We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So great we stayed a month!”
Review of Ciaran's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palolem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ciaran's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2008

We arrived on the 39 hour train from Delhi and managed to get the last free room at Ciarans. We were very impressed with the effort that had been put into the huts with nice touches such as the large mirror in the room, extra pillows, warm showers and the hammocks.

We intended to stay for only a couple of nights at first but completely relaxed into the laid back atmosphere and friendly service at Ciarans and ended up staying for a whole 4 weeks.

We really enjoyed the inclusive breakfast each day which kept us full up until the free tea and cake each afternoon. We spent many a happy hour propping up the bar or relaxing whilst perusing the feast of free books in the library.

The price of the huts is more than other acommodation on the beach but if you want to stay somewhere that is clean and has lovely surroundings including a beautiful garden, relaxing shaded library and bar/restaurant then this is your ideal spot.

For the extra money that you will pay at Ciarans you are getting more for your money with exras such as free lockers, free water refils as well as the breakfast, afternoon chai and little touches such as incense and burners in the room. There will certainly be travellers that are not interested in the extra touches and are more concerned with value for money as they are on a long trip or a tight budget but for us it was just what we were after and made the place more special.

The manager Mervin and the staff including Boop behind the bar and John the owner are very friendly and helpful and a great bunch of guys.

I will definately stay at Ciarans again if I was to visit Palolem again as it is in a great location and spent many happy days there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 513 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2008

I first stayed at Ciaran's with my young daughter 10 years ago and was delighted with the proximity to the beach, the friendly staff and attention to detail. Since then we have visited a further twice and have been amazed at the changes to the surroundings and accommodation each time. In my opinion Ciaran's continues to evolve for the better, still keeping the things I loved from our very first visit (the great staff, willingness to help/advise and unique huts). The food was fantastic, especially the inclusive breakfast which was enough to keep us going throughout the day. The management were very friendly, helpful and always someone around to ask any questions we may have. The prices have risen but felt we got value for money as it is such a stunning place.
Palolem beach itself is my favourite in Goa and have always loved the swimming here. It has become much more built up over the years but I don't think this detracts from the area, just gives more choice on places to eat/shop at.
This latest trip was spent mainly at Colva/Benaulim beaches but both myself and my teenager loved our time in Palolem the most.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We spent 10 wonderful days at Palolem beach. The coconut trees, the sun, the beach, the sunset and of course the cows roaming the beach were all magnificent!
Ciaran’s is an excellent choice for the more up-market accommodation at Palolem. Our hut was right on the beach with its own private balcony and hammock where we enjoyed a breeze while relaxing with a good book or an afternoon beer…It was surrounded by coconut trees and came with a private, clean bathroom with warm water. The restaurant, overlooking the beach is a great place for a drink during the sunset. Mervin, the manager, is extremely helpful and is keen to make your stay at Ciaran’s pleasant. It is defiantly one of a kind on the beach!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Palolem Beach was a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. Stunning sunsets, abundant seafood and picture perfect palm trees. The water is not as clean as Sydney Beaches, but definitely swimmable and warm. There are no established hotels just huts with varying levels of facilities and comfort erected extremely close together all along the beach.

Ciarans has probably the best huts on Palolem beach - but boy do they know it. This is what you get for Rs 3500 per night:

An ensuite hut, with deck on the roof overlooking the ocean. The hut has "eco-friendly" walls that are as sound-proof as a tent located adjacent to the kitchen so you are woken up early and can't sleep until late.

The power blows a fuse several times during your shower so the water is cold and lighting is poor. The poor power also means food refrigeration is ineffective and we got sick from the milk served with coffee. (We had some great meals at Dropadi Restaurant, with proper refridgeration).

When we asked for some soap in our room, management replied "we don't carry soap" (and they charge Rs3500 per night!). It is also "compulsory" for you to use the lockers for your valuables - am I back at school???

Finally, we had to pay a 50% deposit and the balance on arrival. This is so when you get here you can't go and stay at the other huts that offer much better value.

Palolem was traditonally a back-packer destination and Ciaran's treats its guests like badly behaved backpackers. Funnily enough no backpacker can afford to stay here!

It's not hard to just rock up at Palolem Beach and find a place to stay - even during peak periods. Go to Palolem, just don't go to Ciarans.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JoB1Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Spotted around a lush garden with palm trees and lizards, little bungalows sit, at Ciaran's. Each bungalow has a balcony with a hammock to lie in, as the sea breeze comes right off the beach into the garden. Leaving the property, you walk straight onto the beach. After a dip, there is a fresh water shower in the garden to enjoy. The restaraunt at Ciaran's overlooks the beach, with big white umbrellas and candles at night. Each evening, the fresh catch is displayed, so you can take your pick of fresh seafood. A complimentary afternoon tea is servied at 4 every day. From Palolem you can hire motorbikes and canoes, or laze back on the beach enjoying local curries at lunch, and cheap as chips cocktails at night. One of the best places I have been.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Glasgow28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

We booked a sea facing hut at Ciarans for a week. Our first impressions were - wow! Our hut was spotlessly clean, comfortable and very stylish. The restaurant is lovely, with great food. However Palolem beach has become highly developed with bars, restaurants, even karoke! This all adds up to a lot of noise generally, but the main issue at Ciarans is the noise from their own restaurant. Loud music, people talking - I resorted to earplugs but could still hear everything that was going on. This situation was made worse by the fact that - stupid me - I had paid half the fee when I booked and agreed when Ciaran's insisted I pay the balance on arrival. After that, it got quite tense as I realised how bad the problem was and tried to negotiate moving to the hut next door or a refund - it was really pretty stressful. Also - they say on their website they have the most comfortable beds in Goa - don't believe it, they're as hard as rocks! I would have happily left if I had not paid up - had lunch a few times at Cozy Nook, and think I would have enjoyed it much more, even though it was much more basic.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tulip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

This was our first time in 'budget' accommodation, so can't compare with anything else for the purposes of this review. The property responded quickly to our requests for information and in making a booking, and the arranged transfer was at the airport to meet us. We booked two rooms, one sea-view hut and one air-conditioned room in the back building (which we ordered in case it was too hot). The view was lovely from our hut, which came with mosquito net, towels, incense and an overhead fan. One thing that takes getting used to is the level of noise... the walls are made of coconut fibre so you hear everything – from the restaurant next door, people on the beach, the new arrivals talking loudly until 3.00am, and the people in the hut next door packing at 4.00am! I guess this is usual however and won't come as a surprise to beach hut veterans! The restaurant looks out over the beach and serves good food at really cheap prices (especially if you're used to used to big-city hotel prices), but the service is slow. Our two day stay cost us under Rs 2000 for food and alcohol. A large breakfast is included in the price and the porridge is highly recommended! The second room we had booked was in the main building and we chose it because it was airconditioned. This was disappointing and for most of the day the airconditioning didn't work (the power continuously cuts out), although we were assured this doesn't happen at night. The room was dark with a musty odour, there were bugs and I would not have chosen to stay there if that was all I had. We actually spent almost no time in the room – although it was handy to store our bags, as it was more secure than the beach hut (though lockers are provided for your bags if you stay in the beach hut, I can’t imagine that would be very convenient). Would we go back? Possibly – although for a short stay it is a long 1.5 hour drive from the airport – and as we have said, we have no experience of other properties to compare it with.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palolem
1.4 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palolem Inn
Palolem Inn
#5 of 9 in Palolem
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.7 mi away
Bhakti Kutir
Bhakti Kutir
#5 of 19 in Canacona
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciaran's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciaran's

Address: Hno 233/A, Palolem Beach,Behind Old Syndicate bank, | South Goa, Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona > Palolem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Palolem
Price Range: $31 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crescent shaped bay of Palolem Beach is lined with swaying coconut palms. In the heart of this idyllic location lies Ciaran's, a handful of boutique beach cottages set around lush green tropical gardens. We hope you can join us in this breathtakingly beautiful corner of Goa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ciaran`s Hotel Palolem
Ciaran's Goa/Palolem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing