We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knockdery House - Fantastic Hotel, Beautiful Loation. An absolute gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Knockdery House - Fantastic Hotel, Beautiful Loation. An absolute gem.”
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed at Knockderry House on 3rd October 2009 with my wife in the superior room in the old building. What beautiful Hotel in amazing location right overlooking Loch Long. hoel is beautifully maintainted and such a wonderful homely, feel. Blending all original feels with modern contemporary. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are outstanding. Beautifully decorated to the highest standard. No detail uncatered for. Serivce is outstanding. Food was amazing. All in all a fantastic place in a fantastic location that I would highliy recommend to anyone looking for a romantic short break. We willl be back. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esctosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    111
    32
    16
    18
See reviews for
55
378
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Great place to go to chill out. The hotel bar is cosy and welcoming - great for a quiet drink after a long walk.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2009

From the moment we arrived were met by very welcoming Management and Staff at this lovely hotel. Fantastic setting with views overlooking Loch Lomond. The food here is excellent and the lamb dish I had on the first night was truly wonderful. Definately worth a second visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorJBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Booked a potentially lovely trip to this hotel early in the year through late rooms. Well before the week-end of our trip I phoned to ask to rearrange if possible as some important work cropped up. The hotel kindly agreed to reschedule (not obliged to but agreed) a little later in the year and we agreed on a date in april to be exact. I then got an email to say april would be a PROBLEM as it was easter and they didn't suddenly want us as guests as they had plenty! hhmmm I said no problem even though they had agreed verbally (I always thought that was a contract???) and asked to reschedule later in the year. The lady said she would have to ask the owners for an alternative date. No response! Phoned again. No responsefrom the owners! Phoned for the last time. No response. So from a lovely planned week-end to a sour taste and £100 out of pocket in a matter of months. Is that any way to run a business? I think its a case of 'Welcome, we'de love you to stay' out of season and in season 'we couln't give a toss if you stay here or not, we have lots of guests AND your deposit of £100 so up yours!'

Thanks, ......I can only assume it could have been an excellent stay..... we'll never know!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PW1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I visited Knockderry House on 27th June, for my birthday. As soon as we drove up to the hotel, I was delighted. The building is beautiful with well kept gardens and magnificent views. Upon entering the hotel we were met by two lovely collie dogs. Staff were so warm and welcoming, and as our room was not ready yet, we were given a tour of the hotel and taken through to the lounge for a drink. Staff were always on hand and pleasant at all times. We were staying in the Master Room, with lovely four poster bed, and seperate turret bath room with stand alone bath, and lovely views over the loch. We had our evening meal in the restaurant, which was lovely, all made with local produce, and with a variety of options to suit all tastes. The following morniong, breakfast was served inthe dining roon - we had a full Scottish breakfast, cooked to perfection. I cannot fault anything about the hotel, it was so peaceful, in beautiful surroundings, staff sowelcoming. We will definitely return :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I got married at Knockderry House in 2007 and could not have had a more wonderful day. I chose the hotel for it's stunning location on the shores of Loch Long. My wedding day turned out to be a bit misty but it all added to the ' Scottish charm' we decided! On a sunny day (the morning after our wedding as it happened) it is breathtaking. Our room was beautiful, with huge windows overlooking the Loch. We booked all the rooms of the hotel for the bridal party and my husbands family and it was just fabulous to stay in this wonderful house together. Having had a nosy look in all their rooms we couldn't decide which one we liked the most! The decor is fab. The staff at the hotel made my day completely care free which is all I could have asked. All were friendly and helpful and the owners Murdo&Beth did everything to make our day even more special including very hospitably allowing our friends to play accordians and guitars (very) late into both nights. I should also add, the food is amazing. We had local seafood and beef which was a highlight especially for my husband! Our friends still love talking about our wedding weekend there, which my husband and I feel really happy about. Can't wait for an annniversary visit! Will add photos soon :)

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wils33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed there for a friends wedding and found everything to be top notch. The food was amazing, the staff (led by the skipper Murdo) couldn't do enough for you (even serving us whiskey late into the night!), the location perfect (right beside the Loch and at the foothill of the highlands) and the atmosphere was old fashioned charming with a modern flourish. Go, stay, enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazzleDazzleDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
14.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Property: Knockderry House Hotel
Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing