We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW! This is the best guest house ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St James Manor

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
St James Manor
Ranked #2 of 7 St. James B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Umtentweni
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“WOW! This is the best guest house ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and loved every moment of it. We were treated like royalty and nothing was too much for the staff. It was the perfect location - overlooking the sea and within walking distance of the restaurants in Kalk Bay. I have been telling everyone I know about it and I would love to go back. I have never stayed in a place with such attention to detail.
The rooms are big and beautifully decorated. Underfloor heating and very comfortable beds and pillows.
The guesthouse itself is beautifully decorated.
Great breakfast. Amazing wine selction.
The staff were fantastic. Especially Gilbert who made us feel right at home and he couldn't do enough for us.
I can highly recommend this guesthouse for anyone who wants to spoil themselves and be pampered.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
George, Western Cape
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I recently stayed a night at St James Manor House in one of their suites which was very spacious and luxurious. The attention to detail is what you would expect from such an establishment and the sea views from my suite and the patio were picturesque. The hospitality of Carol and her staff were of the highest standard while respecting the guests privacy. The only downside were the road works happening along Main Road but hopefully this should be completed before the end of 2011.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West Fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Manor seems to be on it's first legs, for example, no diet cokes in the bar. But they had fixed this problem by the next day. The bar is open, included in the fare. We had a medium suite (second largest) and it was very big, very relaxing, nice furniture, and quiet. Breakfast was included and whatever you wanted, to your order. It was too cold to swim but I jumped in a very clean and nice pool anyway. Poolside is comfortable. The view is now of the beach (there is a road between the Manor and beach) but rumor is that there will be a building on the open lot between the Manor and beach, which would hinder the view.
The area seems safe and clean. We walked at night without problems. When my wife needed a medication the manager drove to get it, and was happy to do so.
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The smallest suite does seem small. Get the second largest suite if two or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotdogr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenilworth
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Having been on the Orient Express from London to Venice we were planning to do the Blue Train from Pretoria to Cape Town. However, when we organised it, it turned out they were going the other way on the dates we wanted. After a bit of searching on the internet, found the Rovos Train was going the way we wanted on the dates we wanted.

On arrival we were met by the owner of Rovos, never experienced that before! He took the 200 odd people through what to expect over the following 3 days, which certainly met his and all our expectations.

The food was great; the accommodation better than the London Venice Orient Express (lot more room); and the open viewing car on the back of the train a great experience. It was also interesting in meeting so many different nationalities on the train.
A great start to our first holiday in South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. James
7.4 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Colona Castle
Colona Castle
#1 of 1 in Lakeside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
12.7 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
St James Homestead
St James Homestead
#5 of 7 in St. James
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Manor

Property: St James Manor
Address: 108 Main Road, St. James 7945, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > St. James
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. James
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St James Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately St James Manor has an aura of grandeur and old-world charm with a magnificent wood-panelled staircase and five large en-suite bedrooms each individually decorated to reflect the opulent times of a bygone era. Just a short walk away is the charming St James beach and the quaint Kalk Bay village that offers excellent restaurants from rustic, local cuisine to fine-dining experiences. With the world-famous Cape Point, Boulders Beach and Cape Winelands a short distance away, the St James guest houses are well positioned for guests looking to experience the best of Cape Town in comfortable luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your St James Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Manor St. James, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing