We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many other choices in this part of Norway”
Review of Hordatun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hordatun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Roldal B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Since we were touring on our own by car from Oslo to Stavanger, there were not a whole lot of other places to stay mid-point. The pictures on the website make the place look great. I think this is more of a ski destination type hotel-- studio/condos actually with small kitchen and living room-- so in the summer it was quite empty. On the plus side the restaurant was open for dinner and breakfast (not the greatest). The bedroom was, uh, shall we say minimalist, but the bathroom was decent sized. We had a breathtaking view of a lake and snowcapped mountains, and it was quaint to watch and hear the nearby sheep grazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchoolmarmAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked an appartement for only 3690 NOK / week 28.
It was a bargain - a spacious appartement with 3 bedrooms and a good well equipped kitchen/livingroom with a small balcony facing røldal lake - a beutiful view.
We had a great week - so i didn't matter that the wifi didn't work and there was a little trouble ordering the cleaning at check out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The Hordatun looked too good to be true. Starting at only NOK 395, it was a deal by Norwegian standards. However, that price is based on two people sharing, not the room price itself. In Norway it's not common to advertise rooms this way, so it was a surprise when our room was priced around NOK 1900.

That said, I loved the look of the hotel, from the check-in desk to the colors and chic, minimalist decor, to the situation of the hotel overlooking water.

When we arrived, after 8 p.m., the hotel bar and café were closed. So if you want to eat or drink, arrive early, because there aren't any other restaurants walking distance to the hotel. The hotel itself is really a block of condos, and the owners let their units to the hotel. For that reason it was set-up more as an apart-hotel than a hotel.

The good points was that our room had a flat-screen tv, decent bed, and lovely view over the water. However, the rooms were missing normal hotel amenities such as a bar of soap for the shower, hairdryer, etc, (but there was a vaccuum!), no internet (not that it was expected), and the rooms were not well appointed. For example, the reading light was at the heel of the bed. There were no bedside tables. The bathroom had no shower curtain and despite efforts, it is easy to get the rest of the area wet. There are no shelves in the bathroom to place toiletries or store items so they are relegated to the floor. There were no outlets placed in locations near the mirror. The road noise was loud, and the rooms were stuffy - but it was hard to sleep with the door/window to the balcony open due to the road noise. The blinds do not block light, so the light-sensitive are advised to be prepared to rise with the sun - in this case, at 4 a.m.

Breakfast was adequate but not inspired. The coffee was the worst I have ever had. Ever. I asked for them to make more, and it went from watery to sludge. The food consisted of bread, cracker-bread, jam and meat/cheese toppings. There was some cereal. No yogurt or fruit of any kind. This surprised me since this part of Norway is experiencing the bounty of their cherry, strawberry and raspberry crops at this time of year. I would have expected a bit more effort from a hotel referring to itself as a "B&B".

This hotel would be good for a couple going on a ski holiday that needs a place to stay but does not want the frills of a hotel. There are storage lockers in the garage for gear. If you do go, bring your own food, use the dishes, dishwasher, and enjoy the Norwegian nature!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erin-norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodil L, Public Relations Manager at Hordatun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Erin,

thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about the confusion with the price - however hotels in Norway have started to utilize per person rate more and more. We offered opening rates for double room for NOK 790 for a few of our rooms with little views for the first two years of the opening of our new buildings. Now the rack rate is 1190 for a standard double room, the rate you refer to NOK 1900 has never been in our system - but due to only having your first name I was unable to track your original bill copy and track your payment amount.

In regards to the decorations and interior of the rooms, as they are individually owned they vary - but we are working on improving the individual elements in them.
This also goes for our breakfast assortement, having more and more international guests giving us more feedback what they require and prefer.
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We hope you enjoyed your Norwegian adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This Hotel/B&B is located closed to Røldal skiing resort, and I choose it as an alternative to the poor hotels located in Odda. This was a great choice! Rooms are large and modern, there is a garage for your car, you get good personalized service and breakfast was good. My room had a small kitchen, for those who use this place as a rental for a skiing week ends / weeks. All in all, I was very satisfied about the trip. Clearly it's not a 5 stars but it's modern, clean and much better than other old worn out hotels in the area!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesbond_ppk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ignacio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank anael1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alvaro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roldal
19.8 mi away
Sauda Fjordhotel
Sauda Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Sauda
51 reviews
22.3 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
36 reviews
11.3 mi away
Energihotellet
Energihotellet
#1 of 1 in Nesflaten
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Skysstasjonen Roldal
Skysstasjonen Roldal
#4 of 5 in Roldal
15 reviews
22.3 mi away
Tyssedal Hotel
Tyssedal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Odda
134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Roldal Hyttegrend & Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hordatun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hordatun Hotel

Address: Hara 18-20, Roldal 5760, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Roldal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roldal
Price Range: $186 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hordatun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Roldal, Odda municipality, by Lake Roldalsvatnet, Hordatun Hotel offers international cuisine in the restaurant year around - and a bar with regular live entertainment during the winter season. All apartments and rooms include a balcony or terrace, and Wi-Fi and parking are free. Hotel Hordatun's rooms (62) and apartments (36) feature tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV access and a seating area with sofa. All apartments and rooms have a fully equipped kitchen. Restaurant guests can enjoy their meals on the lake-view terrace. The bar offers after-ski and is an ideal place for drinks and mingling. Hordatun is just 5 minutes' drive from Roldal Ski Centre (shuttle bus during the winter weekends) - one of the ski centers in Norway with the longest seasons and "the Deepest snow in Europe" open from end of November to the first weekend of May. In Roldal village center 4km away you will find the Roldal Stave Church; one of Norway's 28 Stave Churches still standing. Roldal is a good location for exploring the area; hiking the Pulpit Rock in the Lysefjord, the Trolltunga in Tyssedal, the Hardangervidda, Hardanger and also offers great hiking trails options during the season June - September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hordatun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing