We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Fresh Food, Great Rooms & Views, Good Service & Secure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palolem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papillon Beach Huts
Ranked #14 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Palolem
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Fresh Food, Great Rooms & Views, Good Service & Secure”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Papillon for 2 weeks, We asked Heaven (the owner) to arrange a taxi for us for when we got off the plane. When we arrived at the airport there was a driver waiting for us with our name on a clipboard.

We stayed in beach hut D1, it had 2 floors - 2 single beds down stairs with the bathroom and a double bed + balcony upstairs. We have never stayed in a beach hut before and we were sceptical before we arrived, however we were pleasantly surprised when we were showed to our room. It was clean and tidy. The balcony overlooked the whole beach (see pics) and was enough for 4 people to relax comfortably. The Location of Papillon is perfect its towards the bottom of the beach which is nice and quiet but only a 5 minute walk along the beach to the 24hr bars which do get a bit crazy.

The food at Papillon is the best on the beach by far. We tried various restaurants - some much more expensive and nothing compared to the range of food & quality at Papillon.

Food was reasonably priced and drinks were also cheap. Papillon had fresh fish every day and the waiters would get it cooked to your desire.

Heaven booked all of our trips: Spice Plant, Fishing trips, Elephant Ride & Wash and Trips to the markets.

All the Staff were friendly and they have a security guard of an evening that puts your mind to rest.

Me and my girlfriend walked along the beach each day and walked into other beach huts & restaurants and we were happy we choose pappillon.

We will be returning in December 2013 and we will be staying at Papillon - If you stay here you won’t be disappointed.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: D1 is one of the Deluxe rooms and was very spacious, especially as there was only 2 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GLENAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    18
    11
    5
    11
See reviews for
11
49
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited Papillon beach huts in March 2013 and was orginally staying for just the week, after 3 days we extended our say to 2 weeks because we loved it so much! We stayed in hut D1 and it really was out of this world, the view we had across the beach and at sunset was amazing.. Yes the huts are basic and you're likely to have a few insects or an odd lizard visit you, but afterall, you're staying in a beach hut, in India.. What more do you expect?
Heaven, the owner is great - a brilliant man that will do anything to ensure you enjoy your stay. Very helpful and around to answer any question or recommend things to do and see. Amit was our waiter for the full 2 weeks and went above and beyond his duties - he really added to our whole holiday experience and made it that much more special.
The food at Papillon is the best on the beach, without fail.. We done our best to try everything on the menu and one after another, they never failed to impress (definitely recommend trying the Red Snapper - infact, try everything!)
Thank you to all the staff at Papillon for helping us have such the perfect holiday, we can't wait to come back at the end of the year!! Glen & Faye.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I went for a holiday trip with two of my friends. We stayed in the standard family hut, which is Rs.1500/night. The room seems to be fine, the bed was clean and the bathroom was ok when we reached. However, the main light in one bedroom and the door of the bathroom cannot close. We tried to ask the hotel staffs to fix it, but that's never happened. So we have to stay like that for 3 nights. The bathroom has a big hole, so we have to block it with the plastic shower curtain because it's big enough for anyone to just peeping into it. However, it's near the beach and really peaceful because it's at the end of the beach; the food was ok. Personally, i wouldn't recommend if you are girl and travelling with few girlfriends. At least for me, i didn't feel safe there. So, just avoid it is better.

Room Tip: The hut, but don't choose the one that near the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tangkwa0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

There are beach huts and more beach huts in Palolem, but Papillon is the best, especially given its very reasonable rates. Papillon is at the far end of Palolem beach, which is part of its charm. This is the best place to swim and the view is not blocked by parked fishing boats. There are two beach facing duplex shacks which directly face onto the sea. We stayed in a duplex shack just behind those, which had a partial view of the sea. In the afternoon, when the breeze blows strong, it's a pleasure sitting in the open balcony upstairs. The shower in the loo works fine and is so convenient if you keep going into the water and then come back out for a beer every few hours like I did. Papillon's restaurant is good value for money compared to the others on the beach. The breakfast menu is especially good. But it doesn't offer "buy one get one free" deals on cocktails in the evening like many of the others do.

Room Tip: It's okay if you don't get one of the (more expensive) sea facing beach hut. The ones that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dibeyendu g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The team at Papillion made our holiday very special looking after all our needs. Huts are clean, the food is amazing and the hospitailiy of Heaven and his team is out standing. No request was to much. On a family holiday we were made to feel at home and as if we were VIP's. Thank you every one for making your holiday so very speacial!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenF590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been coming here for several years. Each year the huts have been upgraded & improved from previous year. I only ever stay in the standard huts & have always had a fantastic time there. Beds are very comfy complete with mosquito nets, Beautiful views, Fantastic food. Great Prices on Food, Drink & Huts. Would definitely recommend it to anyone & everyone. Staff are great & cant do enough to help. Even organized a birthday cake for me! I, like loads of other annual travelers always go straight Papillon because it is simply the best both in value & service. If you want a little more luxury then the Deluxe huts are great, but I always stay in India for several months & the standard hut although simple, offers all I could ever need: Comfy Bed, Toilet & Shower, Large Mirrors & each with their own garden or balcony with table & chairs. One of my favorite things is a hammock hung between the palm trees & is a really great way to chill & relax if you need to get out of the sun for a while. I will be back again Next Year & the one after & probably every year for the foreseeable future. Well done Heaven, Arif, Raj & all the other staff who make everyone's stay so enjoyable & become good friends to all who stay.

Room Tip: S16 has 2 palms trees right outside so go buy a hammock for about 1000rs & hang it outside the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hi!

My name is Lindsay and my friend Carky and I just stayed at Papillon for one week and LOVED it. We even convinced our two British girlfriends to leave Mumbai and come meet us and they too LOVED THEIR STAY HERE.

Cute, clean beach huts with fans and bug nets and the basic beach showers that you need for staying on the beach. Restaurant food is great and super close to this amazing Greek food place down the road!

Staff are all SO SO FRIENDLY and speak great English and they make a fabulous Masala Chai tea, very Indian authentic and you should definitely try it!

Can't wait to come back at another point in time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayBotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palolem
1.0 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bhakti Kutir
Bhakti Kutir
#6 of 19 in Canacona
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cuba Premium Beach Huts
Cuba Premium Beach Huts
#11 of 52 in Palolem
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palolem Beach Resort
Palolem Beach Resort
#26 of 82 in Canacona
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abel Cressida Coco Huts
Abel Cressida Coco Huts
#31 of 52 in Palolem
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Beach Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Beach Huts

Property: Papillon Beach Huts
Address: Ourem, Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona > Palolem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Palolem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the peaceful south side of the beach is Papillon, the perfect place to unwind and experience the unique beauty of Palolem.Papillon began life in the season 2007/08 as a beach bar and restaurant and has now evolved to include quality accommodation made from natural wood and bamboo, and ayurvedic massage centre. Papillon is run by Heaven with valued support from their team of hard-working, friendly and helpful staff who believe that nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillon Beach Huts Goa/Palolem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing