We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, peaceful quite caravan park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Parks – Lake Hume
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here in a powered ensuite site with our caravan. The park is set a little drive out of Wodonga but very worth the stay. The gardens are well manicured and the park is kepy very tidy and clean. Our ensuite was clean however full of spiderwebs which appeared with a little steam! Kids loved the jumping pillow and the inground trampolene. We stayed here out of school holidays so was very quiet. We wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went to the park for a birthday party as part of a group. Stayed in a very neat and tidy cabin with a terrific view of the lake. Plenty for the kids to do - jumping pillow, trampoline etc. Great hosts - very accomodating. Hope to be back for longer soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at boathaven recently and we ha a fantastic time. The park was excellent, and we had no issues with any of the staff. We enjoyed our so much that we have booked for Xmas.
What a great place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrstripleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed at Boathaven. First, the positives:

The location is beautiful and the grounds are well maintained. The facilities are good although you have to pay to use the bbqs and the pool closes early. The lake itself is absolutely stunning, and there is nothing more peaceful than waking up to bird songs and a gentle breeze.

And now, the bad:

This place is ruined by arrogant staff who seem to think that they are doing you a favour just by serving you (something that they are paid to do). I'm not sure whether this is because the place is very busy (during our stay anyway) and therefore Boathaven did not care about keeping customers happy. Whatever the reason, what is the point of having a holiday if the stress of dealing with staff leaves a bad taste in your mouth?

Certainly, the beautiful scenery was soured by the poor attitude of the staff and the lack of customer service.

Come to this place if you can minimise your contact with staff to a simple check-in and check-out. However, if you have small children or any needs which might require a caring person who is interested in helping you than avoid this place (and save your sanity).

Boathaven the actual caravan park is beautiful. That's probably why it's busy. Pity this slice of natural beauty is ruined by the arrogance of the staff. Personally, we won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking the staff for help for anything outside a routine check-in and check-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Reviewer053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This place us not to be missed. We only stated here one night on our way through, but I wished we had stayed longer. The pool area looks over the Hume dam. It's really well maintained. We had an unsuite site, which unfortunatley didn't have shade, but was clean and really well looked after.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stay 20th to 23rd September 2012.
My business facilitated a 4 Day Scrapbooking Retreat at the Boathaven Holiday Park. The accommodation was perfect, and the Entertainment facility was more than adequate for our needs. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The kitchen facilities were great too. Would like to see ramp access at the Entertainment facility in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrapville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

stay 2nd-4th April 2012.We had a lovely break staying at this park.We went with another couple and we both have 14 year lod boys.When we arrived after a long day the boys couldnt wait to go to the pool.It was 5.45pm,hot and school holidays.They arrived back and told us the pool was shutting at 6,also the trampoline and the jumping pillow soon after.It was so dissapointing for us all.the rules for everything are so strict.We have stayed at lots of places and have never come across this before.We usually go to Sunraysia Resort in Mildura and everything is open until late,thats what a holiday is all about.Not sure if we would go back if all these rules stay the same.Apart from this we could not fault the staff or facilities.Everything is extremely well kept,we had a lake view cabin and it was sparkling clean and modern.The pool is lovely and the grounds are very well kept.If you like quiet you would love this place,it was extremely quiet as you arnt allowed to make any noise at night and kids have to be in their cabin quite early.For us,we live on a farm and its quiet all the time,it did lack that holiday atmosphere.I think things may be open a little later when daylight savings is on.Overall a beautiful place that would certainly suite elderly people and maybe people with little kids.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clancey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Parks – Lake Hume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Lake Hume

Address: 33 Boathaven Road, Ebden, Victoria 3691, Australia (Formerly Boathaven Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ebden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ebden
Price Range: $72 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks – Lake Hume 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From military relics to gold rush history and rebellious bushrangers, you'll love the diversity of a holiday at Discovery Parks - Lake Hume (formerly Boathaven Holiday Park). Just over three hours from Melbourne and Canberra, this is a resort-style holiday park by the Lake Hume. Swim, fish or hire a boat at the lake, enjoy the on-site pool and tennis court or explore some of Victoria's local history. See The Man from Snowy River Museum in nearby Corryong. Experience the charming gold rush town of Beechworth, or relive Ned Kelly's last stand in Glenrowan. Discover Australia's military history at Bandiana Army Museum or taste your way through the Rutherglen Wine Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Discovery Parks – Lake Hume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing