We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Casa del Puente
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Casona de Quintana(Quintana de Soba)
$111
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Zalama(San Pelayo de Montija)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Casona de San Pantaleon de Aras(San Pantaleon de Aras)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Ruedas(Laredo)(Great Value!)
$68
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amalurra(Artzentales)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cosmopol(Laredo)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
210
49
20
3
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
49
20
3
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdel puentela casathe ownerthe rivergreat placesmall hotelfirst nightstunning scenerylocal areavalue for moneynational parkdinnerbilbaogroupbalconydishesspain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 294 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for a lovely week - the service we received was spectacular and the hotel and surroundings are lovely! We spent a week in July and were extremely well received, in fact, como en familia :0)))

We are looking forward to returning and seing you all again!

Copenhagen, Denmark

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel recently won a Trip Advisor award and having just spent a week there I can say it is well-deserved. It is a truly exceptional place, with lovely, airy rooms, comfortable beds, outstanding staff and a very good restaurant with a set menu that changes daily, offering a choice of four dishes for each of three courses for 15 Euro with wine. Lovingly restored by the family which owns it over several years, it was built as a mansion back in the home country by a Spaniard who made his fortune in Argentina in the 19th century. They did a fantastic job. All around are the Cantabrian mountains with their caves, and not far away, the coast, great for lazing or surfing. Go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a beautiful, and tastefully decorated, well appointed 'Gran Gandara' suite with our 2 teenage children. We had a large sitting room, with great balcony over-lookiing the river and the terrace, a large double bedroom with a very comfortable bed, and a very up-market bathroom (shower) The kids had their own rooms and bathroom in adjoining accommodation.
Its a magical, quirky, and friendly small hotel. We ate at the hotel every evening as the food is wonderful, and the 3 course menu del dia is extremely good value for money. Emilio and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is not much English spoken, which was fine for us with 2 Spanish speakers in our group. The whole area is very un-touristy; it attracts holiday-making Spaniards from the hotter areas further south.We didn't encounter any other English folk in the time we were there- which was great! Its a fantastic base for walking etc, but make sure you get yourself a decent local map before you get there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indigolotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Have spent the last week here and have been delighted by this beautiful small rural hotel. Excellent suite (large double room with huge bed for me and my husband and twin room for our boys). Really comfortable beds, lovely decor and excellent, friendly service from the manager and his staff. The restaurant is on a delightful terrace and each evening a three course menu provides delicious food at excellent value. This is a warm, welcoming, child-friendly hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank CH3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arrived after a pleasent Brittany Ferries crossing to Santandare took about 1 hour 15mins to get this Hotel in the hills. Was well worth the effort of the drive to get away from the 'ferry trap' hotels that are near the coast.

The owner Emilie, can speak English, slowly, if pressed.

He went to extrodinary lengths to accomodate us (that included looking after my rag-top sports car) for which we were very greatfull. He has invested all his money in this venture, he and all his pleasent staff seemed determined to deliver.you must go

He called in the chef early for us, so we could eat early and fall into bed. We had a beautiful room that I would discribe as a suite, (having stayed at the Watergate Hotel, Washington DC) this room was as wonderful as it was different. We watched the bats flying up and down the river outside our window for 20 mins, before having a peaceful nights rest.

Wonderful breakfast in the morning before leaving at about 10am. Emili was full of suggestions for the day of things we could see and do in the local area.

Beautiful countryside and drives surround this hostltrey, but we had our Spanish Pirineos / Pyrenes mission to get through.

With all the up market hotels we did on this trip, I was left wanting to return to Hotel La Casa del Puente as it represented superb value and quality in a very peaceful setting. It was 120km away from our last planned destination, but I regret not returning .... it would have saved me a packet as well. Did I mention the brilliant meal we had... 10 out of 10. Thank youn Emili for restoring my faith in being prepared to offer high service values for a fair price

Mention BOSCH South Wales for a superb extra service level. THANKS EMILI :)

Room Tip: Hotel La Casa del Puente BRILLIANT
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilarymw_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews