We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone off the boil somewhat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cinnamon Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Cinnamon Lounge
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gone off the boil somewhat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I gave this restaurant full marks in my first review back in 2011, as then it was very good, however since the beginning of this year (2013) it has gone off the boil somewhat. Their main staff disappeared to the new restaurant in Harborough, and they replaced them with not very experienced staff, including the kitchen staff, they suddenly just could not cope with anymore than a couple of covers. They started to get orders wrong and there was an incredibly long wait for the mains most of the time. Cold plates did not impress either. We kept going however as we love the setting, it is a character filled old thatched farmhouse in a lovely village, and we hoped they would get back to their former glory days but no. Finally their meet and greet guy, Ash, disappeared too and that was the final straw for us. The food is good when you get it, what there is of it, very small portions, but it not worth the price, you can get a better deal elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaTeaCup12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have eaten in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Loved this place , food was fabulous and services was great . Small and tasteful restaurant . Prices were really great to .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jules549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level Contributor
140 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Only Indian in Medbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Medbourne is a pretty village on road from Market harborough to Upppingham. Cinnamon is in an old pub with rooms. They still haven't changed the pub signs to show the new name. WEnt on a Thursday night whilst staying at Nevill Arms. Very quiet, we were only people (wife and self) for first hour having arrived about 8 p.m. Another couple arrived about 9 p.m. Not sure if its always so quiet or if it has a bad reputation. Staff excellent food was very good, slightly pricey. Would go again but hope a few more people go also, nothing worse than eating in an empty restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rubymanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cant complain on a decent curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

had a meal here saturday night what can i say friendly and good service i think this is a place to come and revisit again and again no complaints and excellent night in general.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good curries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great tastes and smells. They have taken a very old building and made it into a lovely restaurant. The food is brilliant and the staff are friendly. Great to see they have also opened in Market Harborough.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Waldry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cinnamon Lounge also viewed

Medbourne, Leicestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing