We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food - Great Location”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I love this place. I have visited on three occasions and each time it was a great experience. Not as an overnight guest - yet - so I am unable to comment on that side of things. However I have eaten in the restaurant twice and also spent a cosy afternoon by the fire having afternoon tea with home made cake and shortbread. Its a wonderful looking building inside and out and just what a Londoner wants to find on a visit to Scotland. Very relaxing and quiet atmosphere - perhaps a little too quiet in the restaurant as it was fairly empty each time I was there. But the food is really really good. Good combinations and beautifully presented fresh food. The vegetarian options are interesting and tasty - no pasta with pesto here. Well there might be sometime but its bound to have that little extra something. Very attentive staff showed us to the sitting room and we were made comfortable with pre dinner drinks by the fire before being shown to our table in the dining room. Lucky us a window seat both times. A really enjoyable experience and I cant wait to go again. Just one slight downside in that the area to the front of the hotel needs addressing. Its a little tatty and lets it down. Perhaps restoration work is in progress?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Cheryl510,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

I am so glad you have been here several times and had the same great experience. We appreciate your comments about our attentive staff and the relaxing atmosphere, however like most places it can be on the quieter side during the winter months. The chefs were delighted with the feedback about their food; they work extremely hard to come up with interesting but tasty dishes so it is lovely to hear such positive comments.
It is shame you haven’t managed to spend the night at the hotel yet, so we hope to see you back again soon as an overnight guest 

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    109
    30
    16
    18
See reviews for
55
372
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Having got married here in 2014 we were confident that we'd have another memorable stay. We were not disappointed. Warm and welcoming staff, excellent food and service and gorgeous rooms with great views. Ideal all year round location but perfect retreat for a few cold, wet and wintry days. Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Carol S,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

I am very pleased you were not disappointed on returning after getting married at Knockderry House. We very much appreciate your positive comments about the warm and welcoming staff, excellent food and our rooms.
We hope to see you again soon to get away from another wintery day 

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break with my husband celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were both delighted with everything that Knockderry offered. Our room, room2, was great. The views were lovely and the decor was cosy yet elegant. Lovely bathroom with views over the loch to the hills.

The lounge was friendly and relaxing. The bar staff were always helpful and the fire and views were amazing. Our meals in the restaurant were the best we've eaten. As a vegetarian, it was nice to have something out of the ordinary to eat and the chef kindly cooked a different meal on the second night as the veggie options on the menu were the same as before.

Overall, lovely location, amazing room and food, friendly helpful staff (lovely dogs too). Would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meala6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Meala6,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel and for spending you wedding anniversary with us.
I am happy you enjoyed the room and the views and more importantly found it cosy and comfortable.
We really appreciate your kind comments about our staff and I have passed compliments onto the chef’s regarding the vegetarian meals. The kitchen team are so flexible here that we are more than happy to cater to any special dietary requirements. I am also glad you enjoyed the warm and relaxing atmosphere and took full advantage of the fire.
I have passed your comments to the team, including the pups (who were thrilled with their mention). We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had my family coming over to visit Scotland. We found this place on a road trip and decided to stop for a break. We were immediately fascinated by the beautiful location. It was a cold winter night so we decided to move inside and have a late lunch. The stuff is extremely welcoming and very kind. They let us in the main lounge and we had a seat around the fireplace that was on. The atmosphere is warm and relaxing. They took our orders for food and drinks and once our table was set we moved into their dining room. Lunch was amazing. Their fish pies and beef in ale were very tasty.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fede6581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear fede6581,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

We really appreciate your kind comments about our staff and I have passed compliments onto the chef’s about the tasty fish and beef pies. I am also glad you enjoyed the warm and relaxing atmosphere.

We really hope to see you and your family again soon and perhaps next time you will manage an overnight stay.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I arranged to visit various places in Scotland to host my wedding for an intimate and special event for 25 people.. i visited KnockDerry first and didn’t bother with any other venue as I immediately knew this was the right place for us. From staying there for the very first time, dealing with Fraser who was absolutely superb advising and helping us to arrange everything … the set up of the service, the room allocation , and the general plan of action was so easy and a pleasure... everyone we dealt with in Helensburgh with regard to the service, florist, cake, outfits etc all knew each other and even better, they all knew Knockderry... I couldn’t have asked for a better setting, the weather in late April was amazing, the food for our reception was truly outstanding and people are still talking about it.. Jonathan the chef is a genius. The rooms are all individual and charming...and the views across the loch are stunning..The staff at Knockderry are wonderful as are the owners Beth and Murdo....... I loved it, my guests loved it and we will definitely return... the only problem now, is that so many of our friends have told other friends, that its no longer our little secret... should you go? Without a doubt.....

Room Tip: try and get a room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HELEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Hak Traveller,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel with reference to holding you wedding here. I am so pleased you liked the place immediately and the whole experience matched your initial feelings. I also really appreciate your feedback regarding our service; in particular that our staff are superb and I have passed on your comments to the chef’s regarding the food.

It is also lovely to hear such positive feedback about the suppliers we work with in Helensburgh, we are very particular about who we use and obviously this shows in the service you received from them as well.

I’m so glad you had a fantastic stay and wedding here at Knockderry and we do hope to see you again soon (and all your friends).

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrochar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely home-made afternoon tea which was original not a scone in sight. Beautiful fillings in the sandwiches and homemade sausage rolls. The fruit cakes and truffles also had lovely flavours. The staff were also very good attentive but not over the top. Of course the building itself is stunning as well. All in all would throughly recommend for a festive treat to get away from all the madness of Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott622013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear scott622013,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed our festive afternoon tea so much, we do aim to do things a little differently and to the highest of standards. I have passed on your feedback to our kitchen team who have been working very hard on our Christmas menus and they were delighted with your comments.

Thank you also for the comments about our attentive staff and the stunning building.

We hope you pop down again soon for another treat :)

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

A Superb 3 night stay at a beautiful location on the shores of loch long.Ann and The staff were very friendly and helpful the food was excellent and reasonably priced.The lounge was very comfortable with a roaring fire, our room had a beautiful view of the loch and was very clean and comfortable.all in all a fantastic weekend at a beautiful hotel Thank you Ann and all the staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Ben S,

Thank you for your recent review about Knockderry House Hotel.

We are very pleased you found our rooms comfortable and made the most of our open fire, especially in this colder weather 

We very much appreciate your comments regarding our staff and I have passed over your thanks to Ann. We also appreciate the comments that our food is excellent and reasonably priced.

I’m glad you had a fantastic stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Linsey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Property: Knockderry House Hotel
Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing