We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit -Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 St. James B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We loved the 4 nights we spent at the Blue On Blue. The setting, nestled on the hillside amongst other residences with established gardens and wonderful views of the ocean from the bedrooms and from the terrace, this place is just a dream! It is easily accessible by car or train, 2 minutes to beautiful walks along the ocean and to the seaside main street with funky shops and restaurants. The house itself is charming, very clean and comfortable with interesting local artwork displayed everywhere. The hosts Nadeem and Yoliswa couldn't be more genuinely welcoming and helpful. Don't miss a trip to the township with Nadeem who will introduce you to local art and crafts people. The breakfasts hot and cold were excellent, abundant and healthy. Cant say enough. We would love to go back for a third stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 251 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

We loved Blue on Blue! The location in picturesque St James was perfect for our wanderings into other areas of the Cape or for relaxing with a good book and gorgeous view. Lovely gardens, vineyards and the many sights of Capetown are all easily accessable from this beautiful setting. Because our stay was short we were delighted and grateful to Nadeem and Yoliswa for being our tour guides as well as cooking up a delicious daily breakfast to start us on our day. Their detail to our comfort and service as well as their extensive knowledge of local customs and culture heightened our appreciation and pleasure.We left Blue on Blue wanting to stay longer...cannot recomend enough.

Room Tip: The main master suite has a terrific view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

All of my expectations were exceeded. A block from the ocean, with a view to prove it, in the heart of an area saturated with historical relevance (Cecil Rhodes' thatched roof cottage is less than a mile away) as well as art galleries and seaside shops. Nadeem and Yoliswa were ideal hosts, cooking up a delicious South African breakfast every morning, and Nadeem's insights on our day trips were essential for getting the feel and flavor of Cape Town. The BnB also has a unique tie to the township of Khayelitsha: the owners of Blue on Blue support an art center where township artisans can sell their wares and gain notice internationally. Experiencing this firsthand gave me insight into the realities of township life, which is far removed from the ritzy tourism of Cape Town. I can safely say that in my short trip I experienced a wide spectrum of South African life, thanks to Blue on Blue and its wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Had the pleasure of spending several nights. I really grew to love the place for both the location and the people. Hot breakfast got the day started right. Just being here gives you a clue about the best artwork to look for, and you can search to your hearts content in the shops within walking distance, then catch a meal at one of the fine cafes or restaurants. And everything has the background sound of the rolling surf. heavenly!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAOneAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

On our first trip to S Africa we chose this delightful B & B and we feel it was absolutely the right choice. The personal touch from Nadeem and Yoliswa really made the difference while we were in their care. Wonderful hot breakfasts or cereal and yougurt with the freshest fruit got us going in the morning and with Nadeem as our guide we felt we had the local's insight to the Cape region. The hardest thing really was tearing ourselves away from the nearly 180 degree bay view windows in our master bedroom upstairs. And for all that's exotic in S A it really felt like a little bit of Southern California beach town away from the bustle of Cape Town. Many heartfelt thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Endorse all the other positive reviews of Blue on Blue. Nadeem and Yoliswa provided us with great personal insights into life and history in Cape Town and South Africa as well as fantastic hospitality, great room, stunning views. The trip to the township is essential to really understand some of what is going on in the Country.
Thank you for such a warm welcome and true hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easterntravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had never been to South Africa and wanted a personal experience of it, which is why we chose to stay in a B&B rather than a 5-star hotel in Cape Town's CBD. The great reviews of Blue on Blue convinced us that it would offer a rewarding experience for our three-night stay. We were right! We are so grateful to Nadeem and Aliswa for giving us a truly wonderful holiday and a rich experience of South Africa - including its scenery, wildlife and people.

I was delighted to see wild seals, penguins, zebra, ostriches and baboons on our day-trips with Nadeem - and even to stroke a cheetah! Learning about life for the residents of the huge township (shanty town) was fascinating. Meeting many of them on our visit there was joyous.

We felt quite safe walking to Kalk Bay each evening for dinner at wonderful local restaurants, and buying clothes from the shops along the coastal road on our last day.

This is the place to stay if you want to really get to know South Africa. We stayed in the Master Suite which was beautifully clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wongatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. James hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
St James Manor
St James Manor
#3 of 7 in St. James
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodwell House
Rodwell House
#5 of 7 in St. James
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St James Homestead
St James Homestead
#4 of 7 in St. James
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Sandhurst Road, St. James 7945, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > St. James
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. James
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue On Blue, a charming B&B at the foot of the Silvermine Mountains, is ideally situated one minute from the beach. Our romantic upper floor guest rooms feature panoramic views of False Bay and the Cape Peninsula. Walk to the tidal swimming pool, seaside tennis court, nature reserve, and local cafes & antique shopping. Centrally located between the city center, Cape Point and Winelands. Whale watch from your room (August-December)! We provide secure parking and personalized tours upon request, including in-depth visits to artist collectives and cultural community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast St. James, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing