We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Ponta do Muta
Ranked #8 of 40 Marau B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have been there three times, one week each time, and we intend to go back next year. Very well located in front of the beach with a wonderfull view. The young lady owner is always around and everything works perfectly. The staff is really helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBPrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had the chance to experience the wonderful Barra Grande on our honeymoon :)

We stayed there for five days and were very well looked after by everyone. The Manager/Owner Debora took extra delicate care of us on this amazing time of our lives. The receptionist was very helpful with suggestions on what to do in the area and her english was good and clear.

The buffet breakfast that was included had fresh local produce with a huge variety of juices, fruits, pasteries and breads. For lunch and dinner there was a fine selection of local drinks (pitanga caipirinha) and food to choose from we were overly pleased with everything we had.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhiannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I've stayed at the Pousada Ponta do Muta with a friend for a few nights and couldn't have experienced better service combined with a touch of friendliness and professionalism!!! Instalation and location are perfect and highlight was to enjoy stunning sunset from my courtyard being treat to a fresh crayfish with salad along with a sip of the best "caipirinha" I've ever had during my travels to tropical countries!
Congratulation and thanks for being part of my dream holiday in hot, sunny and happy Brazil! Hope to be back soon...new years perhaps!

Room Tip: All rooms are meticulously clean and well serviced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

After 3 delicious days we are shure this is THE place. Very nice winter weather, 27C sunny days. Some rain at night.
Debora the owner is very helpful.
Dont miss the shrimps and palm heart at Tapera Restaurant.
Free wifi looking at the sea...
Best way to get here is from Ilheus, then 90 minutes with a taxi driver recomended by the hotel, then 90 minutes on a boat and 200 meters walking on the sand.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We arrived in Barra Grande by car driving from Trancoso, crossing Itacare and after a VERY BUMBY dirt road. The first night we spend in Pousada Tamarindo, but next day we found Pousada Ponta do Muta and fell in love with it

The service is very good, que bedrooms cozy and free wi-fi. The best of all the garden go all the way to the beach. The break fast is complete and the manager can help you booking a boat trip to the bay or a car to Taipus de Fora beach.

Very recommented pousada!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zamorano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

This is a little piece of paradise at only 30 mins flying time from Salvador via Morro de Sao Paulo. Or you can come overland from Salvador by boat,bus and boat taking a full day.

The Marau peninsula is a gorgeous stretch of protected coastline with beaches to the calm waters of Camamu bay and kilometres of beaches on the wilder ocean side.

Barra Grande is a small village with sand roads,exuberant vegetation,friendly people and a cute little centre full of bars and restaurants with a really nice atmosphere in the evening.

I stayed at the Pousada Ponta do Muta, the best place in BG.The pousada has 10 rooms and a reception building set in gorgeous garden with direct beach access. My room was extremely comfortable and even included an umbrella...being the tropics it does rain!

The team at the Pousada are a real delight...Fabiana, Andrea, Mareluz... Fabiana speaks great English. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful....ideal swimming waters.If your feeling fit you can walk all the way down the coast to Taipu and back stopping at bars along the way for an agua de coco or something stronger!

The pousada offers a splendid breakfast, and cake and coffee in the afternoon. They'll go out of their way to show you all the good places to go.

Food wise I ate splendidly, most particularly at Donanas next door to the Pousada where Aninha serves the most wonderful Bahian cuisine.The restaurant is a real romantic spot. Go with someone you love,listen to the tropical sounds,look at the stars,drink a few caipirinhas,eat the most fabulous moqueca and be soothed by Aninhas great collection of blues and jazz.

Barra Grande is a place to go and relax...disconnect from the nonsense of the world...smell the flowers,sip an exotic suco at Roselanges...and, if you must ,check your e mails at the internet cafe.

Go before the reaper knocks on your door.


James,Andalucia

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cactusjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vista mar são os melhores
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _cleyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Débora F, Proprietário at Pousada Ponta do Muta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marau hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Porto da Barra
3.9 mi away
Taipu de Fora Inn
Taipu de Fora Inn
#4 of 40 in Marau
254 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pousada Velas e Vento
Pousada Velas e Vento
#4 of 5 in Taipus de Fora
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kiaroa Eco-Luxury Resort
2.3 mi away
Viking Inn Boutique Hotel
Viking Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Taipus de Fora
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Barrabella
Pousada Barrabella
#11 of 40 in Marau
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Ponta do Muta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Ponta do Muta

Address: Rua do Anjo s/n | Barra Grande, Peninsula de Marau, Marau, State of Bahia, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Marau
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Marau
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Ponta do Muta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sua Pousada a beira-marNa Pousada Ponta do Muta tudo e feito pensando em voce. No seu descanso, no seu lazer, na sua felicidade.Ficamos de frente para o mar, com o pe na areia. A 150m da Vila e 200m do cais. Localizada em Barra Grande, na Peninsula de Marau (BA).A comecar pelos dez aconchegantes apartamentos (Apto Superior com vista mar, Apto Terreo com vista mar e Apto Jardim sem vista mar) todos equipados com ar-condicionado Split, ventilador de teto, telefone, minibar, TV, DVD, Secador de cabelo e cofre para o seu total conforto.O cafe da manha, caprichado, inclui sabores e aromas tropicais (bolos, tortas, paes artesanais, geleias caseiras, sucos naturais, frutas da estacao, tapiocas) que despertam os sentidos e energizam o corpo para voce comecar o dia com ainda mais disposicao.Depois, a tardinha, voce pode curtir um magico por-do-sol, deixando-se levar pelo embalo da rede ou harmonizando-se com o vai e vem do mar. Entregue ao doce prazer de namorar, ler ou, simplesmente, nada fazer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Ponta do Muta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Ponta Do Muta Brazil/Marau, Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing