We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dreamcatcher Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Palolem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I loved this higgledy-piggledy mix of candy painted beach huts, nestled amongst some hectic palms and finished with a fine selection of fairy lights and torches, so you feel a galaxy away.

Ok, so it's not directly on the beach, but you'd struggle to find somewhere as clean and pretty as dreamcatcher on Palolem and you can still here the waves.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabbages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 193 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

Dream Catchers is nestled towards the far end corner of the Palolem beach, but is definitely a must stay! If your' interested in a peaceful stay, which is few steps away from the gorgeous beach, this this is the place.

Huts: comfortable, clean and basic huts to accmodate 2-3 people. Comes with mosquito nets to avoid any trouble, hot water available, porch with table and chairs to relax. Can choose from huts facing the lake, or closer to the beach or nestled between other huts. None of the huts have any beach view, but that's not the criteria at all.

Location: Amidst palm trees, quiet and precisely less than 2 minutes walk to the beach; strategically located between residential huts so all the more safe. Its few minutes from all
the the great shacks, market or restaurants.

Price: affordable pricing! During season time i.e. October to Feb you can huts going for over 2000-3000 per night (per hut) on an average. During off season i.e. March - April it can cost you anything between 1000-1500 per night (per hut). In the last few weeks of April this place starts shutting down (often called as camp).

Staff & service: the team running the place is very helpful & courteous, making it comfortable and enjoyable for all. Not at all intrusive, let you relax on the holiday and a shout away for any help. The staff here is honest and have no inclination for tips or monetary favors.

Massage services are available. Restaraunt is open only during season time. One can log onto their website and sepak to the team for bookings or price negotiations.

We definitely enjoyed our stay (4nights) and will opt for the same place if back at Palolem.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank POOJAbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is my second visit to Dreamcatcher as it is just perfect. Nestled in between palm trees and beside a river you couldn't ask for more of a idyllic place. We stayed in a hut over looking the river which I would thoroughly recommend as you get more privacy. The huts are basic but clean and safe. They supply fresh white towels and cotton sheets which were changed everyday. Our hut entitled 'peaceful place' certainly lived up to its name. The only noises to be heard were from falling coconuts, Tropical birds, an array of insects and the odd monkey jumping onto the roof! We sat on our terrace every evening watching the sea eagles and kingfishers. (take plenty of mosquito repellent!) There was even the odd crap skulking around! Every evening a man came round with a handful of incense sticks for our terrace, these little touches made it lovely.We stayed 9 nights and were very sad to leave. Even though it is more pricey than some places it is worth the extra money. While your there go on a dolphin boat trip with Dev and a boat along the river with Vincent, both trips were brilliant. Bring on next year!

Room Tip: Choose a hut by the river, they are more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Have just returned from a holiday in Goa at dream catchers.We thought that the bungalows were in a lovely setting with lots of lovely plants around and the river view bungalow was secluded.
The bungalows are quite basic,as are all the bungalows in Palolem. But when we got used to them we really enjoyed our stay there.
The bungalows have hot water for the showers and are clean, if you want extra cleaning this was done every other day at no extra cost with clean sheets and towels provided.
We found that the staff were really helpful and Harry our manager sorted out any little issues we had immediately.
The laundry service was really cheap and I enjoyed using the spa facilities .
The beach is lovely and clean and it is so cheap to live in Palolem and there are some relly good resturants to eat at in the evening.
The restaurants provide you with sun beds, if you eat and drink at their place during the day which I thought was a really good deal.

Room Tip: River veiw was a nice room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I have to say that this was the place to go to totally chill out after experiencing the mayhem of N. India!! the hut that we booked was spotless - but I have to say - very basic! but the hotel was well run, and the location was perfect - just a stroll to the beach!! management were more than helpful, and not intrusive, but there if you needed them. The restaurant was lovely, with staff that were just wonderful - especially Khan - he was our waiter, and just a delight! I would certainly go back again, when back in Goa.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dusty066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just back from 4 nights at Dream Catcher. (23rd - 26th February).

We stayed in a [more expensive] class E cottage, priced at 3000 (£40) rupees a night during the high season. Important to note that 10% also gets added to that figure. 'Tax' I was told.

You will find a list of tariffs & descriptions here: http://➜.ws/Ow

Dream Catcher is a 5 min walk (up the coast) from where most people enter the north end of the beach. Although not on the beach itself, the Dreamcatcher cottages (there are about 50 of them) are in a great spot. Far enough away from the beach to feel safe/peaceful but close enough to be sunbathing within minutes of waking up.

We stayed in a cottage facing on to the lagoon and close to the restaurant/bar. (Number 3 was ours). Not a breathtaking view from the cottage itself, but reasonably private and certainly no one to disturb you as you sit on the porch.

A mozzie net was provided over the bed, and was in a good state, as were the 2 towels left out for us. The double bed was comfortable, and the ceiling fan worked well, if a little loud!.

No Mozzie coils were left out so make sure you bring some. There wasn't much of a breeze during our stay (protection of the palm trees & cottages, I guess) so mosquitos could definitely be an annoyance to you...we got some pretty big bites.

Major gripe:

Hot water is advertised but we didn't get any. There must have been some getting in to the shower system, as the water coming out of it was hotter than the cold tap running out of the sink, but to advertise a "hot shower" is certainly a bit of a stretch. You might think you won't want/need any hot showers, but my fiancee and I did and we certainly felt that we'd paid for it. So for hot water not to be there (and for the staff not to really care when I told them about the lack of it) was a bit frustrating. After all, 3300 rupees a night, is expensive for Goan accommodation.

The food in the restaurant was good but we only ever had coffee/breakfast/lunch or an evening drink there as we wanted to enjoy the sounds and atmos of the beach at night (if you want to eat somewhere nice, then you must must must go to DROPPIDIS - it is right by the beach entrance, a 5-7 min walk from Dreamcatcher - and if you do go there you should try the Seafood Massala, it is the best sea food dish I have ever had). AMAZING.

The setting of the restaurant at Dream Catcher is great tho, right by the lagoon and wonderfully lit up with a huge number of lightbulbs hanging off the trees, it's pretty idillic to be honest. They play music from a computer (lots of Adele when we there there) and you can even get WIFI if you sit near the bar. You will be very happy sitting there gaving a Kingfisher (100 rupees for a large one) while your girlfriend/fiancee/wife spends forever getting ready.

Other things:

Don't expect the cleaning staff to come in and clean your cottage during the day, unless you go and give them the key. The lock on the door they give you is pretty sturdy but you should go and drop your valuables at reception where they can provide you with a locker (take your own padlock if you wanna be extra cautious).

It's a noisy place int he mornings, mainly due to the cottages not being fully sealed up buildings (i.e the roof is not flush to the walls, so you hear everything happening right outside.) The birds (crows) are noisy as hell and will almost certainly wake you up in the morning.

WIFI is free, but it's not amazing. It might let you post a facebook/twitter status, or let you check your emails but don't expect to stream anything! You don't get it everywhere so you have to pick where you sit tactically. I could sometimes get one bar of wireless in my cottage, but often that just disappeared.

Be careful of falling coconuts. It sounds funny, but they're bloody dangerous, and Dreamcatcher is teaming with Palm trees...ready to dispatch a nut on your head at any moment. To be fair, the grounds staff were harvesting them when we were, partly to use them but also for safety I guess, which was good.

There is a great little book swap shelf at reception, so don't take hundred of books, I took one and left one & that was perfect.

The bathroom layout is pretty poor, with the sink far too close to the wall and shower, and that coupled with the lack of hot water makes for a fairly poor bathroom experience.

They do yoga, massages and ayurvedic treatments at Dreamcatcher, so there's plenty of hippy stuff to do if you're not in to partying. I preffered to sip beer while the missus went for a massage.

What more can I say? 8/10 overall.

Why? Too expensive for what it was (relative to GOA prices) and just not quite clean and shiny enough in our cottage for it to be truly relaxing.

But it was very special place in its way. The staff in the restaurant/bar were friendly, helpful and always there and you won't tire of the setting.

Go there but don't go top end (of the cottages) and end up paying too much.

Don't go there thinking you're gonna have a 4 or 5 star experience. Beautiful tho it is, it is not a hotel, it is still just a beach resort. Wooden cottages under palm trees.

I'm giving it a 'very good' because of the setting and the feel of the place as much as anything.

There may be better in Palolem but you won't be disappointed as you sit there having a beer, not-quite-clean, listening to adele, being bitten by mozzies waiting for your woman to finish doing her make-up. Dreamcatcher has a good heart, and that goes a long way.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The location of Dreamcatcher is lovely...on the river and just set back from the Beach and peaceful. The huts are basic but clean and colourful. We would have stayed longer here but the manager was very off-hand with us most days...he would have the odd day when he would say hello and smile but most days he was offhand and rude. Maybe we caught him at the bad time, but its not really the way to treat paying customers. A shame as otherwise a great place. The yoga class at dreamcatcher is excellent though and well worth getting up in the mornings to go to. Wendy is a great teacher and even though we moved to other accommodation on Palolem I still went back to Dreamcatcher every morning for the yoga.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palolem
1.8 mi away
The Tubki Resort
The Tubki Resort
#2 of 9 in Palolem
301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bhakti Kutir
Bhakti Kutir
#5 of 19 in Canacona
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palolem Inn
Palolem Inn
#5 of 9 in Palolem
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.5 mi away
Dropadi Inn
Dropadi Inn
#9 of 9 in Palolem
52 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anantra Sea View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamcatcher Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamcatcher Resort

Address: | Far North Palolem Beach, Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Canacona > Palolem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Palolem
Price Range: $27 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamcatcher is located in the north end of Palolem – right beside at the enchanting spot where the Arabian sea meets the tranquil lagoon that stretches between our northern shore and wild green hills beyond. We have over 50 unique, individually designed cottages tucked away in more than three acres of lush tropical gardens, an outdoor restaurant with a charming deck overlooking the breathtaking sight of the lagoon and the surrounding wilderness; a yogashala – cum- retreat centre, the best ayurvedic spa in South Goa, and staff that is dedicated to making your vacation a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dreamcatcher Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamcatcher Hotel Palolem
Dreamcatcher Resort Goa/Palolem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing