We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Break”
Review of Hidden Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palolem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Garden
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50th Birthday Break”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Can't wait to get back.. Spent 4 weeks in Nitesh's huts which were very clean and comfortable with cold water showers..an hour before sunset the water was warm from the days sun. Bathroom is equipped with a western style toilet. Had no trouble sleeping, bed was very comfy, sheets were clean and provided, as was a mosquito net. The huts are enclosed within a pretty screened garden, all are equipped with a balcony, outdoor seating plus hammock. A gazebo with lounge area is provided, along with a selection of books to read. Expect to hear noises from the local wildlife, monkeys occasionally, pigs, dogs etc...mainly seemed to be once in evening and then again early morning, personally I enjoyed feeling close to nature. Great community feel to the area as well whilst we were there. Free Wi-Fi is available. Nitesh is always on hand to organise or advise/point you in the right direction and is a great host, nothing seems to be too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

and we are already counting the days till we can return, tucked away only 2 minutes from the beach, very peaceful but only a short walk to the beach, bars and restaurants.
Spacious and well equipped, secure huts with an excellent free wifi service.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owner Nitesh, Nitesh also picked us up from and took us to the airport, helped arrange a giant birthday cake and surprise boat trip for my wifes 50th and was a constant source of advice that we regularly turned to.
Thanks for the fantastic hospitality Nitesh and we'll see you soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark24cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights. The huts are basic, but very clean & welcoming. There is no hot water & we thought this was a problem until we tried the shower & it was fine. The garden around the hut is constantly cleaned. As dusk arrives , so does the owner with mosquito burners . No bites here at all. We also had a visit from a troop of monkeys that made it all the more enjoyable. If you need a taxi to the airport they will also sort that out for you.
altogether a great finish to a 5 week holiday & the beach & the food in Palolem is to die for...

Room Tip: There are only 5 huts so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindajean1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were originally meant to be staying at Lotus Oasis on Patnem beach but we were left stranded at the station at 4.30am when the agreed pick up did not turn up. Luckily, we had taken down the number of Hidden Garden and Nitesh, despite not having a room that night, came to our rescue and picked us up. He arranged for us to stay at the huts next door and sent someone to get us when there was a room free the following day. It was this example of friendliness and service that led us to change our stay from one night to four nights.

The location, for us, was perfect.The Hidden Garden is not situated on the beach and is at a quieter end of the beach (1-2 minute walk) which meant that we were able to escape the noise and bustle of Palolem beach if we wanted but were also near enough to the action. The five beach huts are in a secluded area which meant that the area was always well kept and as two, young females we felt safe.

The Hidden Garden does not have a restaurant or any catering facilities but this was not a problem as a two minute walk to the beach opened us to a great choice of restaurants.

The only down side to the Hidden Garden was that the beds were not very comfortable, but this is common in India. The room was also not cleaned throughout our stay which was a little problematic in the bathroom with the collection of sand however I do think that if we had requested for this to happen, it would've been cleaned.

To round this off, the seclusion of the Hidden Garden and the honest friendliness of Nitesh made our stay an absolute pleasure and I would definitely recommend it to all.

FYI... I found it quite difficult to track down the website so:
http://hiddengarden.in/

(oh, and they have wifi!!!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasminers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have travelled in Asia for over a year and this is by far the best place we have stayed! Lovely bungalows in a quiet garden setting 1 minute walk from Palolem Beach! 24hr wifi (a rarity on Palolem) Even though there are only 5 bungalows a woman spends her whole day looking after the area! Nikesh and his brother David really went out of their way to look after us, really friendly and generous people! We would recommend this place 100% and hope to be back there one day! Palolem in general is a great place to spend a few weeks! Thankyou, Dave & Alexia

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Dave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Lovely accommodation with lovely owners. There are only 5 huts meaning it is peaceful and not crowded. Only a 2 min walk to the beach making it a tranquil place to relax and easy access to shops and restaurants also. Nitesh also offered to pick us up from the bus station at 5:30 in the morning at no charge and had our beach hut ready for an early check in which was a great relief after a dodgy overnight bus ride. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buntaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Staying at Hidden Gardens was a real treat: the owner is friendly, honest and reliable, the accommodation is exactly as shown in the pictures and Palolem generally is a wonderful place to visit. The fact that Hidden Gardens is a 5 minute walk from the beach is great as you don't get the noise of the sea, or restaurants and bars. However, don't expect silence and complete tranquilly as Palolem is a vibrant and popular place both with tourists and a range of wild, highly vocal animals. Great stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flisschase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palolem hotels
0.0 mi away
Dreamcatcher Resort
Dreamcatcher Resort
#3 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Touch Beach Huts
Royal Touch Beach Huts
#8 of 50 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuba Premium Beach Huts
Cuba Premium Beach Huts
#14 of 50 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Shades
Sea Shades
#4 of 50 in Palolem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Trees Resort
Palm Trees Resort
#3 of 50 in Palolem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridge N Tunnel
Bridge N Tunnel
#15 of 50 in Palolem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden

Property: Hidden Garden
Address: Palolem, Canacona, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona > Palolem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Palolem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Goa/Palolem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing