We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Breath-taking and calming experience”
Review of Karpewadi Agrotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nagaon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karpewadi Agrotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Nagaon
Reviewed May 28, 2012

After searching for a place to just lift my feet and hangout, from the Taj to the MTDC hotels, I found Karpe's wadi, the ideal place that gave me all I wanted. Amazing beach, amazing food, amazing people. After being awarded by the government for its agro tourism, the hotel has managed to keep its prized quality... which is simplicity.. intact. The rooms were comfortable and just right for family needs. Spacious toilets in the Sea Fort rooms. I was reminded of the scene from the movie 'The Beach', when Leonardo Di Caprio has a first view of the beach in Thailand. It felt the same, singing and chirping birds, surrounded by trees and ultimately a beach beckoning to comfort your senses. I was awestruck with its serenity. The beach wasn't like the one in Thailand, but it was empty just for us. To add to the pleasure of my 4-yr daughter, the food was just the way we wanted, home cooked and delicious. My husband asked for Jain food and undoubtedly he got the best there was.
All in all, I will be going back with a bigger group and have a ball.

Room Tip: Go during the Winter season for added comfort. It can be hot in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anusug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 112 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

We went to this place recently to celebrate our parent's anniversary.
Few things we liked: Karpe Wadi is very close to the beach. It is a very well maintained property. Ideal for chilling out away from the city. The service is prompt. Veg food was good.They were considerate to prepare Simple Dal for kids.

Some negatives :
The prices were exorbitant. We paid around Rs. 20000 for 2 rooms, six people for 2 days, 1 night. The basic package of Rs. 15000 included 2 rooms, veg food only. We paid extra for Non-Veg food, which was also expensive and not very tasty (Konkani food is supposed to be spicy and aromatic, the food was not at all like this). The rooms are basic. Moreover there is no AC or even Cooler in the rooms and it was quite hot at night. Although the property is clean and well-maintained, we felt the prices to be too high.

Karpe Wadi is a good spot to visit in winter, when the prices will hopefully be low due to off-season.

Room Tip: Veg food is good. But if you prefer non-veg, you may eat at some other place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vipula_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

It has been worst experience in Karpewadi,We booked it online 2 AC rooms and after reaching there with family .The owner lady told there is no AC room available we have already given it to some1 else.Such terrible Gold Diggers what is the use of then online booking.On top of that that Owner lady started shouting and complaining that take nonAC room .In such Heat it was unbearable with all metal sheet roof .With 3 year old children and grandparents we were in no man's land.When we asked for return of money that lady told she dont have we will transfer it later..This was the response we got ..As name suggest Karpewadi itself is 3 Graded place to stay ...So be aware be4 going....

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank nikh0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
architkarpe, General Manager at Karpewadi Agrotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

I believe that you were confused between a resort and an agrotel. We do not have AC Rooms and so the question of rooms being allotted to someone else does not arise. We do not take online bookings, all bookings are done on the phone by the owner personally. Our website has all the details about our facilities, charges and the available facilities. I request all our future guests to please go through our website and understand the concept of agrotourism before booking with us. I again say you will be dissapointed if you come to us with a resort in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were taken aback by the weekend package that cost us Rs 4000 where you check in on Saturday at 10 am and check out on Sunday by 6pm.However breakfast, lunch and dinner are incuded. Non-veg meals can be pre-ordered and cost extra. If you pay Rs 5000, you get a nicer room closer to the sea. The Rs 4000 package got us a cottage at the back.
Karpewadi's biggest draw is a private path to the beach with black sands and a flat seabed and the scenic casuarina trees. Secluded from the main Nagaon beach which is about a kilometer away but a good idea to walk to eat at the stalls selling Maggi noodles and more.
The rooms are clean but a bit sparse and they try to pass it off by saying they're its an environmentally friendly agrotel, however a little customer service won't hurt. The hammocks are great to lie in but beware of coconuts falling from the trees overhead. We watched a coconut crash into a plastic chair just a few feet away from us, and knock it down. The management could tie safety nets around the coconuts as the hammocks are tied to the tree trunk. Not the nicest feeling to be smashed on vacation.
Despite a few setbacks, I'd go back to Karpewadi's simply because no resort in Nagaon comes close. This is also a dream beach for photographers. Very surreal and special.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beautifuldrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I have visited this place a couple of times with family. The owners personally oversee the day to day activities at the agrotel and are warm hosts. The rooms are spacious and clean and there are plenty of hammocks around to laze in. They serve great fresh vegeterian and sea food.
The resort has direct access to the beach which is thankfully some distance away from the Nagaon beach.
Water sports are also available on demand. I have had a GREAT time here so the place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monkcola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We went to this resort in Jan 1st week. We were total 4 families. The resort location is very good, has own private beach. Plenty of space for kids to play. Rooms are average and food was very ordinary. When u pay around 6k for 1N and then you get ordinary room and ordinary food its really disappointments. Feels like being cheated. For that much charge you get excellent room and food. I will try another hotel next time..

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitpatil0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We started for Karpe wadi from Pune and reached there around 12:30 pm. The first impression was pretty good. The entire place is surrounded by coconut trees. We were greeted with a welcome drink of coconut water. A caretaker guided us to our room. The rooms are well kept and the ambience is pretty good. People around there are nice and will always help you with a smie (which is rare to be found)!!!

Vegeterian food is included as meal. If you wish to take non-veg, you have to pat extra. And believe me, it is not that expensive out there. An average size pomphret/ surmai is 100/-.

The best thing that I like about this place is the closeness to the beach. 50 - 60 mtrs, and you are there. Sparsely crowded, probably all the people there will be from the resort itself. The resort guys can arrange water sports for you.

We did not go, however, we saw people going to the beach at night with electric lanterns provided by the resort. You need to go there before 10 pm only.

In all, very good place to visit for family, couple and friends. They do not provide alcohol which I think is kind of good.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea fort rooms and rooms above 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kalyan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagaon
4.4 mi away
Big Splash
Big Splash
#16 of 17 in Alibaug
105 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sea Shell Resort
Sea Shell Resort
#4 of 6 in Murud
87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bougainvillea, Nagaon
Bougainvillea, Nagaon
#1 of 10 in Nagaon
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sia Resort
Sia Resort
#5 of 17 in Alibaug
73 reviews
9.1 mi away
U Tropicana Alibaug
U Tropicana Alibaug
#3 of 17 in Alibaug
682 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Farm
Coconut Beach Farm
#7 of 10 in Nagaon
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karpewadi Agrotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karpewadi Agrotel

Address: Suruche Ban, Satad Bandar | Alibag, Nagaon 402203, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Nagaon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Nagaon
Price Range: $287 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karpewadi Agro-Eco tourism hub practices sustainable management and encourages you to do so too. Located just 100 kms from Mumbai and 155 kms from Pune, Karpewadi is an ‘agrotel' where proximity to Nature is the central theme. For those who crave for action, there is private beach access, a range of activities to choose from onsite and a number of sightseeing destinations nearby. Professionally managed services, a no- compromise approach to providing basic creature comforts and the best quality home- cooked cuisine ensure that you are well taken care of. Maybe that's why 75% of our guests keep coming back. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karpewadi Agrotel Nagaon, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing