We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and really quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a charming place, pretty secluded but charmingly situated by a Loch.
Very friendly and helpful staff, nice, spacious rooms. If you like the old country style family-run type of accommodation, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the "new" annex of the building with a view of the loch.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schnusizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Front Office Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear schnusizh,

Many thanks for your review following your stay with us. I am pleased to see that you were happy with many aspects of your stay such as the service you recieved from our staff and the size of our rooms. I hope that this positive experience staying at our hotel will entice you back for another if you are in the area again.
Best regards,

Mhairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Knockderry House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 574 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Located at Loch Long the Knockderry House is one of those Victorian houses that gives you a good feeling. The atmosphere of old times is still there offering you the opportunity to the feeling of being a part of the upper class at those times. The service provided by the staff supports this feeling as well as the room we had. We can't speak for the other rooms but ours, #4, was very nice with a view on the lake and the park in front of the house. The four post bed and the wooden panels on the wall were adding up to the overall classic feeling. The bathroom comes with a bathtub but not a separate shower. Showering is to be done in the bathtub but results in water on the floor and one has to hold the shower. Still okay for us.

Breakfast offers quite a variety of styles. Well presented, enough and quality wise very good. We didn't have the opportunity to dine since we arrived late and stayed over only one night. Despite the fact it was raining we still enjoyed our stay. The lobby, the bar and other rooms are well maintained. What we suggest is that the owners provide some information about the house, its history and its owners. The glass led windows tell you something but very little. Put something on paper and give it to the guests with breakfast or with the menu in the evening.

Unfortunately there was no Internet available but the owners offered us the use of their own computer which was much appreciated.

Approaching the hotel is a bit of a challenge. Not in a bad way but it is a bit confusing. Best thing is to arrive with daylight. Coming in late with rain, driving on a very small road and reading panels with: "you're are on military property" gives you the feeling to be on the wrong track. But keep going and in the end you will find the panels with the Knockderry House logo and the arrows indicating where to go.

All in all we will come back if we are in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Front Office Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear globetrotter1311,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the Master room and how you felt it was in-keeping with the period the hotel was built. Our intention has always been to keep the history of the hotel alive through the decor of the rooms, our knowledgable staff and our information folders provided in each of our rooms. I am so pleased that you noticed and were impressed with the atmosphere of our hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review of our hotel, and I hope that you will stay with us again when you next visit Scotland!
Kind regards,

Mhairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our most recent visit was for our wedding anniversary: I booked dinner, B&B as a surprise for my wife. Food was lovely, staff very pleasant and the room (a master room) was very nice indeed!

The Knockderry is, by far, our favourite place to spoil ourselves.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms in the original part of the hotel. We had room 1 on this visit, with lovely vie...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Front Office Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear James G,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It was kind of you to point out how nice your room was and describe your positive experience of our dinner service. I look forward to seeing you both back here in the future!
Kind regards,

Mhairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This has to be one of my favourite hotels, firstly the look of it is stunning, and the location was very beautiful. Fraser, one of the staff, was very very attentive, and could not do enough for you
The hotel itself is very scottish, and very very lovely, atmosphere very homely. The owners are very nice. We found the food to be excellent, very tasty and obviously they have a very good chef. Breakfast too, was lovely. There is a lovely garden as the front of the hotel, which overlooks the loch, only wished we had stayed here longer than the two days. We would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Front Office Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Stella60_10,

Thank you for your kind words about the Knockderry House Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the look of our hotel and I am pleased to hear Fraser and the rest of our staff made you feel so welcome. Your feedback is greatly appreciated by all of us here at the Knockderry, and I hope that we see you here again in the future.

Kind regards,

Mhairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely setting, with some nice grounds at the front and views over the loch. The staff were mostly very nice, and our room was excellent - easily the nicest hotel room we've ever stayed in (we had a master bedroom for the night). Unfortunately though the restaurant in the hotel was a huge let down. We were staying the night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had looked forward to a good meal. While the food was good quality (it was 'fine dining') the portions were very very small - to the extent that it really spoilt the meal. We've eaten in fine dining restaurants before and so were expecting the usual smaller portions (and to want all three courses), but we weren't expecting to leave hungry after spending £100 on it for the two of us. We mentioned it to the management who were on reception the next morning but they didn't seem bothered by our complaint - and weren't at all apologetic. It spoilt it for us and we felt ripped off, and so unfortunately we just can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Daniel A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff and the standard of our bedrooms are very much appreciated, I will make sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

It is always disappointing to receive negative feedback and we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your evening meal - although I do appreciate you highlighting that the meal was of good quality. I do feel that there may have been some confusion as to the cost of your meal; the total cost was under £70 rather than £100. Nevertheless I will speak with the chef regarding portion sizes to make sure that we monitor this closely. I hope this experience hasn't put you off returning to Knockderry House in the future,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in May, on our way back from Skye to Glasgow and booked two nights. What can we say? Such a great find. We stayed in Room 2 and it was wonderful, we met the resident border colies, staff were perfect and dinner were way above expectations, from start to desert. We wanted a place to decompress after a fairly high activity stay on Skye and this was perfect, together with a putter on Loch Lomond. Would definitely recommend to any considering the area.

Room Tip: We loved Room 2
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoppernobSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear CoppernobSF,

Thank you so much for your kind words following your visit to Knockderry House. I am so pleased to learn that you were impressed with all aspects of our operation, it is always a pleasure to receive this kind of feedback. Many thanks for recommending us to others; if you find yourself in this part of the world again then I hope you will come back to visit us,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff, service and food at this establishment were all excellent, unfortunately the building is lacking upkeep and in parts is quite shabby which lets it down overall. It appears that the staff are minimal and multi-tasked and consequently if you book for dinner, your reservation is made around bookings they already have to ensure they are not too busy during service. If an injection of cash could be put into this hotel, it would raise it from its current standing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smarty932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Smarty932,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to learn that the team looked after you so well and also how much you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. It is unfortunate to hear that you felt the upkeep of the building could be improved; we regularly receive praise on the high standard of accommodation and have a continuous maintenance programme to ensure that this is the case throughout the property. I will also take on board your comments regarding the restaurant reservation system to see if there is any way of improving the evening service - we appreciate you highlighting areas that could be improved as this is the only way for us to learn. I do hope that the positives outweighed the negatives during your visit and that you would consider returning again some time,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
2.3 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range: $113 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing