We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
16
10
2
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16
10
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews german bakery hot water ram sita benny wardrobe india huts beach guys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 33 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

RAM at Shawnel’s Beach Resort went out of his way to look after us and make our stay comfortable and relaxing (he even sped to the train station when we forgot our phone charger). The rooms are simple but clean, the garden beautiful and it’s just a short walk to the beach so it’s quieter and less frantic. We enjoyed our week long stay.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Y6819XFbrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

We enjoyed our week at Shawnels. Ram and Francis are both lovely guys. The room was clean and comfortable and about a one minute walk from the beach down a little track. About two minutes to the main road and some great restaurants.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful gardens surround the simple huts. Tastefully decorated and all have en-suite facilities. Close to the beach,a few minutes walk to the sea,(about to go for a sunset swim). It is peaceful & quiet with lovely & obliging staff. A bargain slice of paradise. Not 5* perhaps, but delightful. Will certainly return to Shawnel's!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank vicranah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

We have been coming to shawnels since 2006 and have stayed here many many times over the years and have stayed here with our grandchildren and a number of friends who have all fallen for the charms of shawnels. We have stayed in many places in India we have always returned here because we have always found it comfortable and relaxing and the staff have always welcomed us as old friends as they do with everyone. The rooms are clean with clean bedding hot showers and all the rooms we have stayed in have had A.C. laundry service is available at a very small cost and Fatima does a great job of cleaning our clothes. There is also a taxi service. The staff are great and Ram will go out of his way to help you in anyway that he can. Ram and Francis keep the place looking beautiful. The owners are Benny and Sita and are friendly and always happy to see you. We have read the negative comments and find they are completely untrue. We have NEVER seen any of the staff be rude or disrespectful to anyone over the years. Ram is very polite and friendly and many people find the place so charming they come back year after year. Benny and Sita have a wonderful asset in their staff and we thank them all for giving us this wonderful place to stay. Remember this is room only not bed and breakfast. The German bakery is less than 2 minutes away for food and drinks. We can't recommend this place highly enough and would say come and see for yourself what a beautiful place this is.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank DerbyshireEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

I have stayed in Shawnels every year for the past 3 years and look forward to the peace and tranquility. The gardens are beautiful and it is a delight to sit on the balcony and watch the bird life. The rooms in the resort have no TVs and there is no restaurant and for this I am thankful as sometimes in India in is difficult to find peace and quiet. The German Bakery is on the corner and there are many restaurants within a 10 minute walk. The lack of a restaurant has never caused me any inconvenience and keeps the ambience and tranquillity of the place. The walk to the beach takes about 5 minutes through the palm trees or a little longer by road. Again I find this a plus as it's good to get away from the hustle and bustle of the beach area.
There are different standards of room depending upon ones requirements and budget. The cheapest rooms are made from ply wood as they have to be dismantled every year as per council requirement. These are the cheaper rooms and although are more basic are clean and comfortable. There are brick built individual rooms and also 3 brand new rooms built this year. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed.
Ram is a delightful manager and nothing is too much trouble. If anything is needed, for example, room cleaning you only need to ask and it is done straight away with a smile.
I have read some of the negative reviews and too be honest I find them unfounded, unfair and vindictive and at times petty.
I'll definitely return and am enjoying time here. My favourite place in Palolem

Room tip: The newly built rooms are great as are the brick built rooms.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank christine0493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews