We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Cannot wait to see this place grow!”
Review of Macadamia Castle

Macadamia Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.08*
and up
Byron Bay Day Trip from Gold Coast Including Cape Byron Lighthouse and...
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Knockrow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Macadamia Castle has been the areas most popular activity destination for over 38 years. Entry is free to the Cafe, Nut Bar, Gift Shop, Fine Food section and Macadamia Nut information display. There is a daily programme of interactive activities in the Animal Park with over 200 native and farmyard animals. We have hands on experiences with our salt water crocodiles and many other animals. There are 9 keeper talks between 10.30 and 4pm where you can get up close to the animals.An ideal outing for the family, and a great destination when discovering the district. There is a very reasonable admission charge to the animal park and mini golf. A relaxing stop for fresh homestyle food, coffee, kids activities or education.
New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Loved it! Cannot wait to see this place grow!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Popped in for a visit with the family and had a fantastic, laid back, overall fun day. The staff were all down to earth, lovely people who were completely happy to have a chat about all our questions - especially after the reptile encounter - and didn't speak to us as though we were idiots, (a real change!).
The animal park was very environmentally tidy (considering the amount of rainforest around) and hasn't been overdriven by materialism or plastered in concrete and glass windows, differing to the larger zoos. My family loved the fact that we were so close to the animals and were able to get so hands on!
If you're keen for a very cruisey and fun day with the kids, this is the place to go. We were able to take our time and we'ren't worried about missing out on anything or having to rush to certain attractions.
Next time we come down, definitely bringing some meat for a BBQ and bringing the cousins along for a good day together. I can see the Macadamia Castle growing throughout this year and cannot wait for the development of the park. Absolutely loved it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    90
    48
    27
    46
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Food and Coffee”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stopped in for a break on the way down the coast. Absolutely loved the macadamia beef hamburger! It was huge and deliciously different with macadamia beef pattie, caramelised onion, etc. Very nice. The coffee was also locally grown and was very smooth. Recommend both.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bewildered at the negative reviews, the Castle is great!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been to the Cstle every time we visit Byron and it is a standout in fun and something for parents to enjoy while the kids are off and running around. If you guys can't understand what the appeal of the Castle is, you obviously don't like kids activities and should avoid this kind of thing. It has the best food I have ever had at a children's theme park, shady places to relax in for parents, and the shows are well thought out and aimed at young children, who are enthrall end. Our three always nag us to return, and if we lived near Byron it would be a regular. Well done to the management to turn around an old park into something families genuinely want to visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small but affordable.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Quaint little place with 18 hole putt putt included in the cost. A few native animals and some domestics and a quaint petting zoo. Nice looking café and fresh nuts for sale.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnakeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reasonable fun”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My children and I went to Macadamia Castle on a wickedly hot day. Nonetheless we had a good time. I'm not sure how the attraction will go once the highway bypasses it though. Many of the attractions are tired and need an overhaul - the mini golf, for example. The staff looked as if they wanted to be somewhere else with the exception of the staff who work with the animals. The food was ok but it was expensive and the icecream was mostly melted making it impossible to eat. There's a good array of things in the gift shop but again, a lot of it is expensive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macadamia Castle also viewed

Lennox Head, New South Wales
Tintenbar, Ballina
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Ballina, New South Wales
 

Been to Macadamia Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing