and to open them up in the morning and see the sun on the trees is quite a sight, The bathroom area is well equipped, with excellent shower and again a view onto the area below. The lounge area had a large flat screen TV and comfortable settees and lighting. The furnishings are first class and the selection of coffee and loose Sri Lankan teas most welcome.
There is a very large swimming pool and Spa near the main house
but with your own pool it seems a shame to leave it .
The meals are taken in the main house and you just ring for a buggy to collect you. Food is good but service could be better. These points were raised with the management while we were there, as it is a shame that some small issues are spoiling such a fantastic place, and we hope that should we return the small issues will have been resolved.
It is a place convenient to stay for visiting the historical and cultural sites of Anuradhapura and for relaxing in a wonderful setting away from the stress of everyday life. We wish success to this new venture, and thanks to the young guest relations lady, who was very helpful at sorting out the problems.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrfc169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here for three nights from 11th -13th February. Right from the start we realised this was somewhere special when we were welcomed by Lalin, the manager, with a small Buddhist ceremony. The resort is set in around 80 acres, but only has 21 chalets in the grounds. Ours was set on a small hillock, with a separate bedroom and lounge, all beautifully appointed. Outside was a small private plunge pool, sun bed and seats to enjoy looking out at the monkeys, peacocks and other birds in the trees. There was plenty to do in the resort, including swimming, cycling, horse riding, kayaking etc. Unlike a previous reviewer we found the service excellent. When an aircon unit broke down, they were round to fix it within 2 minutes, even though it was late evening and the repair took over an hour as a new circuit board was required.

The main criticism of the resort was the food. There was too much western food and insufficient Sri Lankan choice. Whilst the food was nicely prepared, it tended to arrive lukewarm rather than hot. However the views from the dining area were beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eurogolferoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Excellent villas all with private pool. Service staff helpful and friendly.They work very hard to make your stay very enjoyable.

Eco-friendly resort. LEED certified. Many activities to do in the resort intself including kayaking, horse riding, archery and bird watching. Amazing amount of flora and fauna located within the resort itself.

Would have been wonderful if not for the fact that it rained the 3 days we were there. Property not made for rainy weather but have received assurances from the manager that changes are being made about this.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_LTLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We spent 4 idyllic days here from 5 – 9 Feb. At first we were a little disappointed that the rain prevented us from sightseeing in the area, but this turned out to be a blessing in disguise. From the comfort of our well-appointed chalet we began to notice the abundance and variety of birds; the silver langurs in the trees in the morning and on the lawn in the evening; the night sky drenched in stars. The highlight of our stay was an impromptu guided bike ride – attentive staff noticed us on the observation deck one morning and offered us to fetch us binoculars. One thing led to another and we soon we were cycling out of the compound along the tank through a village to a Buddhist shrine on a hill where we were treated to a glimpse of the seldom seen purple faced langur sitting on a tree branch in the jungle.
If we had a quibble about the place it would be that the kitchen is still finding its way - we would have liked to see more local, Asian, and lighter fare on the menu. But overall, our experience was magical and we hope to go back again. P.S. Do try the spa – the signature massage was superb.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gonebamboo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

This resort is in a fabulous area with wonderful birdlife. The ecologically built bungalows on stilts were clean, modern and enormous for one couple (we had a bungalow for parents, one for two teenagers). The food was very good, and the chef happy to cook beyond the menu. The service had some teething problems, but the management responded to our comments within our three day stay (which was too short). We used the pool and the gym, went riding, enjoyed the books in the lovely bar area, used the pool table. We all felt very welcomed and had an extremely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlinadorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews