We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kilcreggan Hotel(Kilcreggan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marine(Dunoon)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Argyll Hotel(Dunoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Osborne(Dunoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
409
117
37
18
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
117
37
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster beddrawing roomspecial occasionbeautiful hotelwine listboth nightsfront of houseopen firelounge areapublic areaslovely settingafternoon tealoch lomondfirst classcountry housefood was fantasticold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 602 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We stayed at Knockderry House in April 2006 and it has taken me this long to write a review- what a wonderful place! Beautiful room, delicious meals and terrific hospitality, open fires and just across the road from the Loch, what more could you want.
I wish we could go there again this year, Jan, Melbourne,Australia

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank aholidayatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

My husband and I booked a three day break over the new year. the host and hostess were very hospitable and friendly. The food excellent and of a high standard. It was a cosy and comfortable hotel even though the weather was not kind. We made friends with all the guests and had the best new year ever. Lovely rooms and a lovely deep victorian roll top bath to sink into with lovely fluffy towels and bath robes. We can't rate this hotel highly enough and will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elliotdillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macleodies, Owner at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2007

Thank you for your lovely kind words - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay during one of the worst gales of the winter! I hope we have the chance to welcome you back and would like to let you know that we have a new design to the website with discounts all year for extended stays of 2 days or more over weekends. Thanks Again Beth MacLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2006

We were in Knockderry House for a weekend trip and I recommend it highly. The staff are friendly, everything is spotlessly clean, well decorated and designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The whole place had been renovated four years ago and has been done with exquisite taste.

Getting to the hotel is easy, and a bus going along the coast to the door of the hotel can be got from Helensburgh railway station. The local area is lovely, lots of beautiful large Victorian homes all facing the loch.

We choose the master bedroom, formally the morning room. It had a four-poster bed, a turret tub room and plenty of space. It was beautifully decorated with nice touches, like the curtains of the bed being the same as the one's on the window. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The room included tea and coffee making facilities, fluffy bathrobes, a hairdryer, DVD, TV and video and all the usual amenities such as shampoo, bottled water ect and an iron and ironing board could be brought up on request. As a superior room there was also a small decanter of sherry with glasses on arrival and a CD player.

The public areas were cosy with real and real effect fires, leather sofa, newspapers, books and games. You could also borrow videos from the hotel's film selection.

In the bar the drinks were reasonable and the wine list both inexpensive and full of nice choices. The place is popular with locals so defiantly book for dinner if you plan on having it on a Saturday night. I thought the food was absolutely the highlight of our trip. The Beef fillet is local and really, really tasty! You can chose from the bar menu, (great home made burgers ect) the lunch or early dinning menu at around £15 for 3 courses, or the a-la-carte, around £27 for 3 courses. Everything we ate was delicious.

Housekeeping was great, and although we did not require any special services, the room was cleanly promptly when we went down for lunch meaning we could have a lie down to rest after our meal without having to wait for housekeeping.

In summery, the place is fantastic and can only be improved by ongoing renovations to convert 3 rooms on the top floor into a suite, and an extension on the back, which will apparently include 4 extra rooms, and a conference room.

Finally, the place is both dog and child friendly, although you will not see dogs in the public rooms, and there are plently of child free areas to sit if you so desire. We are going back!

P.S Keep an eye on the website as the owners do special offers regularly like 3 for 2 ect.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank sarahjanelowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2006

This hotel is well run and employs superb chefs serving wonderful fare in a very hospitable atmosphere with open fire to warm yourself on those nippy Scottish evenings. The bar is frequented by many of the locals as is the excellent restuarant facility. The rooms are good country house style, well kept and always being maintained and updated.

9  Thank MrRubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews