We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Troia one of the best porguese beaches”
Review of Troia Beach

Troia Beach
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Troia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Troia one of the best porguese beaches”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The sightseeing is outstanding, the sea water crystalline and the dolphins adorable. This peninsula has been completely recovered and modern hotels and apartments replaced the 20 year old buildings. A must try ...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gndias01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    149
    30
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice beach for swimming”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This beach, along with Portinho de Arrabida, were the only ones we found available for swimming in the greater Lisbon area, the rest being more suitable for surfing. We walked past the first organized beach which was closer to the marina and continued to the next one closer to the Aqualuz hotel. The water was fairly clear, as was the sandy beach (the stupidity of some of us who like to bury cigs, orange peels etc in the sand was present here and there!!). We hired umbrella and 2 sunchairs at the price of €15, which felt quite much, even if the person responsible informed us that the whole set was reserved for us for the whole day (in the long run it was quite convenient that we had our place reserved when we came back to the beach after lunch, but we still thought €15 was quite pricy). There was a kiosk where one can buy water,coffee or refreshments. Moreover, there were both toilet and showers nearby, which made the whole experience better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Aneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent beach surrounded by nature.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Beautiful white sand beach peninsula. There are a lot of options for accommodation like hotels, resortes or particular houses for rent. The best way to get there is drive to Setubal and get a ferry from there and if you're lucky you'll see some dolphins playing around. There's also some nice beach bars and restaurants in the area. Don't miss the archaeological roman ruins a couple of km away.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isaac A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“a cement experience, very snobbish place”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Well, it is not my type of seaside place: condos, condos, cement, natural scenes which looks artificial.

the beach is very beautiful, but all in all, i would definitely recommend somewhere else in Portugal for a seaside experience. same for Sol Troia

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank beingandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great beach just outside Lisbon”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

In Troia you can experience a really great beach. It's beautifull, great for swimming and I've never seen it crowded, not even during the busy summer months. It's very close to Lisbon You can either take the ferry in Setubal (it's about 15€, car and 2 passengers included) or go by car until Comporta and drive again a little bit to the north. For sure you will have a great day!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank d_povoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troia Beach also viewed

 
Setubal, Setubal District
Troia, Setubal District
 

Been to Troia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing