We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow. Amazing food and hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockderry House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockderry House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow. Amazing food and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Staying here for the first night on our trip to the Isle of Skye we were very glad we took a slight detour from the main road from Glasgow to stop overnight at the Knockderry House Hotel. We stayed in the Library Suite which is the entire floor at the top of the hotel which was both comfortable and atmospheric. Dinner was absolutely amazing, that alone would be a reason to stop here but apart from that it was the very friendly but not overfamiliar staff which made our stay memorable. Would come here again.

Room Tip: library suite. wow. but most other rooms have a similar view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreskruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Andreskruse,

Many thanks for writing such a positive review following your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; to receive a review beginning with the words 'Wow' and 'Amazing' is fantastic! Thank you for highlighting the food and the team as positives during your stay, these are both very important parts of what we offer here and it is great to receive praise. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Knockderry House soon,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    103
    29
    15
    18
See reviews for
50
349
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary in February and I have meant to write a review before but keep forgetting. We chose this hotel from Tripadvisor reviews having been let down badly by another and it was the best decision we could have made. We had a beautiful room at the front of the hotel with views over the loch. The welcome was warm the staff lovely and so accommodating and the food superb. It is a charming hotel with great character. It was well situated for exploring and always lovely to come back to at the end of the day. We recommend afternoon tea which was delicious. To top it off, being a dog lover it was so nice to see the collies running around outside and having them greet us when we came down in the mornings. If you are looking for somewhere individual and special then we would recommend here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Geri N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, it is great to see that our hard work is paying off. I will make sure that your kind words are shared with the rest of the team and we hope you will conder paying us another visit some time soon,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Knockderry House a few weeks ago for a work related function. Although I had seen the pictures on the website, read other reviews, and even looked at the menu online prior to arrival, I was still surprised to have my high expectations exceeded. The house is absolutely beautiful- elegant, historical, and yet still very comfortable. The menu deserves all the accolades it receives....everything from the morning porridge to the beautifully prepared guinea fowl entree is to be savored! The staff is fantastic...everyone I encountered was friendly, helpful, and always hospitable. By the end of my stay, everyone knew me by name or at least my room number...this level of attention makes a guest feel so much more welcomed. This meticulous attention to detail carries through everything at Knockderry....from the restoration of the house itself, to the selection on the menu, to the grounds and rooms, to the service. Without question, you will be well cared for during your stay. Thank you to everyone at the Knockderry House for a truly special stay...I have found yet another reason to love Scotland!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmdnpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Cmdnpearl.

Thank you so much for your review of Knockderry House. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for highlighting the food and the staff as positives, it's great to learn where we are doing well. It sounds as if the whole team did a great job! We hope to see you back some time in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glagow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here with my husband in January just for the 1 night (have only just got around to writing this). The staff are so friendly and welcoming and happy to please, which is nice.
The views are just breath-taking and force you to unwind, especially with a drink in your hand.
The room we had was lovely, with views over the water.
I have come across bathrooms with roll top baths before and the very same problem as here, how are you supposed to wash your hair following your luxurious soak? There is no hand held shower. The space around the wash basin to put your washes, soaps etc. was minimal to say the least, a little more space would be good.
Feather pillows for me are a must for a good nights sleep, something I didn't get. Maybe if I had asked I might have been given a couple as everyone was so friendly .
Apart from these small points, our stay was just what was needed to recharge the batteries. The food was excellent with the right amount of time between courses.
The stay I felt was towards the higher end of the scale for price. I would definitely go back but wait for a deal or a special occasion rather than a battery recharge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jintyGlagow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear JintyGlagow,

Many thanks for your great review of Knockderry House, it is very much appreciated. Our team workh hard and will be delighted to receive your praise; I will make sure your comments are passed on to them. Thank you also for highlighting the little things that could have been improved, this kind of feedback is an important part of our continual improvement and will be kept in mind when carrying out future refurbishment of our bedrooms. We hope to see you back at Knockderry some time soon,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful trip staying at the Knockderry House Hotel. This was our first visit and will certainly not be our last. I have nothing to say about the hotel and staff which is not positive. The house has been beautifully restored, the staff could not do enough for you and the food was beautifully prepared and presented. We stayed in room 8 which is one of the modern rooms which is beautifully decorated, spacious with views of the loch. We had a chat with Murdo the owner who was very welcoming and told us something about the history of the house and we look forward to hearing more on our next visit. Thanks to everyone at Knockderry for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Andygt,

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review following your stay at Knockderry House. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and it is very pleasing to hear that our staff contributed to this. I hope it won't be too long until we see you back at Knockderry,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Chosen through a random WWW search by my partner, we spent our first trip together at Knockderry House over the Easter weekend (2013).
From arrival it was like being welcomed into a family home as a member of the family. The Staff were fantastic, friendly and keen to make our stay memorable. Fraser and the team took time to talk with and spend time with us without being intrusive.
The restaurant menu was fantastic and the food quality, first class. The biggest problem we had after eating in the restaurant on our fist night, was deciding what we wanted to try the following night! If you need a good hint as to which wine to have with dinner, just ask Fraser!
As other reviewers have mentioned, the setting and views are second to none. Select a room to the front of the house to make sure that you get to experience this. We stayed in the Lochgoilhead suite, and found it comfortable, papcious and relaxing.
The whole atmosphere about the hotel was such that we spent most of the afternoon sitting in the lounge, doing a crossword, looking out over the views on offer.
I would recommned this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing, peaceful and comfortable time, and would make the journey for an evening, just to eat in the restaurant again.
We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Gary M,

Thank you kindly for your great review of Knockderry House. It's very encouraging to hear how highly you rate the staff and the food, two very important parts of any stay! I will make sure your review is made available to the rest of the team, I'm sure your compliments will be very well received. Should you feel the need for a relaxing break in the near future then I hope you will consider coming for a return visit,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were up at Knockderry for the one night - what a beautiful location with views across the water and Castle Greyskull on the cliffs behind the hotel - no complaints about the food or hospitality - room was lovely - not the honeymoon suite but comfy bed and toiletries and linen were all good quality. Double room not a problem for us - pretty harsh blaming a junior member of staff for not wanting to embarrass what she probably thought was 2 businessmen - not exactly the big city up there - get over yourselves.
Only met one of the owners who was charming and had 2 of the nicest natured collies which were happy to sit with anyone who wanted to play with them in reception - I get the feeling they are trained not to go into the public areas.

They offer a free overnight stay in the winter with a certain food spend which might give you a bargain.

No hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slipstream222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMac, Manager at Knockderry House Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Slipstream222,

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your stay with us. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for highlighting the food and your room as positives, always nice to hear that we are doing a good job! We would be delighted, as would the collies, to see you back at Knockderry House again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Fraser Hamilton
Operations Manager
Knockderry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cove
9.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
16.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockderry House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockderry House Hotel

Property: Knockderry House Hotel
Address: Knockderry Coach House Shore Road, Cove, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockderry House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Long, one of the magnificent sea lochs of Scotland, Knockderry Country House Hotel was once a fabulous summer house for a Glaswegian industrialist and his family. Now owned by Murdo and Beth MacLeod and their team of local staff, Knockderry House offers a truly Scottish country house welcome to all visitors to the area.With an enviable reputation locally for excellent food and hospitality using mainly Scottish local and organic produce, Knockderry House provides guests with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere from which to explore the area with its unique coastline, fairy-tale castles and famous distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockderry House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing